6/12Buca PMPS 51, +1/67, +2/50, +3/62 +3.5/68, +5/84

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bucasmom

Member Since 2012
Good morning all :)... actually I guess it's almost afternoon here! lol

This morning was Buca's first shaved dose, so he got a skinny .5u. and it wasn't long before he was plunging into those low numbers again... He usually only does this after his pm dose and is fine during the day... which kinda sucks if he's decided to do this after his am shot. I am home sick again today so I can monitor him, but I'm out for work tomorrow and won't be home as much to catch a dive. Today I slept in by accident and when I tested his 41 I gave him a little HC and then hand fed him some LC and that seemed to bring up the numbers right away (trying to do it more with LC than HC).

It's about this time in his cycle that he comes back up a bit anyways, if his am is acting like his pm. That 41 can't indicate another dose reduction so soon can it?
 
Re: 6/12 Buca amps 194, +1/183, +3.5/41, +4/54, +4.5/55

Heather,

I think you are dealing with the depot being full and it is still affecting this cycle especially since you just reduced this morning. The depot can affect up to six subsequent cycles. Typically, it affects 3-4 but there are some cats where the effect could be seen as much as six cycles later.

Good job bringing him up. I'd continue to shoot this dose tonight and lets see what he does. He may decide to start coming down the dosing scale really fast and we might have to consider some other options.

Hope you feel better.
 
Re: 6/12 Buca amps 194, +1/183, +3.5/41, +4/54, +4.5/55

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Heather,

I think you are dealing with the depot being full and it is still affecting this cycle especially since you just reduced this morning. The depot can affect up to six subsequent cycles. Typically, it affects 3-4 but there are some cats where the effect could be seen as much as six cycles later.

Good job bringing him up. I'd continue to shoot this dose tonight and lets see what he does. He may decide to start coming down the dosing scale really fast and we might have to consider some other options.

Hope you feel better.

Ok sounds good.
He's surfing the 50's right now (+4/54, +4.5/55, +5/55). I'll keep everything updated.
 
Re: 6/12 Buca amps 194, +1/183, +3.5/41, +4/54, +4.5/55

Thank you!!

I'm on my way out. If you need help, just put it in your subject line but I think you've got the drill well rehearsed :-D
 
Re: 6/12 Buca amps 194, +1/183, +3.5/41, +4/54, +4.5/55

Hi guys .. what awesome numbers for buca! I love to see them surfing like this .. Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 6/12 Buca amps 194, +1/183, +3.5/41, +4/54, +4.5/55

Sorry about the diving, but congrats on some great numbers for Buca!! :thumbup :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/12 Buca amps 194, +1/183, +3.5/41, +4/54, +4.5/55

Heather, you are doing a great job with Buca. Hope you feel better soon yourself.

Are you keeping your vet up to date with Buca's great progress? Maybe you can convert them to Lantus for kitties with these great results.
 
Re: 6/12 Buca amps 194, +1/183, +3.5/41, +4/54, +4.5/55

Wendy&Neko said:
Heather, you are doing a great job with Buca. Hope you feel better soon yourself.

Are you keeping your vet up to date with Buca's great progress? Maybe you can convert them to Lantus for kitties with these great results.

Thanks everyone! :-D

To be honest, I haven't spoken to my vet since their attitude about not wanting to follow their protocol went sour. See: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=71289

Although I have thought about printing off a copy of Buca's SS for them, so that they can see the progress he's made so far and maybe come around a little. How could they not, right?
 
Re: 6/12 Buca amps 194, +1/183, +3.5/41, +4/54, +4.5/55

Great cycle for Buca today. Keep printing your ss for your Vet, and I bet he will come around. It's what I do weekly with Maggie, and now her Vet mentions the Protocol during Vet visits. Have a nice day and hope you feel better.

ETA: I meant to say I E-mail it weekly.
 
Re: 6/12 Buca ...+3.5/41, +4/54, +5/55, +673, +9/109, +10/11

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?key=0Aubv8xiguX2_dF9sa0FWY3dIOU1fWlRUVmFhVi1rTXc&output=html

I agree with Marje. Buca's depot hasn't had a chance to catch up with the dose reduction. Hold the dose for now.
 
Re: 6/12 Buca +4/54, +5/55, +673, +9/109, +10/113, +11/95

Judging by the day he's had, and his numbers leading up to PMPS... safe to say I'll be looking at yet another dive tonight?
 
Re: 6/12 Buca +4/54, +5/55, +673, +9/109, +10/113, +11/95

This looks like a second dip to me which is normal. I'll check back in with you in a little bit but it's not a dropping number. If you need help shooting, just post...I have to go out for a few.
 
Re: 6/12 Buca PMPS 51, +1/67, +2/50, +3/62 +3.5/68

Shot the skinny .5 at the usual time with his pmps at 51, then the #s as follows:

+1/67
+1.5/50
+2/50
+2.5/56
+3/62
+3.5/68

Just made sure to hand feed him lots of LC when he dipped down to 50. Any tips on what to do tomorrow? At least before lunch, neither myself or DH are going to be close to home... I'm concerned if he gets into low numbers. I can leave food out but usually he'll just sleep and I'm not sure he'll be hungry enough to eat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top