6/11Trey Pmps 236BG +8

Status
Not open for further replies.
Tray Amp 9am 172BG

YEAH that worked ok Waiting Trey was at 126/7 so we wait for an 30 minutes and it is 133/7.4BG so now we will wait ??????
 
Re: Trey Amp 126/7 Fri

kath,
do you have the hypo sheets printed out?
I still say the 3units is too high and if you give Trey that amount, you may find Trey goes very low. When is your vet office open today? Do you have the vet number handy in case you need to call there?

Will see what the others have to say, but whatever you shoot, please test again at +1 and +2, because you need to know that Trey is staying in safe numbers.

Edited to add:

Kath can you edit your subject to read the following

6/7 Trey amps 126 shot advice
 
Re: 6/7 Trey Amps 126 shot advice

Hi Kath,
I replied to your pm but please stay online so that people here can help you with advice or any problems.

Please confirm that you have not fed Trey yet and have not given any shot yet.
 
Re: 6/7 Trey Amps 126 shot advice

Hi Kath,
OK be sure to post your +1 as soon as you know. Please also get a +2 and maybe a +3, just to be sure Trey does not drop too low too early in the cycle.

On your ss, you need to put that 165 into the first column of your ss because 165 is your amps. in the U column you need to put the time that you shot the 3u. Put something like 740am/3unit so that it stays with the same pattern you have been using to record Trey's numbers.
The 3rd column is for your +1 number and you can put the number you get into that column when you test at 8am.
What is the exact time that you shot the 3u? That time is important because your +1 number is 1 hour after the time you shot the insulin.

Just keep an eye on Trey, and post if you see anything odd for Trey. When you test each time, please update your ss and post in this condo, changing the subject line to something like 6/7 Trey Amps 165 +1 ###
What you can do while you are waiting to test again, you can edit your subject line to read 6/7 Trey Amps 165 because you did not shoot when Trey was at 126, you were smart and waited and retested. The amps number should be the test you got just before you give the shot.
 
Re: 6/7 Trey Amps 126 shot advice

Good morning Kath......Trey is getting some very nice numbers. I know there is conflicting advice with what dose we are suggesting and the dose your vet is suggesting.
You have had a couple of blue numbers at shot time which is good but you do not have data to shoot low numbers especially without any mid cycle spot checks. Usually before anyone shoots a blue number they have more tests to support shooting low.
Based on blue preshots I am guessing that Trey is going lower during the cycle and having no idea how low makes me a little concerned that 3 units is too high. I am not trying to upset you because you are doing a great job with Trey and this is all so overwhelming at first.

You certainly did the right thing by stalling....which is great. :mrgreen:

Could you also put the time you shot in the comments section of the spreadsheet when you get a chance otherwise it appears that you gave Trey his shot at +2 which would be 2 hours after normal shot time. I know the spreadsheets can be confusing when you are trying to add times that are not on there so what I do in that case is add it to the comments section.
 
Re: 6/7 Trey Amps 126 shot advice

Good morning Kath. I can't say much different than everyone else has said. We are all worried that the 3 units is too much for Trey. If you are around we all encourage you to get a +1 +2 +3 and as many other spot check as possible. You shot a low ps BG so we want to make sure that Trey safes safe. Okay? Please keep your ss updates as well. When you are not online we can at least check the ss to see how things are doing.
 
Re: 6/7 Trey Amps 126 shot advice

Oh I see -- numbers are in +2 box but it means +12.75, yes? Shoot 2u and stick with 2u -- 3u is too much for this kitty.
 
Re: 6/7 Trey Amps 126 shot advice

D and Noisy said:
Oh I see -- numbers are in +2 box but it means +12.75, yes? Shoot 2u and stick with 2u -- 3u is too much for this kitty.

D - I think she already shot 3u after his last BG reading
 
Re: 6/7 Trey Amps 126 shot advice

Thanks Paige. I was racing through the thread cause I didn't want her to shoot 3u.
Trey, Can you take "shot advice" off your header?
Be back in a bit.
 
Re: 6/7 Trey Amps 126 shot advice

This morning I was thinking about you guys because it reminded me that I'd like to created a series of questions that people can ask there vet about Lantus, to determine if they really do understand Lantus. I can't tell you how many times I have seen bad vet advise regarding dosing Lantus. I came here shooting 11u BID of a hard hitting insulin, vet wanted me to go to 13u. How my cat lived I don't know, I wasn't testing BGs. FDMB saved my (very special) cat's life. Lots of us have had to learn the hard way but once we learn it -- we really want to share it with newcomers like Trey. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/7 Trey Amps 126 shot advice

I see the +2 BG 172. That is a perfectly nice number for onset to start with.
You've got good numbers floating around on the SS. IMO 2u consistently would get you on a nice safe path.
 
Re: 6/7 Trey Amps 173+2

I am tring to fix ss but right now Trey is my concern he seems to be doing fine.....Tested 6:50am he was 126/,7:20am he was 133/, 8:00am he is 151/Bg. gave 3units at 9:00am he is 172BG we will test again at 11:00am once on the way up can he still go low again in that 12 hours. Sorry but can`t do ss right now hope you can understand what I am doing Thanks Kath DH no help at all grrr trying to be calm
 
Re: 6/7 Trey Amps 173+2

Yes, I got what your doing on SS -- don't worry about it, you can fix that later.
It is great you are getting so many tests in -- it really helps us see what is going on with that cute guy.
These are great numbers -- my issue with 3u is there is no history for getting to the 3u which is a higher than normal starting dose. 3u "might" be his dose but starting out at 3u from nowhere is not something I would want a kitty to do. IMO, Trey is very responsive to Lantus, meaning he should be tried out at a lower dose.
 
Re: 6/7 Trey Amps 173+2

Dose 3 units I guess has got to do with his weight and his BG being at 26 BG when bloos work was done that is my understanding both vets agree on this confused_cat :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/7 Trey Amps 173+2

housecats4 said:
Dose 3 units I guess has got to do with his weight and his BG being at 26 BG when bloos work was done that is my understanding both vets agree on this confused_cat :mrgreen:

Did you miss a third digit? He wasn't BG 26 was he? Coming back with the protocol we use, for you.
What was his diagnosis BG number 200s? Give us more info on that.
 
Re: 6/7 Trey Amps 173+2

D and Noisy said:
housecats4 said:
Dose 3 units I guess has got to do with his weight and his BG being at 26 BG when bloos work was done that is my understanding both vets agree on this confused_cat :mrgreen:

Did you miss a third digit? He wasn't BG 26 was he? Coming back with the protocol we use, for you.
What was his diagnosis BG number 200s? Give us more info on that.

D - Kath uses Canadian numbers so the 26 would be 468 (26*18)
Also, Kath is in PEI which is one hour ahead. I know we use the +1 but to make it a bit easier. Plus vet started off at the 3u. The dose was not worked up.

Kath - great with the testing and the stall this morning, so you shot 2 hours late. Your PM shot will also need to be 2 hours late until you can get back on track. Lets see how today goes and ask later on as to what time and how much you should shoot.

BTW, today is 6/11 so you should edit your subject line again. Also, the AMPS is really 14 hours from your shot of last night so you can, if you want say at +14
 
Re: 6/7 Trey Amps 173+2

LOL on the 26 -- I should have looked more careful. LOL#2 -- for a second I thought, did a vet dx a cat FD with numbers in the 200s?
Thanks everyone for helping me read. I'm rushing cause I have to go do something but Trey seems to have grabbed my attention. OK, I'll be back later after I learn to read. ;-)

In the meantime, ask Trey if he's read these yet.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19592286
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

How much does Trey weight?
 
Re: 6/7 Trey Amps 173+2

Kath, your vet said to stay at 3units for 7 days, right?

I am very glad that you are testing often because Trey can start to drop even lower now.

My Shadoe often does not start to drop until +3 or or a bit later.
My Oliver often does not start moving until maybe +4 or later, but he's an odd one with a late nadir.

Anyways, so far you are looking ok in BLUE numbers, but it could be due to foods that Trey ate after you gave him his shot of 3u. What time was the shot, exactly? I think you tested at 7am and 730am, then you say 40min. does that mean you shot the 3u at 740 am, and then tested at 8am?

The times are pretty important so if you can post the time you gave the shot it would be most helpful to everyone.


whoops, sorry just saw your post.

that's perfect! if you give the times like you did, then the spreadsheet can be fixed up later.
For sure, Trey is the number one concern, so just keep testing and posting here and everyone will be able to help you with any sort of issue, ok?

I think you are doing amazing right now, so don't you worry.
 
Re: 6/7 Trey Amps 173+2

Kath:

There is a calculation to figure out the starting dose of Lantus that's based on weight. You can find this in the Tight Regulation Protocol.

dose = 0.25 x kilograms ideal weight​

For a dose of 3.0u, Trey would need to weigh 12kg or 26.5 lbs. Trey may be a big cat, but I doubt that he's that big. Perhaps this helps you to understand why we are concerned over the 3.0u dose. Many vets are not overly familiar with Lantus. They are familiar with other insulin and base their thinking on these other types of insulin. Unfortunately, Lantus really does require a different approach. We encourage people to start low so you can safely work the dose up to what will be an ideal level and not potentially miss that "best" dose.

All of that said, just keep an eye on Trey's numbers. If they drop too low, we will help you manage the lower numbers. Just post if you are unsure what to do. There are a lot of people here who will lend a hand.
 
Re: 6/7 Trey Amps 173+2

Good morning Kath!

how is Trey doing?
you've had quite a morning - just know others are looking in on you.
:razz:
 
Re: 6/11 Trey Amps 142BG

Tested at 11:10 trey is now 142/7.9BG gave 1/2 can FF He is getting really fed up with us but oh well LOL Kath DH is fed up with me too LOL
 
Re: 6/7 Trey Amps 173+2

thank u for the update Kath!
dont worry - nobody here fed up wit ya :-D just keep us posted and give urself a big pat on the back, you're doing good!

Tell DH - even thou we dont know you - we care about u and your kitty!
 
Re: 6/11Trey Amps 142BG +4

I say Thank you all but DH would most likely say (I care) He really does just don`t like pricking Trey`s ear LOL Trey seem to be doing ok had a pee,poop and ate all in 20 minutes I was doing the littler when he came to make his deposit little sweetie LOL
 
Re: 6/11Trey Amps 142BG +4

ok, lemme give this a try, bear with me....

126 at 7am (+12)
133 at 7.30 (+12.5)

you shot 3u at 8am (+13 - right everyone?)

151 at 9am (which would be your +1, one hour after shot)
172 at 10am (+2)
142 at 12pm? (+4) I think

Im hoping others will check it out, plus you'll have to adjust your time for the evening shot to make up for the stall this morning.


can you spot check Trey around +6? thats six hours after AMPS shot.
 
Re: 6/11Trey Amps 142BG +4

kath,Your PMps is at +11? You have only 11squares on SS!
You are doing wonderful job with Trey!
Remember,we were all newbies one time!
 
Re: 6/11Trey Amps 142BG +4

Kath,

Welcome, you have come to the best place for your cats health. I agree with all the advice that you been given.

I invite you to take a look at my kittys Sara's ss. When she was put on Lantus she was in the 300's [even occasional 400's]. I started posting everyday and went with the advice of the people of this board.

She is now aprx 60's-lower 100's. She is now down to a skinny 1/2 unit. I am happy, DH is happy and most of all Sara is happy. :-D

I know you've heard it before, but If not for the people of this board I don't know what would have happened to her.

Tell your DH that my cat sometimes even sleeps through some tests. So I figure it can't be hurting her that much. Their are times she just does'nt want to be bothered by it. Its just more of an annoyance. So tell him that you two are not hurting Trey when you take a blood test. Make sure you use a tissue after and apply a little pressure for 5-10 seconds to the site. That will help with bruising.

I know in the begining its a lot of stress. Believe me I remember, but you are doing great. You'll see improvment.

Good luck and if you have any questions ask.

jan and sara
 
Re: 6/11Trey Amps 142BG +4

Hi Kath,

glad you are still posting :) and especially glad to see you are testing!!

Honestly, I like seeing the numbers in the 100 range - that's very nice.:)
But just to make sure you understand, it usually takes a few days of consistent dosing for dose to settle in and show you what it really can do -- which means you are coming to a point when Trey's numbers may drop lower than they are now. I don't say that to scare you - because it's not neccesarily bad... But you do need to be prepared.
The lower numbers may be okay... or they may be too low - and you need to be testing enough to catch them if they are too low. And Low numbers can come at night - We can ALL promise you that!!

Please test as much as you can - No one knows for sure that your vet is wrong about this dose - not even your vet... Our concern is only to keep Trey safe.
And the reason we have all suggested starting lower is so that you can comfortably learn what his response to insulin will be.
No one thinks poorly of you for following your vets advice - we just hope that you insure Trey's safety by testing like crazy till you find out for sure if he's right :)

My cat (weighing just over 10lbs when dx.) was started on 1.5 units of Lantus (with 3 vets agreeing on the dose because he had a BG of 399) He spent the first 2 and a half days in the 200's and dipping down into the higher 100's and then suddenly dropped to 32 on the 3rd night.
-- just keep testing - we're watching out for you. :)
 
Hello so sorry house full of company and my granddaughter 9 months was here.. Any way got a test at 3:00pm 6 hours after shot 236BG Trey had supper at 5:00pm and will have shot at 8pm Will test before shot bye for now Kath nailbite_smile :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/11Trey Pmps 236BG +8 need advice

8 pm Trey is due for shot on his numbers what dose should I give . Base on numbers of ss and I don`t want to be giving him 3 units so what should I do Please let me know before 8 pm Help LOL kath
 
you have a comment on your spreadsheet about another shot at 12am....YOU MEAN A TEST right? you dont wanna be shooting insulin again until AMPS time tomorrow...pretty sure u mean a test at midnite tonight.

just checking.
 
oh one more thing....earlier in this thread, D&Noisy recommend 2units tonight....but we need to see the preshot BG number first.
 
I think 2u would be good. It will take the potential danger element away and if he ends up needing 3u, you will have gotten there with some history of needing to be there (very important).
 
I'm excited about your Trey, I think he's going to do real well. :mrgreen:
Running out to dinner, hope you guys have a good night.
 
I'm kinda confused. Isn't the 236 your AM +8? If so, you have it in the +9 column on your SS (remember, there's an extra column) and you have it listed as PMPS in your subject line.

You haven't gotten your PM Pre-Shot yet -- or I don't think you have. I'm not sure what the hour is for the 271 you noted.

The 2.0u that D suggested sounds fine. Please get a test in at +2 after you shoot. Trey still has more than 2u of Lantus in the shed.
 
Kath



I'm looking at your spreadsheet and really want to help clear it up

+8 you got a 236...so that needs to be moved over to the +8 column....if u scroll up to the top of SS where the colour bar is, you will see +1 to +11

you have one extra column there - in between +7 and +8, you need to delete that column.


now - 271 test: at what + hour was that?

is it 9pm for you now?
I know ur an hour ahead of me, its 8pm here...so you are about to shoot for 9pm your time, correct?

when did you take the 271 reading? an hour ago? if so - then that goes under +11 column.
If you're going to shoot now, you need a preshot test, so you will have to test again - this would be your +12 PMPS number.

does that makes sense? just trying to help clear up the SS, so numbers are accurate ok?
 
Hi :)
pesky me again :razz:

just one more thing on SS
did you take that 271 half an hour before shooting insulin? or close to it?

if yes, then you'll need to put that number into the +11 cell and call it +11.5/271
Did you test Trey just before giving his shot?

how is Trey tonight? Things going alright?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top