? 6/12: Sammy - PMPS 170; +1 143; +2 99; +3 89; Help me decide?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

So last night when Sammy was close to 130 at PMPS I was very tempted to go back to the 1.0 unit dose that we had been giving a couple of days ago, but then I told myself that maybe he just needs to settle into this dose. I need to be okay with a PS that is a little higher if I don't want to stress about going too low. So I stuck with the .90 unit (1.05mm), and I was very happily surprised at +3.5 when he was at 66, I am sure this was probably his nadir, or somewhere right around there. Very nice number. He managed to hang out under 100 for most of the night.

His AMPS was a bit higher than yesterday, but again I am trying to be okay with a slightly higher PS number. I am hoping that when I test around +3 he will be comfortably under 100, I am not expecting 60's today, because I am pretty sure last nights number was helped out by the fluids, but if we do go to the 60's today I will be thrilled.

I don't have much going on today other that to get a few thing accomplished around the house. I have a VKN (Virtual Knit Night) tonight so that should be fun to sit down and knit with people from all over the world.

I hope everyone has a marvelous day.
 
Not exactly thrilled with the fact that he hasn't come down much by +3 this morning. I am REALLY going to try to keep telling myself that insulin is a hormone and the body might not react the same way EVERY Single day! I really want to try to hold my ground and hold this dose for awhile, but it is going to be extremely difficult if he doesn't come down under 100 today.

I guess I will just have to wait and see how the day pans out. Maybe he will surprise me and have a later nadir today. I probably won't test again until +6.
 
Uhg! Well, I couldn't wait, I was hoping that I would see a lower number of +5, but that didn't happen, it is higher, which can only mean that he is going to have a much higher day.

"do not increase, hold the dose, do not increase, hold the dose. do not increase, hold the dose"

I am going to keep telling myself this all day, because I know if we get to PMPS and he has a much higher number I am going to be very tempted to increase, but I know I should not base dosing on one crazy cycle, and he did get down to 66 last night on this dose with fluids.
 
With meter variance, Sammy's numbers are really very flat today...not his usual greens, but nothing to shake a stick at, either! He may just be having a bit of a mini-bounce from last night's 66. Or he's just being a cat. I would hold the dose, too...like you said, it is just one cycle!

Have a great day, Tina!
 
With meter variance, Sammy's numbers are really very flat today...not his usual greens, but nothing to shake a stick at, either! He may just be having a bit of a mini-bounce from last night's 66. Or he's just being a cat. I would hold the dose, too...like you said, it is just one cycle!

Have a great day, Tina!

Good point on both accounts, Pretty flat cycle so far and a possible bounce. He did drop from 127 to 66, I know it was at +3.5, but I guess there was a possibility that he was actually lower before that. Sometimes he does nadir at +2. And that is still a big drop no matter what. For all I know he dropped from 127 to the 60's in the first hour and then surfed. And I do know that a deep drop in a short amount of time can sometimes cause a bounce.

Thanks for setting me straight, it makes me feel a bit better.
 
Last edited:
I am not at all happy with the way this mornings cycle went. I hope it was some sort of bounce or a fur shot. I rarely have fur shots, but I guess it is entirely possible because I didn't sniff the area after the shot this morning.

I am just hoping that we will see some better numbers tonight. I will probably test every hour just in case he is going low within the first couple of hours and then spiking up. Honestly I don't think this is the case, but I would rather know then wonder.
 
So Sammy dropped like a rock tonight, and now I am wondering if we might need to reduce the dose because he is dropping so early. Any suggestions. I know typically you don't decrease until there is a low, but with the fact that we just switched over to the calipers I don't even know if we increase properly. Help me decide whether I should stick with this dose or decrease.
 
I don't think that is really that big of a drop and sometimes it can happen. If it were me, I'd leave the dose alone for now.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top