6/12 Napoleon AMPS 385 +5 313 +6 249 +8 273 +10 298

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole and Napoleon

Member Since 2010
Sorry haven't posted any condos this week - started new job.

AMPS - 385 2u
+5 313
+6 249
+8 273
+10 298

PMPS - 370 2u

+ 3 - 440 :sad: Must be bouncing from today's yellows
 
found your last condo from a couple days ago.
Previous Condo

Hey Nicole,

good luck with the new job!

and nice work on today's curve. I was looking at ur comments, and didn't see anything for ketones lately.
when u get a chance ok?

How's Napoleon been?
 
IMHO, Napoleon needs to go back up in dose. Gotta put away your PZI thinking cap. ;-) Napoleon hasn't gotten anywhere near numbers that are too low and would force a dose reduction.

The higher numbers on the day after the increase to 2.5 units are normal.

from http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations.

Even so, it has been 6 cycles on 2.0, so his numbers now would call for an increase to at least 2.25. He has plenty of room for an increase. Don't be fooled by that one blue cycle, it was nice but he hasn't gotten back there again, so it's time to move on in search of a dose that can get him there more consistently (Jazzy did the same thing to me, gave one blue cycle, and I fell for it too).
 
Hi Ronnie,

Thanks! I have been testing regularly for ketones. He has been negative thankfully.

Hi Libby,

What do you suggest? Should I go back up to 2.5 or even 3? Thanks!
 
I would go to 2.5 (the last dose before the reduction) and hold that for 4-6 cycles.

He could be bouncing from the yellow. The solution to overcoming the bounces is more insulin. I know that's different than the way you have to think with PZI.
 
Good luck with the dosecrease, Nancy. From all of the spreadsheets I've looked at, most cats new to Lantus have to go up and earn their dose decreases per the protocol. And then they start dropping. We've been up & down & up again, but I still feel like the Lantus protocol gives me more guidance and forces me to be patient. A hard thing for many of us. Good luck with your new job. I hope you enjoy it and are successful.
 
Thanks so much Ele. I feel the same with the patience. Either way I feel like Lantus is the best choice for us and we'll find our way eventually.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top