You're right - I went downstairs and he just looked at me like "you got any more of those PureBites?"
I only have a few questions, if they're better suited for acro forum let me know.
I found Dashas
comparison of the treatments, really helpful (though she mistakenly cited source 11 in the cons for cabergoline, should be source 12, it confused me for a minute - but I'll mention that in the thread).Though I maybe wish I hadn't seen the life expectancy info...
There two cab papers she cited appear contradictory - one out of Argentina saying it does reduce IGF-1 [16 in her sources], the other saying it does not [12]. And I don't have the spoons right now to really go in and analyze why they're different conclusions.
Do you happen to know why?
As I'm sure you know all too well, it's balancing finances and quality of life. I'm not satisfied treating only the DM while everything else progresses. Surgery is out for us. Radiation I'm thinking about but will need quote.
I rather suspect he will be among the first, if not the first, IAA and/or acro cat my vet has had, but I do trust him to work with me. I'm pretty sure the reason he keeps calling at 9pm is because he gets off work and just researches.
What changes with "preventive medicine" (it's late and my brain isn't giving me the right phrase)? Whereas before I'd take him in once a year for a physical exam and maybe bloodwork, what else is there to consider now?
I'm very much a "head down, do what needs to be done, get it done, keep emotions aside" sort of person...but I admit tonight I feel overwhelmed. Two kids under two, a pandemic, a diabetic/IAA/acro cat, and a senior dog with her own challenges. So I'll take the hour that's left today and feel sorry for myself, and pick myself back up tomorrow!
Edit - I guess one more question. For IAA goal is to keep them green as much as possible, yet for acro it seems the goal is to leave some wiggle room (because the growth hormone secretion isn't consistent?).
How do I balance the two? Nadirs around 70 ish? Reductions below that? Is that even still considered TR?