6/11 Max AMPS 496 +3.5 532 +6 376 PMPS 346 +7.5 331

Status
Not open for further replies.

max&emmasmommie

Member Since 2012
I had to give Max only 0.5 u last night because his PMPS was 126. At +2 it was 122, at +5.5 it was 296. I guess I'll hold this dose for 3 more days to see if he bounces again and to see if he drops too low to shoot again. If I can make it one full week without messing up the shed and get a curve on a day he's not bouncing, maybe I can make some decision about the dose and about switching insulins. Meanwhile, getting him into the vet for a pancreatitis and thyroid test.

Link to yesterday's post http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=72854
 
Re: 6/11 Max AMPS 496

Dale, you might want to ask BJM to take a look at Max's SS, and whether it would be better to control the low numbers with shooting the scheduled amount, but giving slightly higher carbed food instead. BJM has been really helpful with suggestions on how to control Pumbaa's dives, and I'm going to start paying more attention to the carb content of the foods he gets, and when, as well as trying to give him an appetizer before feeding/shooting time to get some calories in his body.

Hope his thryoid and pancreatitis tests come back normal!

Suze
 
Re: 6/11 Max AMPS 496 +3.5 532

Thanks, Suze. I'm sure that's not a bad idea under some circumstances, but see below as to why it worries me. I will ask BJ about it. Maybe I'll wait until the pancreatitis test comes back. I have an appointment tomorrow for Max.

This is really crazy. I double checked that 532 and got 517. Max's poor ears!!!! He is so sick of being stuck. Yesterday during the subcues, finally he just put out his front paws and sat in a Sphinx pose - completely resigned. That was good as the needle didn't get bumped around and start stabbing him in the muscle, but it was kinda sad. I'm happy to see some cats' SSs looking so good, but it does make me wonder why Max's can't be that way, too.

If it's not pancreatitis (or some other infection), then I feel I must be very close to the correct dose. Missing a shot or having to give 0.5 seems to be sending his BG soaring as if the shed has been depleted by the one missed dose, and not enough of the insulin is going to work on his BG. Also, when I gave him antibiotics in March to see if that would take care of any infection in his teeth that might be there, the doc said that without a teeth cleaning, he'll be infected again not longer after. The doc also said he would not recommend a teeth cleaning for a cat this old because of the fear that he would die a few months later from the anesthesia. Then, another doctor there said the he loads the cat up on fluids before, during and after, and he's never lost an older cat that way. People on this board say they clean their cat's teeth all the time, and don't have any qualms about it if the right person is doing it. Bummer that I find out today that that particular doctor has left the practice. Maybe I can find him still in this area.

As for using high carb food, I'll tell you what I'm concerned about: if I feed him higher carb food to get his BG up above 150, then shoot a full dose, what if the food spike wears off at around +1.5 or +2 AND the insulin onset starts at +2 or +2.5? When I eat high carb food, it wears off, and I get sleepy within a couple of hours. It doesn't worry me too much if he's close to 150 around +11 or 11.5 to bump it up a little with low carb food. However, if he's way down in the 100 and teens, then it scares me no matter what food I use. The rules are no shot below 150 and a modified insulin amount for 150 to 200 (for a cat whose response to insulin is not well known), right? I'm trusting that I know him, and that I will monitor him until +4 when I give a full dose at a time when his BG is between 150 and 200. I don't feel that confidence for any number below 150 or artificially bumped up to 150 with a high carb food spike. If a low carb food is helping to bump him up, I feel more confident that its affect on his BG will last longer, but I don't thinlk a low carb food will take him from the teens to the 50s. I should at least try to bump him up that way.

I especially hate it when it is the PMPS that is low. I'm so tired, and I have to get up at 7 or 7:30 every morning because my "spider monkey" is awake and ready to take on the world! I'll be watching what you do, and see how it works for you. I hope it works out well both for you and your baby.
 
Re: 6/11 Max AMPS 496 +3.5 532

Dale, I didn't mean high-carb food, but higher carbed food, like in the 8-9% KCal from carbs range.

I'm looking at the KCal values of everything I normally feed Pumbaa, as I tend to feed him foods that are 5% KCals from carbs, and lower. I'm going to want to stay below the 10% carbs, but see if giving him a little bit more carbs in his food makes any difference. I have also been augmenting Pumbaa's regular food with more protein, from ground cooked chicken to mushed sardines. When my blood sugar drops, carbs do nothing for me, but protein works quickly. And protein is longer-lasting overall, whereas carbs wear off quickly, as you said.

EVO 95% Venison appears to be about the highest carbed food I've given Pumbaa, and that is only 6% KCal from carbs.

I'm willing to try just about anything to prevent/slow down Pumbaa's dives, which then cause huge bounces.

And I totally understand a cat being tired of being poked. Pumbaa has taken to hiding in the litter box at night at testing time! I think he thinks I'll forget he's in there and that I'll just go away and leave him alone! Poor babies. If only they understood that we don't enjoy this either and are only doing it to save their lives.

Someone else will have to answer the question about the rules for shooting below 200, 'cause I've read, too, that shooting the normal dose is okay if you are there to test and watch, also depending on if they were still dropping or on the rise. So much to think about! I've also read that shooting something is better than skipping a shot entirely. But you have a different situation and I just make sure that I am available to test when the numbers are low.

Suze
 
Re: 6/11 Max AMPS 496 +3.5 532

Because Max has some complicating medical issues that facilitate the jumps and drops in his glucose levels, I think you're going to continue running into the variable glucose issue. That is what makes it difficult to follow the standard Lantus protocol. It is likely that the standard protocol may need some revision to work with Max, unless you want to consider ProZinc or PZI where you can shoot what you see at pre-shot.

The lows you can manage with the judicious use of food at varying carb levels, depending on how low he is or goes.

When his pre-shot is high (lets say over 300), you could try feeding only a small part of his meal (because there always should be food on board before giving insulin), giving the normal insulin dose, waiting 15-20 minutes, then putting out the remainding food. You might try 1/4 at shot time and 3/4 in 15-20 minutes; this may slow down his eating too, since some calories with have started hitting the blood stream by the second part of the meal. If Max is a gobbler, putting it out frozen may slow him down some and distribute the calorie intake across the remainder of the shot cycle. Another option is getting an automatic feeder to portion out the meals across the cycle. The PetMate 5 has had some thumbs up on this board.

I think it may be helpful to discuss with your vet about the use of a small amount of supplemental Humulin R for when the basal Lantus dose isn't enough, yet increasing the Lantus is going to be too high or unsafe for the long term. Use of Humulin R can be very tricky - the amounts given generally are quite small - barely over the 0 line at first, until you know how it works for Max. You are willing to do enough testing that you may be able to work out a plan here and/or with your vet to use R in a safe manner to help manage Max's spikes.

I had very similar issues with Spitzer the last few months he was alive due to intermittent vomiting and inappetance from pancreatitis and IBD; I resorted to using some R to knock down the highs, as I couldn't increase the Lantus without being sure he would eat and keep the food down. And ProZinc didn't last long enough for him or I would have kept with that..
 
Re: 6/11 Max AMPS 496 +3.5 532

Neosporin with pain relief may be applied to the test site a few minutes before testing and wiped off at test time to reduce the annoyance of testing. A plus is the ointment helps the blood bead up for the test.

And low carb treats after testing - ex Purebites (spelling?) - also help reward being tested.
 
Re: 6/11 Max AMPS 496 +3.5 532

BJM said:
...I think it may be helpful to discuss with your vet about the use of a small amount of supplemental Humulin R for when the basal Lantus dose isn't enough, yet increasing the Lantus is going to be too high or unsafe for the long term. Use of Humulin R can be very tricky - the amounts given generally are quite small - barely over the 0 line at first, until you know how it works for Max. You are willing to do enough testing that you may be able to work out a plan here and/or with your vet to use R in a safe manner to help manage Max's spikes.

I had very similar issues with Spitzer the last few months he was alive due to intermittent vomiting and inappetance from pancreatitis and IBD; I resorted to using some R to knock down the highs, as I couldn't increase the Lantus without being sure he would eat and keep the food down. And ProZinc didn't last long enough for him or I would have kept with that..

I'm mildly temped to try something like that for Chip. I get the idea about the microscopic drops used. nailbite_smile

I'm not totally comfortable putting the hammer down on the Lantus to overpower Chip's bounce to get the needed liver training. And then having to spend 16 hours a day poking Chip twice an hour to surf those tight greens. For years on end. Then it creates even more recalcitrant bouncing.

BJM what's your impression of Chip's Lantus Record would I be downright dangerous with a bolus of R? And why was Kathryn with Snowflake doing that "IM"? This whole question is really just hypothetical after only 2 weeks on Lantus, but I am curious.

BTW I've never had an official condo of my own, hopefully MamaDale doesn't mind if I throw a sleeping bag down here ;-)
 
Re: 6/11 Max AMPS 496 +3.5 532

Dale, I would like to offer some input, but first can you bring me up to speed on the complicating medical issues to which BJM is referring? I want to be sure my thoughts are on track. Thanks!

max&emmasmommie said:
As for using high carb food, I'll tell you what I'm concerned about: if I feed him higher carb food to get his BG up above 150, then shoot a full dose, what if the food spike wears off at around +1.5 or +2 AND the insulin onset starts at +2 or +2.5?
This is a valid concern. I would not recommend feeding before PS to try to bring the numbers up. You're right that the results could be dangerous if you shoot a number that is falsely elevated due to a food spike. We do have some people in the Lantus TR forum who are controlling their cats' drops using their regular food divided into mini meals after PS. ECID as far as what time schedule and feeding amounts work for the cats. At this time, though, I don't see fast drops on Max's spreadsheet that would require this type of intervention.
 
Re: 6/11 Max AMPS 496 +3.5 532 +6 376 PMPS 346

PapaDale, go ahead and toss your bag down. I don't mind at all. We need some popcorn and movies though ;-)

Thank you for your thoughts, BJ. I may have to try the Humulin, but I'll get the promise of someone on the board who has done this to help me through it. Are you volunteering?

My vet doesn't know Jack, and he's all ready referred me to a "specialist." There are no specialists in diabetes in this area. So, I'm pretty sure I would just spend a lot of money and get no better care for Max than I can get by figuring this out myself with the help of this board. I need to save that money for all the continuing care and any emergencies that may come up. I also want to spring for a euthanasia person to come to my home when the time comes to make it as peaceful for Max as possible. He deserves that.

Libby, thanks for your input, and Suze, thank you, too. These are all good ideas, and the food rationing certainly can be helpful to some cats, maybe even Max. As to Max's eating habits, Max does not scarf his food. He eats a little, and then a few hours later a little more. He will finish most of the bowl by himself only if he gets really hungry. There is always something left. Maybe he gets tired of licking and licking and licking. Even when there is a little left at the edges of the bowl, he will take chicken or roast beef from my hand, and nearly bite my fingers as if he is starving. However, it is only with meat that he does this. Any other food, and he would gingerly take it without nipping me. Of course, he no longer gets any treats except for meat. Normally, he wants me to move the food around or scrape it up into a mound before he eats it. What he likes best is for some fresh food to go on top. He did this with his dry food in the past, too, but now with the wet, he's better at finishing most of it by himself.

No, Libby, you are right -- there have not been any sudden drops in the early hours of the cycle. There are sudden spikes upward at all hours. I haven't tested much in the early hours. So, I suppose it could happen occasionally, but I'm quite sure that the one time I shoot him with a full dose when he's below 150 that will be the time he has a sudden drop == Murphy's Law. I will try to give him some food that is 10% in the late hours to see what it does the next time he is very low. I won't shoot a full dose then, but I'll test the theory. What I am wondering is if I can give him more than 25 percent of the dose -- more than 0.5 u -- when he's below 150 but over 100. Maybe I'll have a chance to try that when he's close to 150, and after I've seen the effect of a higher carb food at +11.

(I tend to be very detailed and wordy. I apologize in advance. Please bear with me.)

As for Max's medical issues, Libby: I'll start by saying that the insulin is definitely helping Max. He was quite thin before we starting using insulin. After he was diagnosed with CRF, he starting losing weight like crazy. I was feeding him a Hills k/d for CRF, he ate like a horse, and he lost weight. The vet said he could eat as much as he wanted of the Hills. Then, after he was diagnosed with FD, I read that for an FD who also has CRF, you feed the diabetic part of the cat, not the CRF cat part. Muscle wasting is a problem with CRF cats, and Max was getting very boney. I started feeding him Hills m/d believing what the girl at the vet's front desk told me -- it was to help cats who needed to gain weight -- Wrong! Just the opposite! I tried to help him gain weight with the Hills m/d, but it didn't work, of course. Now that he's eating Wellness, and getting insulin he has gained weight and muscle back -- I can feel it in his spine -- and he no longer eats more than a cat should. I am currently transitioning him to Merrick food. Anyway, the fact that he has gained weight makes me think that he is not suffering from glucose toxicity, but . . . read on, please.

His medical history: He started out last September 2011 with a BG that did NOT indicate diabetes (146), but his CRF scores were high enough and he wasn't concentrating his urine. So, with that the doctor diagnosed CRF. The creatinine was double checked before the diagnosis. Then, in February, he tested 509 for BG one day and 475 the next, and was diagnosed with FD. At the time, his CRF scores were pretty low. I know it is possible to misdiagnose diabetes as CRF, but given that we did both tests at once, it would seem unlikely. Nonetheless, as I look back at his behavior over the past couple of years, I remember signs of diabetes - drinking more and eating more. He also put up with more loving and holding. I suppose he might have been having mild neuropathy and just didn't have the strength to push off of me or get up from a snuggle session. I had thought that he was mellowing in his old age, and I also knew he had some permanent muscle damage from his ordeal in 2008. (See below.) As long as he purred through our snuggle sessions, I didn't worry about it too much.

I haven't had his CRF scores tested again because as long as his diabetes is not controlled, I know the scores may be affected by that. I also know that his kidneys are being damaged by his BG, and it seems pointless to check his CRF scores as long as I'm treating him for CRF. (I give him Rehmannia 8 tincture and sometimes solidago and Standard Process Renal Support.) He clearly has an issue with hydration which can be caused by the inability to concentrate urine caused by CRF. He's had constipation off and on, and I'm currently giving him fluids at least every other day. He needs less than 100 cc every other day, and, at the moment, I'm testing out giving him 50 cc every other day along with 1/4 teaspoon of Miralax once a day.

The past medical issue may or may not be relevant. In September of 2008 when he was 12, he developed myesthenia gravis. I didn't know this until he had lost a lot of weight and became severely dehydrated. MG is a disorder in which the brain cannot tell the muscles what do to because the signal is disrupted. The non-voluntary muscles are not affected. Max could not swallow for quite a while, which I did not know. I did know that frequently, he would throw up his food, undigested. The vet I was using didn't know what the problem was, but we didn't do any x-rays at that time. Max gradually became unable to retract his claws.

After about three weeks, when my cat starting to walk like Frankenstein, the vet sent me to ER. The ER doc suspected MG, did an x-ray, and we saw a mass right in front of his heart. The ER vet started using a temporary treatment for MG. Max's dramatic improvement with this treatment helped with the diagnosis of MG. So, I gave him the MG medication, and prednisone to suppress the immune response, for a few days while I got him in to a university hospital where they did surgery to remove his thymus. The thymus is active when we are children, and then it shrinks up. It is believed that it is relevant to the development of the immune system. It turned out that a benign cancer of the thymus was making Max's immune system overreact and attack the nerves for his voluntary muscles and the delivery system for the signal component. He would have died without the thymectomy. No amount of medicine would have kept him going as a cat will eventually stop responding to the MG meds. People can take meds for MG all their lives, but it doesn't work on cats apparently.

Anyway, I don't know exactly what damage was caused by all of this, but I presume that the prednisone could have compromised his pancreas, his kidneys were damaged by the severe dehydration, and it may be important to note that he is still not able to fully retract his claws. Who knows what that means, but some of his voluntary muscles were probably permanently damaged. I don't remember the dose of prednisone, and we discontinued it pretty quickly. Of course with all the starvation, dehydration, and illness he experienced, he could have contracted some virus or bacteria that damaged his pancreas. I will say that I noticed the increased drinking and eating sometime in 2009 or 10, but his bloodwork never showed any issues until Sept of 2011. Max may have been suffering from diabetes a long time, but he just happened to have a normal BG when he was tested. He may have glucose toxicity or something like that -- another issue I know little about.

What makes me think he does not have GT is that he is getting a lot of benefit from the insulin, and his neuropathy has improved. I give him B12 for it, but it was improving before I started doing that. He can jump up on the bed, which is higher than most beds, and he doesn't walk too funny these days.

Ahhh, I'm going to have to go to bed. Thank you for reading all of this and for any thoughts you might have. Goodnight.
 
Re: 6/11 Max AMPS 496 +3.5 532 +6 376 PMPS 346

max&emmasmommie said:
PapaDale, go ahead and toss your bag down. I don't mind at all. We need some popcorn and movies though ;-)

...He was quite thin before we starting using insulin. After he was diagnosed with CRF, he starting losing weight like crazy. I was feeding him a Hills k/d for CRF, he ate like a horse, and he lost weight. The vet said he could eat as much as he wanted of the Hills. Then, after he was diagnosed with FD, I read that for an FD who also has CRF, you feed the diabetic part of the cat, not the CRF cat part. Muscle wasting is a problem with CRF cats, and Max was getting very boney. I started feeding him Hills m/d believing what the girl at the vet's front desk told me -- it was to help cats who needed to gain weight -- Wrong! Just the opposite! I tried to help him gain weight with the Hills m/d, but it didn't work, of course. Now that he's eating Wellness, and getting insulin he has gained weight and muscle back -- I can feel it in his spine -- and he no longer eats more than a cat should. I am currently transitioning him to Merrick food. Anyway, the fact that he has gained weight makes me think that he is not suffering from glucose toxicity, but . . . read on, please.
I don't believe any cat should ever eat Hills k/d, nearly killed one of mine. Inflames IBD, the wasting just worsens CKD. MD is a better choice, it may have it's uses as a high fibre 12% time-released carb buffer against insulin rebound/hypo. It may have the highest protein (actual meat?) of any Hills product. But not for IBD or constipation because the cellulose and cornstarch literally turns into cement in megacolon.

If Max likes the Merricks 95% BG that has to be a better choice for him. If he's telling you he wants plain meat, he must know. The Wellness doesn't look as bad as I was thinking, though it has more veggies and sweet potato than it needs.

A plain meat diet seems to cure many things for cats.
 
Re: 6/11 Max AMPS 496 +3.5 532

@ Libby

He has intermittent issues with the constipation and hydration, along with the extensive background she gave you. It seems like he is jumping around with no rhyme nor reason. To me, that makes it risky to increase the Lantus beyond a point, because of the near certainty he is going to drop like a rock at some later time and the Lantus may be enough to send him into a major hypo from which he won't recover. Very careful use of R may enable her to tamp down those highs while keeping the Lantus dose stable, since Lantus does not work well with quick dose adjustments.
 
The recent trials of Snowflake have a lot of R discussion in an urgent situation, including information on using it. Note that she had to shoot intramuscularly (IM), though it may be given subcutaneously. The route used to administer the dose will affect the rate of absorption, and thus the rate and intensity of effect.

If you are going to try R, you must be home to monitor and you must test at least hourly
You should be feeding a consistent diet of low carb canned/raw food and absolutely NO dry food.
R generally nadirs around +2 to +3; you must time the dose so it will avoid overlapping any other insulin's nadir.

I would not consider myself an expert with R; I used it with Spitzer out of sheer desparation because I couldn't increase the Lantus due to the irregularity in food consumption.
 
Re: 6/11 Max AMPS 496 +3.5 532

Dale 'n' Chip said:
...BTW I've never had an official condo of my own, hopefully MamaDale doesn't mind if I throw a sleeping bag down here ;-)

Well, step one is to get you started with your own condos for Chip, otherwise it will be difficult for folks to give you feedback and for the condo reader to keep track of whose feedback pertains to what poster.

So, I've (very presumptuously) posted your question here
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top