wayleng
Member Since 2010
I am new to the boards but working on Casper's diabetes since late February. She was doing really well until about 3 weeks ago, when her numbers started escalating. We went to the vet last Monday for a check and blood/urine results came back fine. But the vet increased her dosage to 3-4 units 2x/day. Over the weekend, I cut both of our cats off of dry good (Purina DM) and switched them over to FF. I was seeing positive results in Casper's readings until this morning where it shot up to 479 (first test) and then 465 (second test). Fortunately, I was able to work from home today so that I could do a more formal testing of her levels throughout the day.
AMPS (7:00am): 478/465 shot 3u followed by breakfast
+2: 329
+4: 244
+6: 195
+6.5: Snack
+8: 204
The general consensus seems to be that the revised dosage from the vet last week is too high and that I should start over with 1u. As you will see in our SS, we did very well on 1u and that was when she was eating Purina DM dry (no wet food). Today looks like a good day and maybe that we are on our way back to where we were. So my questions are: can I just drop it all the way back down to 1u? Or do I need to step it down? Or go 1 more day at the 3? Thanks for any advice you've got.
AMPS (7:00am): 478/465 shot 3u followed by breakfast
+2: 329
+4: 244
+6: 195
+6.5: Snack
+8: 204
The general consensus seems to be that the revised dosage from the vet last week is too high and that I should start over with 1u. As you will see in our SS, we did very well on 1u and that was when she was eating Purina DM dry (no wet food). Today looks like a good day and maybe that we are on our way back to where we were. So my questions are: can I just drop it all the way back down to 1u? Or do I need to step it down? Or go 1 more day at the 3? Thanks for any advice you've got.