6/11 Nikki PMPS 138; +3 226; +5.5 272

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexis & Nikki (GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo

Morning! Looks like we're still trying to clear that bounce from green to red yesterday. I probably should have shot 1 unit, but I get nervous about shooting below 150 or so when I'm not home to test. Nikki was starving last night but was perky and played with her mouse toy so all is well.

Have a great Tuesday!

Edited to add: I should hold the 1.75 through this bounce, right? I had planned on holding it until at least tomorrow to see what she looked like, as tonight would have been 8 cycles on the 1.75u. I was thinking I might need to go back up to 2u until I got that low yesterday. Now I'm not sure if I should hold a few more cycles and see what happens...

I understand we're somewhat unique due to her food requirements, so if people aren't comfortable weighing in, I get it! :-D She's doing well on the added raw food. I want to hold her at about 1 tbs a day until I see how she does. I've cut her z/d back slightly to accommodate the extra calories from the raw.
 
Re: 6/11 Nikki AMPS 400

Hello. I saw your post over in the tr so I thought I would come visit.
Hmmm. I'll have to go point you out to someone who advises on dosing.
Your count would start over with that reduced shot yesterday.

I'll go tag someone to come take a look.
 
Re: 6/11 Nikki AMPS 400

Thanks for visiting! We're sort of in a strange place, as I'm tentatively hoping I can get miss thing onto a lower carb food. I'm still a little hesitant to believe that she might actually be able to handle a food change, as all of her various foods in the past eventually caused gastric upset. :? I want to give a small amount for another week or two and then I'll have to start the dosing dance all over again. :roll:

In the meantime, I'm just hoping to get back down to those nice blues!
 
Re: 6/11 Nikki AMPS 400

Rhiannon asked me to stop by.

It sounds like you're doing a slow transition to low carb food? Some kitties are pretty stubborn so taking it slow makes sense. I'm also going to assume that someone directed you to take a look at Dr. Lisa's site on feline nutrition. She has a good section on transitioning food even for cats that have medical issues.

As for dose, it looks to me like Nikki took a BIG bounce off of the green AMPS yesterday. Between the low numbers and a reduced dose, the high numbers are no surprise. It looks like Nikki was seeing some good numbers on the 1.75u. On TR, we typically encourage people to stick with a dose that's regularly bringing nadirs into under 200 for at least 5 days. When you skip a shot or reduce the dose, the count starts over. At this point, I'd suggest waiting for the bounce to clear and seeing where Nikki's numbers are and then decide if you need to increase.
 
Re: 6/11 Nikki AMPS 400

Hi, thanks for stopping by! I appreciate the input, somehow I missed that the count starts over after a reduced dose. That's good info to have! I love Dr Lisa's site, and am trying a dehydrated raw food that comes in about about 10% carbs. A little higher than optimal, but compared to the 34% she's eating now I think it will be a big improvement. Currently I'm just giving her about a tablespoon a day, to see if it triggers her diarrhea. We've had issues in the past although my vet hasn't been able to pin down exactly what medical issue we're facing. It's super frustrating, but I'm happy to say that she's doing the best right now that she's been since last August. :-D Cats really must have 9 lives! So far she's done really well with the little bit of raw I'm giving her and if she can maintain that for another week or so, I'll try to start a switch.

Right now we're chasing her carb heavy food with insulin, so her numbers are a bit wonky. I appreciate the input on holding the dose. That was my instinct, but it's nice to have a more experienced set of eyes to confirm.
 
Re: 6/11 Nikki AMPS 400; PMPS 138

I guess Miss Thing cleared her bounce, hurrah! :-D I've shot a full dose on a 162, and she typically rises a lot because of her food, so I knocked a tiny drop off the 1.75 for tonight. Running to the vet for syringe prescription but will be home to catch a +3 and +6 tonight. So happy to see the blues but this makes me nervous! nailbite_smile
 
Re: 6/11 Nikki AMPS 400; PMPS 138

Nice PMPS. You might want to start with a +2 for this cycle ;-)
 
Re: 6/11 Nikki AMPS 400; PMPS 138

Thanks! It's good to see blue again. Nikki is on an HC food at the moment for her gastro issues, so she's typically still rising at +2. Will definitely get a +3 as it gives me a decent idea of where she's at. With her I worry more about her late cycle, as food has worn off by +7 and she's usually dropping from then until AMPS. It certainly makes life interesting! :-D
 
Re: 6/11 Nikki AMPS 400; PMPS 138; +3 226

Ok so far. I'm pretty sure she'd be on a much lower dose of insulin if I could get her off the HC. We're getting there though. Going to plan on a +6 or +7 I think. I should probably try for a +10 if I can wake up... :? :sad:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top