6-13 Gizmo AMPS=308 :) +2=412; +6=292; PMPS = 282; +3=377

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chubba (GA)

Member Since 2017
Condo - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...227-7-222-question-about-carb-content.179140/

Good morning everyone. Gizmo had a good shot today and last night. Hopefully things will be better now. I do have several questions though ...

1. Does anyone know if Friskies extra gravy chunky is the same as Friskies Gravy Sensations in the food list? I don't see extra gravy chunky anywhere and I'm trying to figure out the carb content in the event of a hypo. I think they are, but thought I would see if anyone knows for sure.

2. What type of human meter do you use? I am panicking because I only have 13 strips left for my alphatrak. I have 150 ordered, but they aren't going to be here until tomorrow at the earliest. If Gizmo goes low, I'm in trouble. As happy as I am about 308 this morning, I am scared to death also. I need to leave the house for a few hours today and thought about just picking up a human meter and some strips to be safe (and higher carb food - since mine is all around 13-15%).

3. I am thinking about getting an automatic feeder. Any advice on those? His nighttime +2 and +3s have gone up the past 2 nights. I'm wondering if that is due to him eating with his shot. Last night I realized I am also feeding him a snack before bed which is only 2-3 hours after his PM meal. Plus he is starving by morning. So I am thinking an automatic feeder might be our solution.

Thanks again for everyone's help and support. Gizmo and I really appreciate everyone! Have a great day.
 
Hi! If you want to know the carb content, you can email Friskies. I did once when I bought one flavor that had no carb content listed on Lisa's chart. They replied to my message within an hour!

I use the Relion Confirm. It uses the least amount of blood, but the strips are more expensive compared to the Relion Prime that needs a little more blood. It's your decision.

I don't have an automatic feeder, simply because I have 4 cats so that wouldn't work well. However, I have seen many recommendations for PetSafe 5. They also have PetSafe 2.

Good luck with everything!
 
Hi! If you want to know the carb content, you can email Friskies. I did once when I bought one flavor that had no carb content listed on Lisa's chart. They replied to my message within an hour!

I use the Relion Confirm. It uses the least amount of blood, but the strips are more expensive compared to the Relion Prime that needs a little more blood. It's your decision.

I don't have an automatic feeder, simply because I have 4 cats so that wouldn't work well. However, I have seen many recommendations for PetSafe 5. They also have PetSafe 2.

Good luck with everything!

Thank you. I will email Friskies today.
 
I just ordered 200 strips and got 1 day shipping. Plus my 150 are coming Friday. Praying he doesn't drop low today. Going to get a +2 in 20 minutes.
 
Looks like Gizmo is letting you take a test break and save some strips this cycle. I used the Relion Confirm/mini (used same strips) but I also ordered the Arkray Glucocard01 strips from ADW (American Diabetes Wholesale) online. Their prices are good and free shipping over a certain amount. Arkray also make the Relion Confirm/mini.

I really liked the Petsafe 5 auto feeder. It gave me a life. I could load it up and be gone for most of the day, or out for the evening knowing it would give Neko food when I thought she might need it. "Otto" became her best friend.
 
Looks like Gizmo is letting you take a test break and save some strips this cycle. I used the Relion Confirm/mini (used same strips) but I also ordered the Arkray Glucocard01 strips from ADW (American Diabetes Wholesale) online. Their prices are good and free shipping over a certain amount. Arkray also make the Relion Confirm/mini.

I really liked the Petsafe 5 auto feeder. It gave me a life. I could load it up and be gone for most of the day, or out for the evening knowing it would give Neko food when I thought she might need it. "Otto" became her best friend.

I think I could get by with the Petsafe 2 feeder, but the reviews seem to say that some cats can get it open. So I might just go with the Petsafe 5. Plus, I guess the 5 meals would give me more flexibility for leaving more food if I thought I needed to.
 
Since I am following TR .... I am thinking Gizmo needs a dose increase tomorrow (unless of course he would drop lower than his normal tonight). Being that I am on limited supply of strips, should I wait until tomorrow night or even the next morning for the dose increase?
 
Unless you see blue tonight, yes on the increase. And also yes on waiting until you have strips in hand. It's hard to say if Gizmo will respond to the dose increase on the first cycle of the increase, but he might. :cat:
 
It can take 6 cycles for the depot to fill and show you what the dose can really do. Since the PMPS was lower than mid cycle, it might be a more active night. The +2/+3 could be interesting.
 
I am worried about that. His +2 are usually still high, so I am going to stay up to get a +3. Hoping he doesn't go to low though. Lesson learned ... never let strips get low. Although I had plenty until I decided on TR.
 
I have 13-15% carbs, but some have gravy so I'm hoping they are high enough in carbs. I just told my DH that I am probably going to panic and break out the higher carb foods. It's funny how this is exactly what I want to happen and now I am nervous that it will.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top