6/13 Jack the Cat AMPS 93

It’s a nice start for Jack! Surf safely today Jack! No diving with the sharks! I forget if you decided if you’re going to follow SLGS or TR as your monitoring protocol? If you’re following SLGS and Jack goes below 90 he’ll earn another reduction :)
 
Am following the SLGS monitoring.

Couldn't do the +1 and +2, but +4 = 48. Gave him a little food. Can't do the +6 but will check on +7 and will post results.

So have a question. Jack's partner, Rufus always grooms Jack post shot. And I always put Neosporin on Jack's ears post shot.

Should I be concerned that Rufus is ingesting Neosporin?
 
With the 48 Jack has earned a reduction of 0.25u.

Jack is getting pretty low, you might want to test in 20 mins if you can to make sure he doesn't go lower. We consider BGs lower than 50 within the Hypo risk zone. If you're going to be away until +7 I think it might be a good idea to put out some High carb food. I'm concerned Jack might go even lower.

@Bobbie And Bubba @carfurby you have more experience than I do, would you mind weighing in here?
 
Last edited:
I'd test again if you can before you leave and leave some HC food out if he's not coming up. He's earned a reduction to 0.75 units.

So have a question. Jack's partner, Rufus always grooms Jack post shot. And I always put Neosporin on Jack's ears post shot.
Does Rufus lick Jack's ears? If he does, he may be ingesting Neosporin.
 
Hey there. Whenever they go under 50 give a little HC food and retest in 20-30 minutes. You need to know that he was brought up by the HC food and is holding before you leave him. If it’s not possible to recheck and make sure he’s safe , you can abort the cycle by loading him up on high carb food. It would be better for him to be higher the rest of the day than too low.

Reduce the dose tonight by .25 of a unit. New dose will be 0.75
 
Thank you all. Just testing @ 6.5 and is at 98.

Yes, Rufus grooms Jack's ears. It's like he knows something is going with Jack's ears. I think I might switch to Vaseline
 
Do I need to be concerned about the depot not going through the 6 cycles when reducing the insulin dose or is the depot issue only when increasing the dose?
 
You do need to consider the depot when reducing the dose if you get numbers where you would do back to back reductions, meaning two reductions one right after the other. The depot could be making the numbers go lower the second time and it's not really the dose he is on. I hope that makes sense.

Since you have not just taken a reduction, I believe Jack has earned this reduction. If he dropped low again tonight after taking the reduction, it will probably be from the depot of the previous dose.
 
Back
Top