6/11 Andreia AMPS 258 PMPS 207 Getting overweight

Monchichi

Member Since 2022
Hi everyone,

I'm sorry if this is not the right place for this question.

My 12 year old girl was diagnosed with diabetes this past january.

She started with one unit of Lantus in the morning and another in the evening, but as since reduced to only one unit in the morning.

She stabilized on the levels mentioned in the title.

By instructions of the vet she is freefeeding (Hills m/d), but she is gaining a lot of weight. Her normal weight is about 4kg/4,5kg but she has now reached 5,2kg. Vet says to keep freefeeding but she has already started to get lazy to clean herself due to the weight (In the past this has led to UTI's).

Right before being diagnosed I only fed her 2 times a day, due to weight issues. Should I go back to two meals a day? The vet says that that is not compatible with Lantus.

She is a really calm kitty and doesn't like to play, so I can't maker her "exercise" to keep the weight off.

Thank you so much for any help you can give me on this matter. I'm really on the fence about this.
 
We ask new members to post an intro on the main/health forum. We are very data oriented. They will help set you up with a spreadsheet and signature. While here please read the sticky on our dosing methods. You will see that lantus needs to be dusted every 12 hours. Free feeding is fine but we luck up food two hours before amps/pmps so that value is not food influenced. Max did also gain weight as he would not play either. I did not free feed but fed small meals 3-4 times each cycle. Are you feeding low carb wet or dry food? If dry switching to wet might give better bg numbers and help lose weight or at least stop gaining.
 
Back
Top