6/13 Simon AMPS 160 (yes that is a ONE not a 3!!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Simon'sMommy

Very Active Member
I waited 15 minutes which is the most I could put him off cause he was really hungry and then retook it and it was the exact same number plus one - 161. So, now that I have fed him, my question is do I dare give him some insulin, even a reduced dose because no one will be here all day AND he is 40 points below the no shoot threshold.

I know the answer - no shot. Ok, just had to see it in writing. I know that any number I see now will be food influenced and because he ate so badly yesterday and seemed so hungry this morning, I did not have the heart to make him wait anymore. So, no insulin for my baby this morning. Hubby will try to get a + 5 today which will probably be high but thems the breaks. Hoping Simon's pancreas is waking up a little :mrgreen:
 
I retook his BG at +45 minutes and it was 235. I am making a decision to give him 1u instead of his 2.75. I don't want him zooming way back up in the 400's. I am nervous because no one can be here to test until +5 or +6, but that is what I decided to do. I am leaving his food out so he can eat anytime while we are gone. Wish me luck! nailbite_smile
 
Sorry that we are not around for you when you need to shoot, Joyce. But I have to say, you are doing a great job thinking it through and making a good decision. I think your one unit is fine.

Now to wonder about your dose in general. The 2.75 is giving you nice numbers. The 160 is close to 200 if he would go up in the 20 minute retesting period without food. (I know he didn't today) If he went low midcycle, we might want to lower a spot, but if it was generally lower and flatter but safe, it is giving him good numbers. Maybe 2.5 - 2.75 depending on the preshot, if he is in the mid 250s and 300s. Adjust down, like you did this am, if he is in the low 200s and below. Does that make sense?

I would think a bounce is expected tonight....
 
Thanks Sue. Wendy and Tiggy said she would not have shot due to not enough data so I was feeling really nervous. :YMSIGH: That is two pretests in a row that were surprising numbers. His 244 at his PMPS last night prompted a dose reduction (albeit a small one) and yet he had a low AMPS number? I am cautiously optimistic that he may be hitting his stride with this and that perhaps he is regulating a little bit.

Should my husband get a +4 since he is there? He just told me Simon is sleeping upstairs in his "hiding spot" and that he did not want to bother him to poke him again until his +5 but I KNOW if I were there, I would do it :o

Hubby is saying he wants to wait until his +5. What do you think?
 
I think it should be okay.

Yes, it looks like he may have settled into the insulin and it,the food and his body are starting to work together. The last cycles have been encouraging.
 
Simon's +4.5 was 241. Just glad I gave him the tiny dose cause he most certainly would be up higher had I not. I am thinking that he is still coming down. Hubby will get a +6 as Simon's nadir has moved to between +5-+6 from his previous +4-+5 now, so am hoping he went a little lower. If not, it was a learning experience and I now know that he probably could have handled 1.5 units instead of just one with that number since his dose is 2.75 right now.

He was in blues, not greens, but I still was too nervous to shoot him at first, so went with 1u rather than not give ANY insulin which would not be good imho. I am glad that I did.
 
Simon kept going up from AMPS, even with 1u given
AMPS 160
+4.5 241
+6 244
+9 335
PMPS 363

Gave him his usual 2.75 dose tonight since he was high
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top