6/13 Gus PMPS 167/+2=224

Status
Not open for further replies.

bev5477

Member Since 2011
Gus seemed to be higher than we like this AM, but I had plans in Mass. with an aunt and because of the higher #, I wasn't going to worry about him. Imagine my surprise when i came home and got a +8 on him and it was 70!!! No R, just his regular dose of Lantus 9U. I gave HC gravy and tested at 8.5, 9, and 10. I was pleased with the rise but as of this minute, I'm not sure what to give him for tonight's dose. I can put it off for an hour so I'll be checking back to see what the experts advise. What happened, did his tumor decide to take the afternoon off? My instinct is that this low # was a fluke ( I tested twice to make sure the low result was valid. The 2nd BG I got was 54). Thanks.
 
Re: 6/13 Gus AMPS 463/PMPS 167 PM DOSE ??

nice. :smile:

ECID and you'll have to find what works best for Gus, but what I have found works best for Jazzy is basically to just follow the protocol. That would mean holding the dose here to see if he will flatten out at this dose.

If you're not comfortable holding the dose, I would try reducing just a little bit, maybe to 8.75, to see what happens. You don't have any history yet on how Gus responds to reductions, so this will be an opportunity for you to learn something.
 
Re: 6/13 Gus AMPS 463/PMPS 167 PM DOSE ??

OMG!!!! You're right!!! They both wanted to cause some excitement. Gus definitely wins, though, on his dive, especially since he doesn't normally go low and at least Champ has been there a time or two. Wonder what got into the rascals!!
 
Re: 6/13 Gus AMPS 463/PMPS 167 PM DOSE ??

:shock: gus? that's quite a rainbow day for gus! i hope you at least had a nice time out, bev.
 
I went with the 8.75U dose and let the chips fall where they may. Hopefully, Gus will handle it well. I'm just glad that I decided not to give R with his Lantus bolus this AM! 463 was high enough to turn to R for help but I wanted to see what the Lantus would do on its own.
 
Hi bev, i answered you in punkin's condo then decided you might miss it, so i should copy it here.

i haven't seen anything that said "this is why they're always hungry" but i think it's from the growth factor. think about it - like a teenage boy with the "bottomless pit" "hollow leg" phenomena - did i spell that right? - they are flooded with hormones to make them grow and they want to eat to go with it. that must be what's happening to acro kitties. their bodies are trying to grow - so they want to eat.

in a non-acro cat their growth hormone is under 90 - punkin was 281, i think. they all seem to be hungry and i would assume that's why.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top