6/11 Alex AMPS 378,+2-267,+6-133

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caryl & Sebastian & Alex (GA)

Very Active Member
Hi everyone. Haven't posted in a few days because i haven't felt up to it but didn't want anyone to think anything was really wrong with Alex. His numbers are confusing us as if there must be something wrong(ie thyroid going nuts) and I took him to vet and while he was acting crazy for a few days and he has lost weight his t4 came back in the normal range, yet his PS numbers are consistently highish, and i haven't really seen any green in forever. (well, a long time). He's also been throwing trace ketones here and there with numbers that don't match but he's not sick. Vet knows all about this but again, there doesn't seem to be an answer. Now I'm thinking urine infection...so I will try to get a preliminary sample to bring in.

So needless to say i just haven't felt like posting and this all is why. BUT on the bright side, Alex feels good or seems to, has a great appetite, and for my money that's worth a lot. His p's are in order and for the most part his purry pants have been on (except when I keep sticking my nose up his mouth) :roll: and I'm sure he and Jackson will be settling in for their nap as soon as I leave fro work at the vet clinic in 15 minutes.

Thought 1: I wonder if any of this has to do with switching from FF to Friskies SD? Seems as if this is close to the time his numbers started to change....and everything else(I just thought of this cause it's the only thing I'm doing differently)

I had a thought 2 but forgot what it is :?

AND oh my I was offered a job but there's just 3 things..the pay stinks, so does the commute...and it's waaaaay to far from Alex. I'm not going to take it

Have a great Friday everyone. I hope Kelly and Logan are fine too !!!



three days ago
 
Re: 6/11 Alex AMPS 378

stop sticking your nose in Alex's mouth! @-)
aw sorry you're having crappy day(s) but yup the bright side is he's eating and being Alex

feel better soon!
 
Re: 6/11 Alex AMPS 378

Hi Caryl,

Wow our boys look a lot alike! (And they both have some heart issues) (although Cody has acromegaly.)

I'm brand new to the LL's (not to FD) but I just took a look at your numbers and it struck me how quickly he drops after his shot. When/how often do you feed him? Do you think its possible he's got some pancreas action going on there that helps lower those numbers so fast?

I notice he is ketone prone and you use SQ LRS sometimes. We do this as well (to ward off his tendency toward megacolon), but I give fluids everyday, and it seems to level off the high numbers from coming on. Sam's Pharmacy sells a whole case of LRS for about $24 (prescription required)
Daily fluids might help straighten out his ketones and his high numbers. With Cody's heart issues/meds our vet prefers I give smaller amounts consistently (everyday).

I hope Alex likes the levemir- Cody seems to be liking it, but its early to tell.

Oh, and I'm pretty sure Friskies has rice in the recipe, whereas FF does not. I think Gator (and H- ga) recently posted some new as fed carb info on several of the FF traditional flavors in the stickies over in PZI land, that he was sent by Purina, which might be useful.

Have a good day! :-D
 
Re: 6/11 Alex AMPS 378

Hi Nancy,
Alex has hyper-t (possibly just now regulated) and a couple other things going on, and is on a specialized protocol due to his ability to throw ketones for absolutely no reason whatsoever. He has just switched to Levemir in hopes that this will calm his swings down, and so far it's drastically reduced his insulin needs, thankfully. It now appears that he as a bladder infection so he's just started on a/b's but I think myself sometimes that I see potential pancreatic response from him. I hope he does :-D but until then, we have to dose him heavier than probably other cats, because of his ketone-prone behavior.
 
Re: 6/11 Alex AMPS 378

Carolyn and Spot said:
Hi Nancy,
Alex has hyper-t (possibly just now regulated) and a couple other things going on, and is on a specialized protocol due to his ability to throw ketones for absolutely no reason whatsoever. He has just switched to Levemir in hopes that this will calm his swings down, and so far it's drastically reduced his insulin needs, thankfully. It now appears that he as a bladder infection so he's just started on a/b's but I think myself sometimes that I see potential pancreatic response from him. I hope he does :-D but until then, we have to dose him heavier than probably other cats, because of his ketone-prone behavior.

Hi Carolyn,

You really are so much better at talking abut Alex than i am..seriously! I came home from work just now and picked up both my boys to get the huggles I need from them when I'm away even for two hours and when I picked up Alex I was greeted by the sweetest stinky cat breath I could have hoped for. ♥ (not stinky really, just cat breath) he greeted me at the door and had his purry pants on, so I scooped him up and expected my little bottle of acetone and not smelling it when I expect it is like a Christmas present. (those who have smelled that awful smell coming from their kitties must know exactly what I mean). I's even more anguishing to smell it when his bg is 146 :(

I'm a happy mommy bean right now
 
Re: 6/11 Alex AMPS 378

Nancy and Cody said:
Hi Caryl,

Wow our boys look a lot alike! (And they both have some heart issues) (although Cody has acromegaly.)

I'm brand new to the LL's (not to FD) but I just took a look at your numbers and it struck me how quickly he drops after his shot. When/how often do you feed him? Do you think its possible he's got some pancreas action going on there that helps lower those numbers so fast?

I notice he is ketone prone and you use SQ LRS sometimes. We do this as well (to ward off his tendency toward megacolon), but I give fluids everyday, and it seems to level off the high numbers from coming on. Sam's Pharmacy sells a whole case of LRS for about $24 (prescription required)
Daily fluids might help straighten out his ketones and his high numbers. With Cody's heart issues/meds our vet prefers I give smaller amounts consistently (everyday).

I hope Alex likes the levemir- Cody seems to be liking it, but its early to tell.

Oh, and I'm pretty sure Friskies has rice in the recipe, whereas FF does not. I think Gator (and H- ga) recently posted some new as fed carb info on several of the FF traditional flavors in the stickies over in PZI land, that he was sent by Purina, which might be useful.

Have a good day! :-D


Hi Nancy,

Nice to meet you :)

I was just reading your 3rd day on lev thread this morning before I ran out the door. I am exhausted right now but I'm sure I'll be more chatty over the weekend, but I wanted to reply with whatever little energy i have left.
What are LR's?

Alex was loving the lev but right now there's too much stuff going on to give a definitive answer although my feeling is that he still does. I just tried to read that thread over in PZI but my eyes started crossing lol. wow talk about collecting data :lol:

I have a feeling there's something to the Brewers rice thing as well(in the Friskies) so I'm gonna test it out by feeding ff again.

I see a similarity between Alex and Cody too and Jackson as well because my guys are almost look alikes...

Fading fast...will drop by to see how Cody is doing tomorrow !

Caryl
 
Unless it turns out that Alex is super sensitive to the rice in the friskies SD, I find it hard to believe that, that is the problem.

I'm using the SD here and Maui's bg's are fine and yes she does eat it, not exclusively, but I find her face in that bowl all the time.

I guess I'm just saying, do your experiment but I'm not thinking this is a real issue, is all.
 
Hey Caryl,
LRs is just an acronym for lactated ringers, which are the fluids you're giving Alex. Doin' better today.. hoping these a/b's are gonna bring us some reductions soon! :-D
 
Hillary & Maui said:
Unless it turns out that Alex is super sensitive to the rice in the friskies SD, I find it hard to believe that, that is the problem.

I'm using the SD here and Maui's bg's are fine and yes she does eat it, not exclusively, but I find her face in that bowl all the time.

I guess I'm just saying, do your experiment but I'm not thinking this is a real issue, is all.
Alex could be super sensitive to the rice. He was that way with the corn meal in Urinary S/O if you recall...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top