6/12 Ann & Maggie AMPS 118; +6 74; +8 132 - Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Very Active Member
Hi, I hope nothing is wrong with Maggie. She urinated just a little in two spots on the living room carpet, not much, more of a dribble. She's just getting over a UTI, so I hope this isn't a sign of something else! Her numbers are good, but then when she had the UTI, her numbers were also nice/not out of range.

Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16928
 
Re: 6/12 Ann & Maggie AMPS 118

I haven't been on for a while so just ignore this question if you answered it before...did they do a culture of the urine to make sure the antibiotic is the right one for her infection? Peeing outside the litterbox is such a classic sign it would make me wonder if she still has the infection...

I am sure others will chime in with their thoughts too.

Have a good weekend!
 
Re: 6/12 Ann & Maggie AMPS 118

Amy and Six said:
I haven't been on for a while so just ignore this question if you answered it before...did they do a culture of the urine to make sure the antibiotic is the right one for her infection? Peeing outside the litterbox is such a classic sign it would make me wonder if she still has the infection...

I am sure others will chime in with their thoughts too.

Have a good weekend!

Hi Amy,
Thanks. I hope you and Six have a good weekend, too. Yes, they did a culture to make sure the antibiotic was right. She also had a second culture to make sure the infection was gone, which it was, so hopefully this is a one time thing where she couldn't make it to the litter box.
 
Re: 6/12 Ann & Maggie AMPS 118

Hi Ann and Maggie! I hope nothing is wrong with her, I would hate to see Maggie have to take ab again! Hopefully it was just a mishap! Just keep an eye on her, as I am sure you will. Hope you are doing well Ann!!
 
Re: 6/12 Ann & Maggie AMPS 118; +6 74 - Question

Maggie is 74 at +6, and I remember Libby saying that with the Alpha Trak, this would be considered low enough for a dosecrease. I'm probably misstating exactly what she said, but hopefully if she's around, she'll see it. I'll have to search for the post.
 
Re: 6/12 Ann & Maggie AMPS 118; +6 74 - Question

Hi Ann

just a thought,
is the litter box clean to her liking?
I do get the occasional surprise in the bath tub of all places, nailbite_smile go check the box, opps :roll:
my cats are like that, and always when I forget to upkeep their precious box....so glad they know how to use the bath tub.
 
Re: 6/12 Ann & Maggie AMPS 118; +6 74 - Question

Ronnie & Luna said:
Hi Ann

just a thought,
is the litter box clean to her liking?
I do get the occasional surprise in the bath tub of all places, nailbite_smile go check the box, opps :roll:
my cats are like that, and always when I forget to upkeep their precious box....so glad they know how to use the bath tub.

Now that's a thought! I cleaned it before I went to bed. When I got up, there was a big urine clumpy. She has two boxes from when I had my GA kitty. One box she urinates, and other one is for poop! Oh my, a surprise in the bathtub how funny. Well, it's easier to clean up, huh! :lol:
 
Re: 6/12 Ann & Maggie AMPS 118; +6 74 - Question

Okay, I found Libby's post. It was on my June 6 condo.

I was reading through your last few condos and saw that you are using the AlphaTrak meter. Interestingly, in the latest version of our protocols, Dr. Rand does note a difference in readings between the AlphaTrak and human meters. In the new protocol, Dr. Rand suggests doing dose reductions at 80 for cats using an AlphaTrak.Libby and Lucy (and foster kitty Jazzy)

So does this qualify Maggie for a dosecrease? I'm already doing a skinny .50 unit, so it wouldn't take much to get to a .25! Is this too soon?
 
Re: 6/12 Ann & Maggie AMPS 118; +6 74 - Question

The AlphaTrack uses a different metric than human meters. The reference is in the Rand protocol (see the dosing protocol sticky). I do think you can bring the dose down to 0.25.

You might want to put a line in your signature that you're using an AlphaTrack. It will help me/us to remember.
 
Re: 6/12 Ann & Maggie AMPS 118; +6 74 - Question

Yeah.... very important thing to add to your signature! Well done! :thumbup
I agree with Sienne that 0.25 is where you would go next.
 
Re: 6/12 Ann & Maggie AMPS 118; +6 74 - Question

Helene & Tizon said:
Yeah.... very important thing to add to your signature! Well done! :thumbup
I agree with Sienne that 0.25 is where you would go next.

Thanks, this is exciting! I guess most here are using the human meter.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top