kateliz
Member Since 2012
6/12
AMPS 241, 1U
+3 297
+5.5 273
+9 258
PMPS 274, 1U
Hi everyone,
I'm Kate, and my cat James was diagnosed with FD a few weeks ago (5/22). I had been reading on these boards for a while, but didn't post until the first time James' blood sugar went below 50. (See thread here. Everyone was such great help and Melissa encouraged me to start posting regularly over here to take advantage of all the great advice and support. I'm reading all I can, but I still have a lot to learn...
I had been giving James 1U Lantus twice a day, but upped it to 1.5U after 5 straight days of really high numbers. 5 days on 1.5U was enough to give that low reading on 6/8, and I backed him down to 1U twice daily again. I just got my order of syringes with half unit markings, so before today, any incremental doses were all eyeballed, and I wasn't confident that I would accurately estimate quarter doses.
He's been in the 200s and 300s for the last few days, but I'm hoping to see some progress after he makes up for the last skipped dose and settles in to this dosage. I also JUST got those new syringes so am now able to adjust by smaller amounts.
I'm working on a profile for James, but until I do, I'll give a quick overview here. James is a 9 year old orange and white tabby who was found wandering near an RV park, and was given to me almost 2 years ago when the couple who found him inherited another cat. In the time I have had him, he has never been able/willing to jump onto beds or high furniture, which I attributed to age, a possible injury from a dog bite during his time at the RV camp, and a horribly mangled declaw job on his front feet (don't know when/how that happened). He was diagnosed after being taken to the vet when I noticed he was no longer using the litterbox to defecate. He'd lost 4 pounds since his last vet visit 4 months ago (different vet), and after some conversations about his water intake and other litterbox habits, the vet immediately diagnosed him with diabetes (blood glucose of 470 at time of diagnosis!). He's never had a problem with ketones, all his other lab work was good, so we got a prescription for Lantus and ended up here! He has a VERY robust, unfussy appetite (feeding wet only: Friskies and Fancy Feast) and has never given me serious troubles with home testing (using a Relion Confirm). I'm so lucky that my first introduction to FD has been such a patient little test subject!
Just wanted to give a little introduction, and I hope to be posting here regularly!
Kate
Update: My internet got "accidentally" disconnected so I'll be checking in sporadically for the next day or so. This means I might be slow to update my spreadsheet as well
AMPS 241, 1U
+3 297
+5.5 273
+9 258
PMPS 274, 1U
Hi everyone,
I'm Kate, and my cat James was diagnosed with FD a few weeks ago (5/22). I had been reading on these boards for a while, but didn't post until the first time James' blood sugar went below 50. (See thread here. Everyone was such great help and Melissa encouraged me to start posting regularly over here to take advantage of all the great advice and support. I'm reading all I can, but I still have a lot to learn...
I had been giving James 1U Lantus twice a day, but upped it to 1.5U after 5 straight days of really high numbers. 5 days on 1.5U was enough to give that low reading on 6/8, and I backed him down to 1U twice daily again. I just got my order of syringes with half unit markings, so before today, any incremental doses were all eyeballed, and I wasn't confident that I would accurately estimate quarter doses.
He's been in the 200s and 300s for the last few days, but I'm hoping to see some progress after he makes up for the last skipped dose and settles in to this dosage. I also JUST got those new syringes so am now able to adjust by smaller amounts.
I'm working on a profile for James, but until I do, I'll give a quick overview here. James is a 9 year old orange and white tabby who was found wandering near an RV park, and was given to me almost 2 years ago when the couple who found him inherited another cat. In the time I have had him, he has never been able/willing to jump onto beds or high furniture, which I attributed to age, a possible injury from a dog bite during his time at the RV camp, and a horribly mangled declaw job on his front feet (don't know when/how that happened). He was diagnosed after being taken to the vet when I noticed he was no longer using the litterbox to defecate. He'd lost 4 pounds since his last vet visit 4 months ago (different vet), and after some conversations about his water intake and other litterbox habits, the vet immediately diagnosed him with diabetes (blood glucose of 470 at time of diagnosis!). He's never had a problem with ketones, all his other lab work was good, so we got a prescription for Lantus and ended up here! He has a VERY robust, unfussy appetite (feeding wet only: Friskies and Fancy Feast) and has never given me serious troubles with home testing (using a Relion Confirm). I'm so lucky that my first introduction to FD has been such a patient little test subject!
Just wanted to give a little introduction, and I hope to be posting here regularly!
Kate
Update: My internet got "accidentally" disconnected so I'll be checking in sporadically for the next day or so. This means I might be slow to update my spreadsheet as well