6/12 Autumn amps~234, +6~74, +9~207, pmps~209

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Slight bounce last night but looks like she cleared it fairly quickly. Those greens still seem to scare her liver some. :lol:

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 6/12 Autumn amps~234, +6~74

She makes it look so easy. :smile:

Still a little bouncing. I can't believe you shrugged off that 24 last week. You didn't do anything but the dose reduction? What meter was that? The bounce from that wasn't as bad as I'd expect.

Maybe I'm too paranoid about hypo. Looks like she didn't start getting much action until you got up to 1.25U, seems like I'm seeing that on some others.

Poor Chip I wonder if he'll survive this. :-|

Can he really just sit there red and black for days on end? And I used to worry about flat pink. Those were the days. Yellow was just a dream.

I wonder if it's really worth the huge hassle of switching to Levemir? The hands off vet *might* go for it or he *might* think I'm crazy (and would he be wrong?) and be less cooperative in the future when I might really need something.

My lifelong vet who wouldn't budge on the Lantus (not even a millimeter) said I would probably kill Chip with all these crazy internet theories. I figured it was just the stock answer because she wasn't familiar with Lantus and of course she is very threatened by 1-800-PET-MEDS. But maybe she knows more than I thought. Looking at it now, I don't see how any vet could expect compliance on this routine.

To add insult to injury if I do kill him, she'll hear about it. I know more than 50 family and friends who still go there and there is no way she won't hear about it. :sad:

(Hey Chip ya hear that?)
 
Re: 6/12 Autumn amps~234, +6~74, +9~207

Dale 'n' Chip said:
You didn't do anything but the dose reduction?

Remember Autumn is my third diabetic...lol So nope I don't panic much now with a low number, and I also don't use standard protocol either....Ya I know I'm a rebel. ohmygod_smile All I did when she hit that 24 was just set a dish of her regular low carb food and let her eat. I did test her within a couple of hours to make sure she was going up and I did watch her like a hawk to make sure she wasn't displaying any signs of hypo. But if they are non-symptomatic I just don't pull out the Karo or the high carb stuff...because I just don't like fighting the carb bounce later..now if she had been walking drunk or glassy eyed, etc then yeah I would have gone into intervention mode...but Musette taught me not to freak out when I see a low number with no symptoms of hypo.

As for what meter. I use a Bayer Contour USB for Autumn...I actually have 3 meters here..Maxwell's is a Relion Mirco, Musette's was a regular Bayer Contour and then there is Autumn's meter.

Another thing to remember is that Autumn spent 10+ months before I adopted her with no treatment at all, so I expect her to bounce a little when she hits a blue or green number since her body got so use to thinking that 500s were normal. But I also learned from Musette that sometimes you have to keep going up until you find a break-through dose and then you start reducing. Especially if the cat has gotten use to being high for a long period of time. I also learned that at least with my two diabetic girls they take longer that what is suggested in "tight regulation" to settle into a dose. Probably because they were adopted as diabetics that were going untreated for a long period of time or only partly treated. So they tend to bounce more on non-super low numbers...

At this point with Autumn I think I may have stock in 'patience pants' :lol:

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 6/12 Autumn amps~234, +6~74, +9~207

With the Bayer Contour USB the 24 probably was a 24, but perhaps add 30 to get Alphatrack, so 54.

The lowest I ever saw was 34 on the relion.

I'm sure I freak out easily, she did just fine with that.

But if she ever did have symptoms it's harder to raise and keep up from Lantus. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 6/12 Autumn amps~234, +6~74, +9~207

You know it is funny and perhaps just my particular cats but I have never had a problem getting them to come up and stay up without HC food or Karo. In the beginning I would freak at a low number and break out the gravy etc...and then they would fight those extra carbs for days. Of course never had a problem with Maxwell since I gave him a total of two shots after I got him home...lol So really can't say how he would have handled a low number but with both girls it has always been just easier to feed their regular food and watch them. But then again the only way I have ever know either was low was with the meter.

And after the nightmare of Musette's going from 400 to 34 in 3 hours and then right back up again to the 400s...Autumn's itty bitty liver freak outs are like a walk in the park on a nice spring day. At least with Autumn she seems to have read the manual on how to be a proper Sugarcat, Musette just firmly refused to do anything of the kind and was always wanting to do things her way. God I miss that Bouncy Stubborn Fluffy Princess! Trying to get her regulated was a living nightmare but she was still the sweetest little girl ever. Autumn is pretty easy when it comes to being a sugarcat, but she is all tortietude, she is a pretty thing or at least she is going to be once her fur comes back in from being shaved because of all her mats, but she isn't nearly as easy to love as Musette and Maxwell were/are. Of course I do remember those early days with Musette too when I was forever grateful that she came to me like Autumn already front declawed because I was pretty sure if she hadn't been I would have needed facial reconstruction surgery...it wasn't until we switched her to Levemir that she became truly cuddly. So maybe in time Autumn too will become a snuggle bug, but right now she is pretty loves on her own terms, she isn't really the lap kitty that Musette was or the bed snuggler that Maxwell is. But then again Autumn was just a farm cat, where as both Musette and Maxwell were someone's pet before they got sick. And Maxwell knows what it is like to never truly have a home of his own for long as he was a Katrina rescue, but I think it is pretty safe to say that whoever had him before the hurricane loved him like life itself, because he knows how to be loved and return love, and he has impeccable southern gentleman manners. Musette had to learn what it was like to be loved on, even though she had been with the same family for 11 years before they dumped her to be killed. And Autumn, not real sure what her true backstory is, other than she went straight from her original owner to transport to me, but judging by the cat that arrived here she was paid much attention to....I can understand her owner not being able to give shots, but some of the junk that I found in her mats and how badly she was matted makes me think no one every really petted or cuddled her much, you just couldn't and not have your heart break for her condition.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top