6/12 Mickey amps 263 +9 308 pmps 314

Status
Not open for further replies.
At least he's low 300s!

Trying to look on the bright side. If these steady, but not decreasing overall, numbers keep up, he probably just needs another increase. Some cats just need more. I know we speak a lot about low doses here and as we're seeing, they do work for some cats. Pamela's Tigger has been on doses over 4U and he does really well now on less than 3U but she had to keep raising to get him there.

Just wanted you to know you're not alone with needing to give more insulin.
 
You are right, look on the bright side. :mrgreen:
4 units is probably the ticket. Do you think it is because he is so fat? Through out all of this,this time around, he hasn't lost weight. He kind of looks like a pot belly piggy. (sorry Mickey)
 
I think the dose is just different for every cat. Probably cats with some pancreatic function need less and those without pancreatic function need more. Insulin resistance plays a part and seems to be somewhat reversible in cats. Raise the dose high enough to achieve lower numbers and you can "break through" that resistance. Then, as with Tigger, the dose can be lowered. Of course, non of that would apply to an acrocat.

Weight does play some role in it, at least in humans and probably in cats. When I got Jeddie he weighed about 8.75 lbs and was 1 month past diagnosis. I suspect he was diabetic a long time before anyone noticed. He was put on 1u of vetsulin and DM food and not retested at all (!!!) for a month. I had him off insulin after just one .5u dose of vetsulin. He ate like a pig because he was so thin and had been staving and started gaining the weight back. He is part Maine Coon and had weighed 13 lbs. After 3 months he had to go back on insulin, I think he was about 10 lbs then. His weight seems stable now at 12.5 lbs and he is still on insulin. So, it is what it is.

Bottom line is that YOU have to do what YOUR cat needs. With Mickey that seems to be systematically raising, letting it settle, etc.
 
Did we discuss acro at all? Having a pot bellied appearance is one of the physical signs, besides having large head, and paws and large facial features, nose especially. I think their features increase in size with acro though, some cats are just big. I had a U of I vet mention acromegaly when I first took Gandalf there with suspicion of hyper-T because he is a very large cat, but he's always been large. And he has a pot belly too :lol:

Don't want to complicate anything, he's at least responding to these doses, most acros need more than 3 or 4U before they even see decreases in BG.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top