6/13 Kasha AMPS 373 PMPS 194, 47 @ +3 Dosecrease?!?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Member Since 2010
Ok- Kasha had a good night - not sure how low she went, cuz I was exhausted and fell asleep after +5... That's usually around her low, but she could have gone a little lower.

This morning - Kasha ate over 2 Tbsp breakfast, with chicken dust encouragement. She eats in little bites when I add chicken dust (she eats about 2 bites, I add a dusting of chicken, she eats another 2 bites... etc.). If I don't add the chicken dust, she licks only and it takes forever for her to get through a meal. Therefore, chicken dust works for me. At least for now.

Now, here's a riddle: What's brown and pasty/sticky and makes me do laundry in the middle of the night (again)??? That's right. Blue's Poos.

So... Kasha woke me up a 4:28 am while I was sleeping on the couch. I tend to believe she woke me up to confront the mess that was going on. She hates things out of order. So... I went to check Blue and there was poo all over his bed. Super. I tried to stay calm this time and regroup. Got everything I could think of together (still forgot to get scissors) and set up to clean him and the cage. This REALLY is a 2 person task - BF is thanking his lucky stars that he didn't come over last night, I bet. So - I get him on my lap on a towel. White fur and poo = bad combination. The cage wasn't too bad - his bedding needed to be washed again, there was poo on one pee pad and in a clump in the litter box, but nowhere else that I could see. So, I took the cover off the bed and wrapped it in a white towel for now (I can see dirt on white better than dark, and for now, I want to see if he needs more cleaning). Then I proceeded to clean him. A bowl of warm water, paper towels, and dry shampoo. What a mess. He cried and complained and struggled while I tried to keep him wrapped in a towel so I could clean his butt and tail and the streaks of poop on his sides (racing stripes?). Parts were impossible - I took him into the kitchen to get scissors and just cut a bunch of fur off (while he struggled and complained). This time as least the incision didn't seem to be covered in poo, so that was one less thing to clean super gently. I got him as clean as I could, finished cleaning the cage, more clean pee pads and then put in a real litter box. Today will be the experiment to see if that works. It might keep things separated a little better. I still have the old box up in my attic (with litter still in it - just didn't have any other place to put it) in case he can't handle the real litter box.

Again - thanking the stars that the poo was once again completely odorless (or could it be that I've lost my sense of smell?)...

Kasha got that self-satisfied look she gets when I'm taking action on something she told me about. Years ago - she would let us know there was a spider or other bug in the house. She had a "bug meow" and we'd know. Once we were doing something to remove the bug, she was all satisfied. Even if the spider dropped down from the ceiling and landed in front of her - she did nothing. That wasn't her job. She was just there to let us know we had work to do.


Yesterday
 
Re: 6/13 Kasha AMPS 373

Krys,

Glad to see that Kasha is still being your guard cat and is doing well.

I'm sure Blue felt a lot better after that bath. That is a lot to handle on your own. You are taking excellent care of Blue and doing a great job. I hope he continues to get stronger each day, and his insision heals fast.

I remember the poop clean up days too. Although it had to do with my 15 year old dog not one of my cats. But I know it isn't easy.

Just remember we are thinking of Blue and you and wishing him a speedy recovery.

jan and sara
 
Re: 6/13 Kasha AMPS 373

Well, its certainly good Kasha is there to make sure you are on the job (no matter WHAT time it is). :roll:

I cant relate to the poo thing, but stinky vomit probly isnt much better...many times have I been awoken in the middle of the night to attend to the cleaning up of projectile vomit. Ack. I feel your pain. Certainly does wake you up fast, tho..doesnt it? :?

Blue is just finishing up the a/b right? Clavamox? Hopefully once that is out of the system things will get better.

Do you put a sheet or blanket over his bed? After Latte started going through phases of peeing herself daily, I started covering all her napping spots with pee pads or crib pads. Then I went to the fabric store and bought fleece and cut to size. I have maybe a dozen or more of these. When she urinates in the spot or vomits, I just pick it up, throw it in the wash and switch it out with a new one. Very simple rotation. Ive recently found baby blankets from good will are a good size, too. This way they also have something more comfortable to lay on than a pee pad.

I hope Kasha has a gentle decline into good numbers. AND, that you can get some rest today. You deserve it!
 
Re: 6/13 Kasha AMPS 373

carolynandlatte said:
Blue is just finishing up the a/b right? Clavamox? Hopefully once that is out of the system things will get better.

Do you put a sheet or blanket over his bed? After Latte started going through phases of peeing herself daily, I started covering all her napping spots with pee pads or crib pads. Then I went to the fabric store and bought fleece and cut to size. I have maybe a dozen or more of these. When she urinates in the spot or vomits, I just pick it up, throw it in the wash and switch it out with a new one. Very simple rotation. Ive recently found baby blankets from good will are a good size, too. This way they also have something more comfortable to lay on than a pee pad.

Thanks, Carolyn.

Yes - we have one more dose of ABs and pain meds this morning and that's it. Hopefully things will regulate (and yes, he is getting probiotics to help him). I got this new little orthopedic bed for Blue's recovery. It's a little air mattress (too thick for claws to penetrate) and it came with a fake sheepskin cover (that has now been laundered twice in the last week). I can wrap a towel over it (like now) while the sheepskin in in the wash, but the sheepskin has elastic to keep in in place and the towel doesn't. But the fleece is a good idea. I guess I could also keep an old pillowcase on hand too - just slip the bed into that (I will have to see if that fits). Blue loves fleecy things. But it's been so hot and humid the last few days (even with the air on, you can feel the humidity inside) that I don't think he really wants anything that warm. Days like this before surgery, he would lie on the couch where I have it covered in a cool sheet. Maybe I'll check out the pillowcase thing, see if it fits.

And I think the e collar is a big problem in all of this. I think he can't really see where he's going and that just makes everything worse...
 
Re: 6/13 Kasha AMPS 373

Oh boy, Krys, what a mess. I have been dealing with Bear peeing and pooping outside of the box, then walking around and around in it (he's blind), lying in it, plus vomiting and diarrhea from Bear and Teddy, and it is so stressful. I was up for three hours in the middle of the night mopping and cleaning carpets two nights ago. During the worst of Bear's diarrhea, I did try covering everything in pee pads (human ones are larger and cheaper than pet ones), towels, and what finally worked best was cheap floor mats. I pick up the soiled ones and toss them in the laundry room to deal with later. Cleaning up the long haired cat is another issue, and you have the complication of the scar to deal with. I soooooo know what you are going through. I think you are going to see improvement once the meds are out of his system, the raised litter box should help, and that getting rid of that stupid e collar will be great too. Hang in there. You are doing a great nursing job.

Edited to add one more thought: Do you know anyone who has a dog exercise pen? It's a big metal fence you can bend into any shape you want. You could fence off a section of floor, maybe a corner of his room, making a penned in area that is larger than his crate.
 
Re: 6/13 Kasha AMPS 373 PMPS 194

OK - PMPS in the blue. Had her 31st Baytril tonight, skinnied pill pocket rolled in chicken dust. I tried w/o the chicken dust and it was a no go, but she tolerated it in chicken dust... so ok.

Speaking of Blue, I wish Kasha had his appetite. Less than a week after major surgery and he sees me with food and practically tries to crawl thru the bars of his cage to get to it. I just gave him his second helping (no chicken dust needed). He's been spending a lot of time lately grooming his Elizabethan collar. He wants to be grooming himself and I guess the urge is so strong he just grooms, but all he can get to is the e collar. And when he has an itch and tries to scratch with the remaining hind foot - it sounds like a helicopter is taking off - he just scratched the e collar over and over at warp speed. The first time he did it I came running over because I had no idea what he was doing to make that much noise.

I'll check back later.
 
Ok - just sprang into action. On phone w/BF and we were betting on Kasha's BG - he bet 87 or 78... When I got the 47 reading, I got off the phone and got the MC. Might have to jump to HC, it's still early in the game (only +3). So - I think this earns us a dosecrease... What counts as newly diagnosed?

Any suggestions? Should we go down to 1 unit?
 
Re: 6/13 Kasha AMPS 373 PMPS 194, 34 @ +3.3 Dosecrease?!?!

Ok - she was 34 @ +3.3... Definite dosecrease coming up. She's eating some HC now. This is the tense time... Still too early in the cycle for me to be comfortable... guess Blue and I won't be cuddling on the papasan cushion any more tonight...

Glad I have more test strips on order...
 
yes, I've been retesting every 15 - 20 min... she just got some food with 29% carbs... she will ONLY eat it when her numbers are low. Otherwise she thinks it's totally icky!

I've been up since 4:28 am when she woke me up to clean up Blue's icky-sticky poo in his cage... You think maybe I can get a break one of these nights?!?!?!?

Edit: 55 @ +3.6. I'll be retesting fairly often over the next few hours cuz I'm not sure how long that HC will keep her numbers up...

Kasha and I discussed this at the beginning of the weekend - our secret goal was a dose decrease this weekend.. She procrastinated a little (wonder where she got that from) but pulled it off just in the nick of time...
 
That's a definite reduction! Congrats. New dose is 1.0u.

Newly diagnosed is within a year of FD diagnosis.

If you are looking for a way to attach fabric to the air mattress so it won't slip, what about velcro?
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
That's a definite reduction! Congrats. New dose is 1.0u.

Newly diagnosed is within a year of FD diagnosis.

If you are looking for a way to attach fabric to the air mattress so it won't slip, what about velcro?

Velcro is a great idea! Thanks! If I actually buy some velcro, I bet I'll find other uses for it too... "What's holding the door open? Why, it's velcro, thanks for asking!"

Well, I had to ask what "newly diagnosed" meant cuz Kasha wanted to know if she had to drop below 50 or below 40 to earn her reduction - but then she dropped to 34 at +3.3 just to be sure to cover all her bases.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top