6/11 Harley AMPS 197 PMPS 114, +12.5 142, +2 123

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob & Harley (GA)

Very Active Member
Good Morning,

Boy am I glad it's Friday and I will finally be able to get a curve this weekend to see how the insulin works in him. Maybe that will let me relax some about all this.

Harley is getting back to his old self and playing with the civies. Although he still is following me around.

Have a great day,
Robin

Yesterdays Condo
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16858
 
Re: 6/11 Harley AMPS 197

I hope seeing some numbers help you relax too. (((hugs))) I was always nervous and being at home alone with Webber made things even worse. We understand. So happy to hear he is playing again..... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/11 Harley AMPS 197

Thanks Paige, for the support.

Some days I can't get home at lunch to test him and without knowing how low he is going during the day makes me so nervous.

This morning civie Love and I were walking down the hallway to the living room and I was wondering where Harley was. When Love walked into the living room Harley jumped out from under the piano bench and took her down, just like old times, it made me feel better.

Robin
 
Re: 6/11 Harley AMPS 197

Rob & Harley said:
This morning civie Love and I were walking down the hallway to the living room and I was wondering where Harley was. When Love walked into the living room Harley jumped out from under the piano bench and took her down, just like old times, it made me feel better.

That's cute :) Hope you and Harley have a great day!
 
Re: 6/11 Harley AMPS 197 PMPS 114 What do I shoot?

I can't get the curve until this Sunday, we have a vet visit on Saturday. I scares me to shoot these low numbers without knowing how low he goes and when.

I'll be home to test tonight but don't want to stay up all night if I don't have to.

What do I do?

Robin
 
Re: 6/11 Harley AMPS 197 PMPS 114 What do I shoot?

Rob & Harley said:
I can't get the curve until this Sunday, we have a vet visit on Saturday. I scares me to shoot these low numbers without knowing how low he goes and when.

I'll be home to test tonight but don't want to stay up all night if I don't have to.

What do I do?

Robin

LC = 6% and under
MC = 10-15% carbs
HC = 16% and over (these values are my own approximations of LC, MC, HC)

and we mean wet food. Not dry kibble.

Personally, I would shoot the 1U if you are home and have these foods available. This is the exciting kind of progress that might be leading to a dose decrease. Of course, we also want you to be comfortable. But if you have the tools (plenty of testing strips, some karo, and some HC food), there's no reason I can see he can't get his usual dose of insulin tonight.

Let's see what other peeps have to say.
 
Re: 6/11 Harley AMPS 197 PMPS 114 What do I shoot?

yea, I looked back at previous posts and low blue preshots and Robin was advised that there was not enough data to shoot the lows....

hmmm, hope someone can help out here!!
 
Re: 6/11 Harley AMPS 197 PMPS 114 What do I shoot?

I'd go for it, provided you have high carb wet options.

You'll probably be up until +4 or +5 or so, but Harley's doing great and it'd be a shame to lose some of that progress.
 
Re: 6/11 Harley AMPS 197 PMPS 114 What do I shoot?

I think its been about 1/2 hour since the 114? Can u retest?
no food yet thou!
 
Re: 6/11 Harley AMPS 197 PMPS 114, +12.5 142 What do I shoot?

Sorry, I got home right before shot time and fed him after the PMPS. +12.5 at 142 is the food spike. I wish I hadn't complicated things by feeding him.

I'm not comfortable shooting a full unit and than feeding MC or HC, seems counter productive, I'd rather shoot a reduced dose, or is that not the protocol for Lantus.
 
Re: 6/11 Harley AMPS 197 PMPS 114, +12.5 142 What do I shoot?

If you have strips, HC, and can test at +1 and +2, I'd shoot the 1.0. If you're not comfortable with it, then shoot a reduced dose -- 0.75. You have to be comfortable with what you're doing.
 
Re: 6/11 Harley AMPS 197 PMPS 114, +12.5 142 What do I shoot?

Thanks for your responses. I shot somewhere between .75 and 1.0 it's hard to tell.

I'll stay up and test him until he starts coming up again.

Thanks all,
Robin
 
Re: 6/11 Harley AMPS 197 PMPS 114, +12.5 142 What do I shoot?

Nice shooting. If you'll get a +1 and +2, that will be a good start toward getting the data you'll need when it's time to shoot even lower.
 
Re: 6/11 Harley AMPS 197 PMPS 114, +12.5 142 What do I shoot?

Take a look at some of the condos with low AMPS or PMPS and look at the SSs. You'll see lots of green. The saying here goes, "Shoot low to stay low." You need to be data ready, though, to do that. Good job!
 
Re: 6/11 Harley AMPS 197 PMPS 114, +12.5 142 What do I shoot?

Thanks, I have been reading other condos and looking at ss and have gotten a little more comfortable with it after seeing so many of them.

BTW, I have looked at Vesta's ss and it gave me the shakes.

Robin
 
Re: 6/11 Harley AMPS 197 PMPS 114, +12.5 142 What do I shoot?

Rob & Harley said:
Thanks, I have been reading other condos and looking at ss and have gotten a little more comfortable with it after seeing so many of them.

BTW, I have looked at Vesta's ss and it gave me the shakes.

Robin

Come on.... it's like a roller coaster! You want to vomit while you're riding but after, well, you still want to vomit but you realize it's a ton of fun! And without shooting low (to stay low, like Sienne said), we wouldn't be down to ONE DROP of insulin. And darned near OTJ! I have a feeling once you get a look at Harley's mid-cycle #s you'll feel much better. And if you don't, we'll be here to make you FEEL better, darned it!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top