6/12 Trixie PMPS 115 +1 146 +2 130 +4 105

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=45227

Things seem to be settling back into "normal" for Trix after all the number weirdness from a couple days ago. This morning is her 6th Wellness-free cycle and her daytime numbers are starting to look better again.

Because of the food switch, should we wait a few more cycles before considering anything with her dose? Or should we maybe fatten up her 0.5U?

It's nice to see her wearing daytime greens again...

Thanks for any input!

Amy
 
Re: 6/12 Trixie AMPS 172 +2 91 +4 82 - DOSE?

Good morning Amy.

I don't think I would increase the dose at this time since you are seeing green and Trixie was down to 68 yesterday.

I am not sure of your feeding schedule but you might want to try feeding mini-meals at +1, +2 , +3 and a snack at +8 if possible. It could help to bring the pre-shot numbers down. On 5/30 it is noted in your ss that you fed a snack at +8 and it looks like it brought the ps number down nicely.

Good luck. :smile:
 
Re: 6/12 Trixie AMPS 172 +2 91 +4 82 - DOSE?

Good luck with the menu change!!! I decided to do the exact opposite. It looks to me like Champ has been losing muscle mass so I've put him exclusively back on Wellness to see if it helps that and his wobbly legs. I'm going to give it a couple weeks and see if there's any change, and see how it affects his numbers. I just wish this was all just cut and dried....you do this, this is what happens. No such luck, though. Trixie's numbers look good. Let's see if she keeps this nice surf going!

Good luck and have a great day!!!! :-D
 
Re: 6/12 Trixie AMPS 172 +2 91 +4 82 - DOSE?

I agree with Miriam, I don't think she has a lot of room for an increase right now with nadirs in the 60s.

I also like the suggestion about the feeding schedule, Amy. Maybe using a more consistent feeding schedule will yield more consistent results. It may take a bit of time to see the effect, but using mini meals can help slow steep drops and flatten out the cycles a little. I just started using a late cycle snack with Tinkles, and it is working nicely to bring his PS numbers down. It's a bit of a pain, since I have to make sure the piggie civie doesn't get the food, but it is effective for him...worth trying if you can do it.
 
Re: 6/12 Trixie AMPS 172 +2 91 +4 82 - DOSE?

Thanks for the feedback! I just wanted to be sure we weren't holding her dose longer than we should be.

I can break her meals up a bit more for the early parts of the cycle.

Being consistent with a +8 or +9 snack will be tricky, because of our work schedules. Unfortunately, I don't think an automatic feeder will work for us. We have 5 other civvies, and between Trixie and and them we have 3 different diets (food sensitivities, CRF, FD). I had thought about putting a feeder on the counter, so our CRF civvie wouldn't have access to it (he's also arthritic...poor guy), but Trixie is terrified of the counters - I'm pretty sure her previous owners would smack her if she got up there, and even though she's been with us for over 6 years, we haven't been able to convince her it's OK to be up there. I don't think I can get up in the middle of the night to feed her - at least not consistently...I'm running on 5-6 hours of sleep a night as it is, and I do feel ill-effects from that. She also gets very stressed and upset if we confine her to one room, so I don't think that would work, either. It's a conundrum, so if anyone has any other ideas about how we could get that snack in, I'm open.

In the meantime, we definitely will give her a +8 snack whenever we can, which means at the very least she will get it on the weekends, and on the one weekday that I'm off from work.
 
Re: 6/12 Trixie AMPS 172 +2 91 +4 82 - Auto Feeder Recs?

As I'm sitting here at work pondering this + 8 snack dilemma, I guess trying out an auto feeder will be our best option. Since food will be involved, maybe she'll be willing to get on the counters during the middle of the night and during the work day when there aren't any humans around. And, hopefully the civvies won't eat it before she does. Since she likes canned food more than the others, chances are good she will be the victor.

I'm not working tomorrow, so I can go feeder shopping. What feeders do you guys use? And, you freeze the food first, right? What sort of tricks do you do for freezing? Ice cube trays?

As always, thanks!!!
 
Re: 6/12 Trixie AMPS 172 +2 91 +4 82 - Auto Feeder Recs?

Nice to see her back in green!!! I don't use an auto feeder...sorry!!!!

I'm glad you are seeing some good results from your feeding trials and hope it continues. Miss Trixie Cat...such a gorgeous little girl!!
 
Re: 6/12 Trixie AMPS 172 +2 91 +4 82 - Auto Feeder Recs?

Thanks, Marje! She gave me quite a scare the other day.

Hubby gave her a +8 snack this afternoon, and she seems to surfing the very low blues nicely....we'll see what PMPS brings!
 
Re: 6/12 Trixie AMPS 172 +2 91 +4 82 - Auto Feeder Recs?

This is the feeder that I use. There's a 5 slot one that has a motor and the dishes move to the open slot. I tried 2 of those. They both went kaput within a couple of weeks. This is lower tech and works just fine.
 
Re: 6/12 Trixie AMPS 172 +2 91 +4 82 - Auto Feeder Recs?

Feeder

Here is the one I have been using for 2 years with great success....I mainly use it when we are going to be away for several hours or when we go on vacation. I am going to set it up tonight to try giving Zoe a snack around +8 and then to turn again so she will have no food available between +10 and PMPS.....She took to it really well and uses it without a problem.
 
Re: 6/12 Trixie AMPS 172 +2 91 +4 82 - Auto Feeder Recs?

Thanks for the suggestions! I do like the idea of being able to "cut off the snack" before +10 by turning the feeder. That was one of my concerns...having her decide that a +11 snack time would be best and ending up with a food-influenced pre-shot.
 
Re: 6/12 Trixie AMPS 172 +2 91 +4 82 - Auto Feeder Recs?

i borrowed this from julia and bandit's post:

viewtopic.php?f=28&t=44718&p=478573&hilit=bandit+feeder#p478573

i've looked into using it.

we also have the one that sienne has, but frenchie breaks it open now, so it may not have many days left it it.

since the one that julia recommends has a voice recording and can be set to open at an exact time and records a short message, everybody can get "called" to separate feeding spots. brilliant on julia's part for finding it, i take no credit here. but it is very much the one that we are looking in the buying next.

what we do its freeze a quarter can of ff in each cube section of one of these:

http://www.amazon.com/Orka-Ice-Cube-Tra ... B000R5OLU8

since a 1/4 can fits perfectly, we don't need to put any water in, but do also make "snack" versions that are watered down.
 
Re: 6/12 Trixie PMPS 115

Thanks for all the info - huge help!

Well, it does look like today's +8 snack had a pretty positive effect on her PMPS; her snack was about a TBSP of EVO. However, she absolutely, completely, utterly refused to touch either the BG or the EVO for dinner, so we were forced to give her a little bit of Wellness so we could do her shot :roll: . Hopefuly we'll be able to get her to go for the BG and EVO for her later meals, but right now I'm skeptical. She seems to get sick of foods very quickly. When she had her snack, she acted like that EVO was the best thing on earth; a few hours later, she's trying to bury the stuff! Argh. It wasn't shot time, I'd practice a little tough love and hold out to see if she'd cave with the BG or EVO.

She is sooooo stubborn, and this is giving me such a headache!!!!
 
Re: 6/12 Trixie PMPS 115 +1 146 +2 130

Similar to the last time we gave her a +8 snack...nice pre-shot, +1 spike, flat blues...patience pants are, once again, on :lol: ...
 
Re: 6/12 Trixie PMPS 115 +1 146 +2 130

sorry i have no input on the feeding dilemma you have...i only have Rocket...though he has both CRF and FD plus more....he is the only one getting access to his food....Comet (the dog) can't get to where Rocket's food is....

have you tried rotating foods besides the EVO just to keep her interested in food? how about putting some chicken dust as topping to entice her?

just throwing stuff out there for you.....
 
Re: 6/12 Trixie PMPS 115 +1 146 +2 130

We were trying to go back and forth between EVO and BG and keeping things at that for her, but that's not seeming like enough variety. She loves Wellness, but we have a theory that Wellness tends to raise her BGs, even though it's technically low carb. However, we may have to deal with that from time-to-time, if she refuses the BG and EVO.

I think that changing her food so much has been causing confusion; she was never picky before all of this started. Now it seems that she knows these other foods exist, and she'll refuse to eat at will when she wants something different than what I'm offering. I was hoping we could settle into EVO and BG to keep things simple and non-confusing for her...I was determined to keep Wellness off the menu, but tonight she knew how to get what she wanted :roll: :lol: !

I remembered the chicken dust idea after dinner tonight, and I'll try that the next time, before I pull out Wellness.

Thanks, Claudia - any and all ideas are truly appreciated!

Amy
 
Re: 6/12 Trixie PMPS 115 +1 146 +2 130

Amy,
with Rocket's CRF i know all too well how picky they become and how frustrating it is to feed them...i literally bought one can of everything petsmart had to offer a few times in the past....and have wasted lots of food because of that....often times telling him he was lucky his menu was pretty big and that other kitties out there had no menu....

i just thought that some here have suggested in the past to put Fortiflora as topping to entice them to eat....you can give that a try and see if that works.....

good luck!
 
Re: 6/12 Trixie PMPS 115 +1 146 +2 130

That's right - I'll have to try the FortiFlora, too! I know the feeling of wasting food all too well...which was never a problem till good ole FD came along.

I just put some chicken dust on her +3 meal of BG and she sort of ate some of it...grudgingly. I guess, ultimately, I'm going to have no choice but to include Wellness in her regular menu; I suppose if it's not there 100% of the time, it could be OK. It's funny (but not in a ha-ha, :lol: sort of way!) how she'll be super-enthusiastic about a food, then the next minute she wants to bury it.

Someone needs to develop that cat-to-human language interpreter ASAP!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top