? 6/14 Benny AMPS 52 + 15 mins 84 +3 179 PMPS 577

Ben&Squirrel

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-96-9-105-10-99-pmps-165-monitoring-q.264342/

Normally Benny's AMPS are in the 400s; this morning it was 52. I took the reading again and it was 69. He ate a bit and it was 84. I tested the meter on myself and got a normal bg, so it was not the meter. I'm freaking out about it.

We had an emergency here, with a super loud false fire alarm in the middle of the night, and it really stressed him (and everyone else) out. It took a long time to get it turned off and repeatedly check the house for fire. In the chaos, he had no snack most of the night; normally he gets a little LC but last night he and Squirrel got none at all in the wee hours. Normally they do a lot of nighttime howling and puking when totally without food, but last night the crisis seemed to quiet them altogether.

I'm not comfortable giving him his shot given that I can't monitor well today, and that this is really a freaky AMPS. If this happens again that may be a different story, but not today.

He normally fasts for the last few hours of the morning. Should I be restricting his access to food for 6+ hours at a time? During the daytime I give him small LC snacks. Have I been screwing him up this whole time by giving him snack at night??
 
You can always feed higher carb food if you have to leave and it is an active cycle. Do you have an autofeeder that he eats from when you are not at home?

Yes, I make sure he has some food when I'm gone.

Bhooma, have I been messing up by giving him some LC in the night time? Should he be fasting for 6+ hours?
 
Yes, I make sure he has some food when I'm gone.
Test him again now. How long is it since his shot was due? Can you accomodate the delay in your shooting schedule?
if you shoot now, how many hour after the shot do you have to leave and when do you have to be back?

Bhooma, have I been messing up by giving him some LC in the night time? Should he be fasting for 6+ hours?
Usually you want to feed a bulk of the food at or before his nadir. However, some cats develop stomach acid if they are kept hungry for very long and that causes them to throw up. In these cases a little snack later in the cycle is fine.

Looks like he was clearing the bounce last night and with no food to slow down the additional downward momentum from that caused him to drop so low by AMPS.
 
Thanks for the information, Bhooma, I was not able to respond at that time because I was out.

Predictably, his PMPS was 577. Hopefully it will not be a very long bounce. Will revisit in 3-5 cycles.
 
Back
Top