6/12 Topper Vomited Again 9PM Help AMPS 314 +2.5 219 +5 200

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jan and Topper

Member Since 2013
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=97271
Added at 9:15 PM - Topper vomited up his food from earlier. I don't know what to do about his next shot or anything else.
I'm just so upset and feeling desparate. I'm afraid I'm going to lose him. He isn't "right" at all.

I increased the dose to a fat 3.75 on 6/10.

He's been fine, but after PM shot last night he acted odd then at +3.5 he threw up a furball and what looked like all his PS food. Felt really bad, felt hot, took temp it was 101.7. I syringe fed him.
Played a little bit this morning, but felt bad. Ate chicken treat with shot. He always has 1/4 Pepcid at shot time because sometimes he does get an upset stomach. I thought he was okay then at +2.5, he threw up his PS food. There was a small furball in it.

Do I just keep syringing food at mealtime, then again if he throws it up?

I don't know what to do. Since there have been furballs, I think that is the problem and he isn't really sick. But he hasn't done this before, continuing to throw up. I'm so worried. I called the vet, if I take him in he will have to have full bloodwork and a urinalysis and I don't have $250. Of course the vet said if he is throwing up I should not be giving any insulin at all.

I have antibiotic (Orbax) on hand and the vet said I could start him on that, but I don't want to if he doesn't need it, or would it be advisable to go ahead and start him on it just in case he is sick? I'm worried about DKA.
 
Re: 6/12 Topper AMPS 314 +2.5 219 +5 200 HELP!! Throwing Up

Jan, that is scary that he is throwing up so much. Do you have ketostix to test for ketones? You can get them at the pharmacy, use the ones for humans. If there are more than trace ketones, he needs to go to the vet immediately. Be sure he's getting lots of fluids. Is he dehydrated at all? If you pull up on his scruff, does it go immediately back into place (well hydrated) or does it stay pulled up (dehydrated)?
Liz
 
Re: 6/12 Topper AMPS 314 +2.5 219 +5 200 HELP!! Throwing Up

I do have the Ketostix, he tested negative last night, but I haven't tested this afternoon because he went in to the litter box as soon as I took my eyes off him and I missed it. I'm so worried.

His skin pops right back so he doesn't appear to be dehydrated. I syringed 3cc's of water into him, can keep doing that, although I don't want it to make him throw up.
 
Re: 6/12 Topper AMPS 314 +2.5 219 +5 200 HELP!! Throwing Up

His numbers don't look too bad, so I wouldn't think he'd have ketones, but we have seen them in lower BGs before.
I would have the litter box next to my leg and a plastic cup in my hand ready to catch a sample to test for ketones, just the same. Knowing it's not ketones is a big relief.

I hope it's just some hairball issues. Feel better Topper cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 6/12 Topper AMPS 314 +2.5 219 +5 200 HELP!! Throwing Up

Sending feel better vines to sweet Topper. It does sound like it could be hairballs, since the episodes have included fur. Has he just thrown up the two times, or is he repeatedly throwing up? I know when my guys have hairballs, they have on again/off again symptoms for a day or two until it is fully resolved.

Please keep us posted....
 
Re: 6/12 Topper AMPS 314 +2.5 219 +5 200 HELP!! Throwing Up

Thats great that you are checking the ketones and negative so far. :-D When was the last time that he pooped? Be sure to breathe.
Liz
 
Re: 6/12 Topper AMPS 314 +2.5 219 +5 200 HELP!! Throwing Up

Jan --

How many times has he thrown up and over how many hours? Is Topper wanting more food or is he acting like he's nauseated?

FWIW, if you're giving Pepsid, it should be at least 30 min. before Topper eats.

Rather than giving him his usual food, how about trying baby food? It's easier on the tummy. You want to give baby food that is protein and broth only -- no veggies, onions, or garlic.
 
Re: 6/12 Topper AMPS 314 +2.5 219 +5 200 HELP!! Throwing Up

If he starts throwing up again or fights the syringe feedings, am I supposed to still give his regular amount of insulin?

Amy - He threw up twice in the night and once today. He's acting like his stomach hurts, but he has acted like that in the past after throwing up a furball, but I didn't worry about it because he wasn't diabetic.

Liz- He had a normal poop around 9 this morning.

Sienne - He's thown up three times in the past 20 hours. He does not want food at all, but he is not fighting the syringe feedings. I syringe fed 3 hours ago and he has held it down.
I gave him baby food a couple times a few months ago so I could give his shot and it seemed to raise his bg. I'm sure it was all meat.

His bg was 147 at +6.5
 
Re: 6/12 Topper AMPS 314 +2.5 219 +5 200 +6.5 147 Dose Quest

Jan

Have you shot tonight yet? How is he feeling now? Interested in food at all?

You can give him butter or extra virgin, unrefined coconut oil for hairballs. If you give the coconut oil, you just want to give him .25 mls bid for a few days, then increase to .5 mls bid for a few days, then .75 mls bid for a few days, and finally 1 ml bid. If at anytime it causes him any problems, stop it. It won't raise his BG. My cats love the taste of it but butter will also work if you can't get out to get coconut oil. Don't give him fake butter or light butter...give him the real stuff.
 
Re: 6/12 Topper Vomited Again 9PM Help AMPS 314 +2.5 219 +5

Marje, shot time is in an hour. He's just thrown up again.
I don't know what to do, I feel so bad and really scared.
Thank you for the information on the hairballs.
 
Re: 6/12 Topper Vomited Again 9PM Help AMPS 314 +2.5 219 +5

Jan

Does he ever eat things he shouldn't....could he have gotten into string, dental floss, anything at all abnormal?

I am concerned that he might be having an episode of pancreatitis. Here is some info in this Primer on Pancreatitis.

If it is pancreatitis, he needs to see a vet.

Also...do you test for ketones and have you tested him today? Negative?

I think it might be best for you to skip his shot tonight, Jan. I don't want you worrying about food AND dropping numbers. If you don't have to worry about dropping numbers, you can let his tummy rest.

I know $ are tight but if there is anyone that can get him to a vet for you, it would be best. If he continues vomiting tonight, I think an ER visit is warranted. If he settles down, I'd take him to my vet first thing tomorrow.
 
Re: 6/12 Topper Vomited Again 9PM Help AMPS 314 +2.5 219 +5

Thank you Marje
There isn't any way I can afford the ER.
He doesn't eat things, I'm sure there isn't anything he could have gotten any way.
He's been doing so well...
I missed his pee tonight so have not tested for ketones.
I'm worried about skipping his shot because of the DKA issue, he's going to come up really high without insulin, but I don't want him to hypo...this is terrible.
 
Re: 6/12 Topper Vomited Again 9PM Help AMPS 314 +2.5 219 +5

You could give him a half dose if you can syringe feed him. If you have baby food....without onions, garlic, cornstarch...just plain chicken or turkey...will he eat it? It doesn't matter if his BG goes up because of food.

If he starts to go really low, you can syringe karo. I'm just worried about the toll it will take on you. If he is in pain, it is possible his BG will go up even without food but no guarantees.
 
Re: 6/12 Topper Vomited Again 9PM Help AMPS 314 +2.5 219 +5

Jan


I just sent you a PM...please read it before you go anywhere.
 
Re: 6/12 Topper Vomited Again 9PM Help AMPS 314 +2.5 219 +5

All I have is Ham baby food.
I was up all night with him last night because I was so worried, then this morning didn't get him to the vet because I was so sure he would be okay, you know, that it was just a cat throwing up incident and he'd be fine.
 
Re: 6/12 Topper Vomited Again 9PM Help AMPS 314 +2.5 219 +5

I agree with Marje. He's been throwing up frequently enough that I think Topper needs to see a vet. At the very least, the vet can give you/prescribe an anti-emetic/anti-nausea drug (usually ondansatron/Zofran or maropitant/Cerenia). If there's anything besides an upset stomach going on, it needs to be treated so you're worrying less.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top