6/11 Duriel AMPS165,+3 173,+6 212,PMPS296

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/11 Duriel AMPS165

Hi guys .. not to bad of a range there duriel! And this mornings number sure does look promising .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 6/11 Duriel AMPS165

Is there a reason you did not reduce the dose back on 6/2 PM when Duriel got that 50?

Diagnosis was in 9/2012 so you still hit the less than one year into diagnosis timeframe where we advise people to automatically decrease if the number drops to 50 or below.
 
Re: 6/11 Duriel AMPS165,+3 173,+6 212

Thanks for the good wishes. At +6 she's gone back into the 200s, hopefully she'll keep coming down over the next few days.

Someone asked why I did not adjust dose back in Jun 2 when she got a 50. I did in fact reduce that evening's dose, but a single low score, in my understanding, is not enough to reduce the dose consistently. In fact, her current dose of .5units per shot still has her ranging between 110 and 310 in the last 5 days. I don't think those numbers call for a dose reduction, do they?
 
Re: 6/11 Duriel AMPS165,+3 173,+6 212

Someone asked why I did not adjust dose back in Jun 2 when she got a 50. I did in fact reduce that evening's dose, but a single low score, in my understanding, is not enough to reduce the dose consistently. In fact, her current dose of .5units per shot still has her ranging between 110 and 310 in the last 5 days. I don't think those numbers call for a dose reduction, do they?
That would be me that asked.

Did you give Duriel any food between the +2 and +4 readings on 6/2? No notes on the SS to tell me.

No, those current readings don't call for a dose reduction. but it looks to me like she is dropping low at night, then bounces for 3 sometimes 4 days, drops low again, bounces 3 days..........

Technically, she did not earn the reduction on 6/2 but you changed the dose, to half, BCS. If you had given the full dose, she would have dropped below 50 and earned a dose reduction. It's a judgment call. I would have taken the reduction, and if it didn't hold, bump her right back up.

If Duriel does not hold her dose reductions well, then a single low score is not enough to reduce the dose. Some people have a modified rule where they wait for 3 drops below 50 before they will reduce a new diabetic kitty. (< 1 year from diagnosis is new)
 
Re: 6/11 Duriel AMPS165,+3 173,+6 212

looks to me like she is dropping low at night, then bounces for 3 sometimes 4 days, drops low again, bounces 3 days

Yes I notice this too. I didn't feed Durie between meals on Jun 2. As for the dosage, I'm only Durie's foster and have duties to keep her safe while being rehomed by DCIN. I am not comfortable with allowing her to drop too low, to avoid her going hypo and suffering harm, so that night I reduced that single dose to still be able to shot at that time because I could only skip the shot otherwise (and then risk her going high in numbers again). I'm supposed to wait until she's above 140 to shoot. Here's the explanation about that from Jun 4,in the future I'll make those notes on the Spreadsheet also. http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=96826#p1036211
 
Ok, Duriel did exactly what I expected her to do at PMPS. Higher and bounce. If she follows her pattern, she'll go to low pinks at +3-+4 tonight and then start coming down again. Would you be able to get a before bed test tonight? Tomorrow, I expect she'll continue the bounce a bit in the am and start dropping by the PMPS. I even think she may drop low tomorrow night, +5 -+7 timeframe.
 
Re: 6/11 Duriel AMPS165,+3 173,+6 212,PMPS296,+4 265

Deb & Wink said:
Ok, Duriel did exactly what I expected her to do at PMPS. Higher and bounce. If she follows her pattern, she'll go to low pinks at +3-+4 tonight and then start coming down again. Would you be able to get a before bed test tonight? Tomorrow, I expect she'll continue the bounce a bit in the am and start dropping by the PMPS. I even think she may drop low tomorrow night, +5 -+7 timeframe.

Yes, I can test her tonight. Right now it's just after +4. I'm really interested in what you notice about the pattern, and what it may mean about Durie's dose management. Thanks for your help.

EDIT: 20 mins after PMPS+4 her score is 265. I will be up for another couple hours, should I take any other tests (ie. +6?).
 
Yes, if you are still up, another test at +6 would be great. East coast woman here so headed to bed. I'll look at the SS in the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top