6/12 Simon PMPS 245 +3 242

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Help! Simon last night was 74 when i went to bed. i left out extra food and he ate it all. His AMPS is 48! He has never been this low for his AMPS. I'm getting ready to re-test (I have been withholding his breffisi). What should I do in this case? Totally skip the shot or give a token dose? I will not be home until his +6 when I can get away from work.

Not sure anyone is signed on yet.
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 48 +.75 53 DOSING ADVICE!

He is rising a little. I am going to go ahead and give him his breffis and will wait a few minutes to see if anyone has any advice for insulin dosage. If not, I think I might give a token dose, no more than 1/2 the amount is gets. What do y'all think?
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 48 +.75 53 DOSING ADVICE!

Hi Gerogia,

No dosing advice from me but hang in there as Dyana may be hopping on soon:) You look great in green but c'mon up a bit Simon!
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 48 +.75 53 DOSING ADVICE!

Ok, I couldn't wait any longer so I decided to give him half of the usual insulin and will give a little mc food and then leave food out until I get back from work at lunch. Hope I am making the right decision!
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 48 +.75 53

How much insulin did you give, and can you get a +1 before you leave?
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 48 +.75 53

You did shoot a 48 about 3 weeks ago on May 19th. I think what you did this morning was the safe thing to do.
Sorry, I was out walking my cats, and wasn't logged on to help you.
Surf real nice today, Simon.
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 48 +.75 53

Wow Georgia!

Nice numbers. Kinda unnerving though when you are heading out the door.

Is he getting any more shots of the Adequan?
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 48 +.75 53

I think you should test again at about 30 minutes after you gave the shot this morning, and if he's still below 60 at 30 minutes past that previous test. This will just give you an idea of whether you need to HC or leave a bit of HC out for him.
I have to log off now, to go to work. I'll check in on you at my lunch hour.
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 48 +.75 53

Hi Georgia, wow after yesterday's yellows I know you weren't expecting these numbers. Simon is full of surprises and on a mission. :mrgreen: Simon, please give a nice surf for your MommaBean today.
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 48 +.75 53 +2 72

He is a little higher after the MC food so I think it will be safe to walk out the door. I will leave extra food out for him and will be back at +6.

Dyana, thanks for your advice! I totally forgot about shooting in the 40's awhile ago except I think I was going to be home after that. I feel ok about my decision to shoot 1/2 the amount, especially after you said it was the safe thing to do since I wouldn't be home to monitor.

Tena, yes, Simon is still getting the Adequan. He gets his 5th shot this afternoon. Yesterday, was the first day I noticed him looking a little more frisky so maybe the shots are helping his bg go down. Also, I discontinued his anti-histimine he has been on for 11 days. He is so sensitive to all medication so that may also be the culprit to the higher numbers.

I'll post again at lunch. Thanks again for your help this morning!
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 48 +.75 53 +2 72

Hi Georgia. Just stopping by to say Hello. That was a scary amps, for someone going off to work. I'm glad Simon was coming up before you had to leave. :smile:
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 48 +.75 53 +2 72

A couple of thoughts...

Remember Libby's post on dealing with low pre-shots.

Unless you have a late nadir cat, I don't recommend shooting the 40s. You have no margin for safety.

Your AMPS is the actual number you shot. I'm not exactly sure what the time was when you shot or what the number was. In any event, since you didn't shoot the 48, one of those other numbers is your AMPS and your PM shot is due 12 hours from whatever time you shot.
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 48 +.75 53 +2 72

Holy Carp! Looks like Simon is feeling really better! BOS are yours today !
Just leave out the HC & he will be fine...Hugs & Love from us!
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 48 +.75 53 +2 72

:shock: wow - quite the wake up call. I think you made a good decision - i am glad too that you will be home to check on him at +6. what a morning for you....

Enjoy your day today - I hope it is a good one.
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 48 +.75 53 +2 72

Hi guys .. wow, what a start to the morning! Bet you'd be real happy to see this on a day you didn't have to go to work! Fingers crossed simon just surfs the day away for you .. have a great day!
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 53 +2 72 +6 43

Ok, I am really stupid! I should have just skipped the whole shot this morning. Now I am dealing with this lovely 43 and I have to get back to work.

Sienne, thanks for posting Libby's info on dealing with low pre-shots. I thought that since Simon is a pretty long term diabetic, that it was ok to just reduce the shot by half instead of totally not shooting. Also, I adjusted his pre-shot number to reflect his number when I gave him his insulin. I am still such a newbie with some of this stuff, even after almost 2 years!

Thanks everyone for stopping by to show support. This is pretty scary, although I have come home at work a couple of times when he was in the 30's. I'm going to go ahead and feed him so hc food and leave out extra. I'll be home at +10 but maybe I can convince DH to stop by earlier.

I just called work and said I would be a little late getting back from lunch. I'll re-test him in a few minutes.
 
Re: 6/12 Simon AMPS 53 +2 72 +6 43 +6.5 50

He is rising a little and is now on his 2nd lunch of hc food. I have to go back to work but have left out more food for him. Hoping he will be safe.
 
Re: 6/12 Simon PMPS 245

Bounce from all the hc food today. When I came home from lunch, Simon was a little lethargic and I was really worried about leaving him. He is doing so much better now and was very happy about all the good fuds he got while I was at work. He also had his 5th Adequan shot today. I went ahead and gave him a dose decrease even though he did not go under 40. I'll see what happens and if he can hold this dose. I just can't have him so low when I am at work during the day and I won't be able to come home at all during the day tomorrow.
 
Re: 6/12 Simon PMPS 245

Good luck with the dosecrease. I know it's hard when we are gone all day. What a great day he had though. Have a nice night Georgia!
 
Re: 6/12 Simon PMPS 245

Those numbers would have had me worrying all day. I'm glad you were able to come home at lunch to check on him, today. Good luck with the dosecrease.
 
Re: 6/12 Simon PMPS 245

Hi guys,
I missed all the excitement. Glad to see that Simon is fine and hope that his bounce will be a short one. Good job, Georgia!!

Ella & Rusty
 
They never throw these crazy low numbers when we can be home all day. :roll: Looks like Simon is bouncing now, paws crossed it clears quickly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top