6-12 Pepper +9/208, +11/248, PMPS/246, +2/141, +4/103

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deb and Pepper

Member Since 2011
Made it all the way down/up the stairs this morning. The neuropathy is fading fast.

So I guess the next thing I need to get is the ketostix. Am I right in assuming I can also buy the human ones for him? Are there different sizes?


Yesterday
 
Re: 6-12 Pepper AMPS/213, +1/273, +3/272

Ketostix are one size fits all! You can pick them up at any pharmacy. The only thing to know is to follow the directions. It takes about 15 sec. after you get the sensor paper wet with urine to do the reading. Don't test and walk away for 5 min.

I'm not sure why you reduced Pepper's dose. If you were concerned about the amount of food, most cats start on a dose of approx. 1.0u. For now, I would not change the dose again for another 4 cycles. I suspect he will need more insulin but we can work the dose up slowly as his needs indicate.
 
Re: 6-12 Pepper AMPS/213, +1/273, +3/272, +5/255

Yup. You're going to have to stalk Pepper to the litter box. If you run into difficulty getting a sample, post something in your subject line. People have all different sorts of methods to catch a sample.

I want to edit what I said earlier. If this dose doesn't hold, you can increase sooner. Just post for feedback first.
 
Re: 6-12 Pepper AMPS/213, +1/273, +3/272, +5/255

If you have a Walmart in your town, in the pharmacy section, on the shelf with the diabetic meters, etc., you'll see ReliOn brand of ketone test strips. I know the ReliOn brand are cheaper than the Ketostix brand ones which the pharmacist has behind their counter. I found this out by asking the pharmacist if they had Ketostix and them charging me $17 when I could have just walked to the shelf behind me and got the ReliOn ones much cheaper!!

Pepper has a good surf going!!! Good luck with everything :-D
 
Re: 6-12 Pepper AMPS/213, +1/273, +3/272, +5/255

Milwaukee is the biggest city in Wisconsin so we have a ton of Walmarts here. Thanks for the info. I've saved a ton of money from all the tips I've gotten from everyone. Thanks to all of you.

I'm very proud of Pepper. He's been so cooperative and he's doing so good at getting back to himself. He even thought about jumping on my bed last night. Primed himself 3 times to make the jump, 3 times decided it was just too high...so I picked him up. :-D

He's also showing his stubborn streak again. He'll come to the bathroom when I call him (my test spot) but he stops just outside the door so I have to pick him up and bring him the rest of the way... :lol: It sure feels good getting him back.
 
What a wonderful report - it is good to read that his neuropathy is better: stairs and beds - awesome!

Very nice cycle tonight too - love that +4. GO PEPPER!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top