Heike & BInie
Very Active Member
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-10-binie-amps-266-3-244-5-92.290996/
Good evening,
we have quite some action going on. I think it goes in the right direction but it is also a bit scary because I have to be out of the house for almost full 12 hours tomorrow.
First of all I have to mention, that the spreadsheet is not 100 % full, especially in the pm cycles, because I can not upload from the reader anymore. I already contacted Abbott and I hope they fix the problem. During the day I took notes so there is quite some data. The nights have been high and flat with yellow nadirs, so there was not much to see anyway.
Yesterday I was again surprised what the reduced dose of 2.5 IU can do. She went down quickly and steep and I was feeding her a little high carb every hour or more often if needed to flatten the curve a little. Anyhow she went quite low on the libre (81) but again I did not test on the handheld because her mood is so fragile at the moment and I concentrate on giving the shots which is difficult enough. So I know it was again against the SLGS rules but because I am out tomorrow and because it felt wrong to feed so much high carb (really hc, between 20 and 30 % and a very high carb snack of 50 % at +5) I reduced again last night to 2.25 IU. She bounced during the night and was red pink and yellow.
Today I was only feeding her low carb (4,5 %) and except for the breakfast I didn't do any hand-feeding to see how it develops if I don't intervene. She didn't eat much during the day and went down to 75 and surfed between this number and 80 for almost an hour before she went up again.
My question: Is it safe to give 2.25 IU tomorrow if I leave out high carb for her and give hc for breakfast? A friend will come in at +4 and at +8 to look after Binie but I don't want to bring her in an akward situation. Which number can I still shoot safely with that dose and when should I rather give a reduced dose? Thank you so much for feedback!
@Wendy&Neko
I hope I don't annoy anyone by not sticking stricktly to the SLGS-rules. The ear pricks are just so difficult at the moment.
And besides that, I am such a helicopter mum! 


I hope everyone has a safe and relaxed evening!


Good evening,
we have quite some action going on. I think it goes in the right direction but it is also a bit scary because I have to be out of the house for almost full 12 hours tomorrow.
First of all I have to mention, that the spreadsheet is not 100 % full, especially in the pm cycles, because I can not upload from the reader anymore. I already contacted Abbott and I hope they fix the problem. During the day I took notes so there is quite some data. The nights have been high and flat with yellow nadirs, so there was not much to see anyway.
Yesterday I was again surprised what the reduced dose of 2.5 IU can do. She went down quickly and steep and I was feeding her a little high carb every hour or more often if needed to flatten the curve a little. Anyhow she went quite low on the libre (81) but again I did not test on the handheld because her mood is so fragile at the moment and I concentrate on giving the shots which is difficult enough. So I know it was again against the SLGS rules but because I am out tomorrow and because it felt wrong to feed so much high carb (really hc, between 20 and 30 % and a very high carb snack of 50 % at +5) I reduced again last night to 2.25 IU. She bounced during the night and was red pink and yellow.
Today I was only feeding her low carb (4,5 %) and except for the breakfast I didn't do any hand-feeding to see how it develops if I don't intervene. She didn't eat much during the day and went down to 75 and surfed between this number and 80 for almost an hour before she went up again.
My question: Is it safe to give 2.25 IU tomorrow if I leave out high carb for her and give hc for breakfast? A friend will come in at +4 and at +8 to look after Binie but I don't want to bring her in an akward situation. Which number can I still shoot safely with that dose and when should I rather give a reduced dose? Thank you so much for feedback!
@Wendy&Neko
I hope I don't annoy anyone by not sticking stricktly to the SLGS-rules. The ear pricks are just so difficult at the moment.




I hope everyone has a safe and relaxed evening!


