6/13 Kit AMPS 125 +2 84 +4 71 +5 99 +7 114 PMPS 131 +2 73 +4 63 +6 64

Alicia & Kit cat (GA)

Member Since 2019
Hi all - no link to the last condo as it was a 3 years ago. A quick recap - Kit was OTJ in July of 2020, diagnosed with stage three CKD in July of 2022, and was out of remission as of 2/23. We caught it pretty quick - she had blood tests in December that were fine (and her kidney numbers had actually gotten better), and then at a retest in March, her BG was high again. So, we're back! I didn't immediately jump back into posting for a variety of reasons, but I have dosing questions.

Last go round, I did TR, and I want to do it now, and I think I just need to be more aggressive in when I change doses. We're currently at 1 unit, and prior to today's numbers I was thinking I needed to increase, but now I'm uncertain (which is where I've been a bunch lately as I hold doses longer than maybe I should?) So, advice on that would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
 
Hello and welcome back, sorry it's more than just a social visit.

You are right, you do need to be more aggressive with a cat that has fallen out of remission. The sooner you can get her regulated, the better the chances of getting back into regulation. Don't hold doses where she's showing green, but not in tight regulation more than 10 cycles. So yes, time for that increase. Go up a full 0.25 units, no partial dose changes at this point. The reduction point when following TR for a long term diabetic, is under 40. You do a great job testing so this should be OK.
 
Back
Top