6/11-6/12 Fred. Not what I was expecting from Lev!

Purrberry

Member Since 2020
Well. I almost don't know what to say!

Fred had onset by +1 last night. He came down meowing, which means, "Sugar is dropping; I'm hungry NOW!" I tested at about 90 minutes after PMPS, and he was already down 45 points. Then I was shocked to see the drop to 170 at +5. I would have never thought the Levemir could have cut through what I can only assume was a bounce from the 170 yesterday. So that was nearly 300 points in just over 5 hours...on Levemir??

I enlisted DH to test at +9, so saw he was coming up quickly again. And now another high AMPS.

Bizarre. Not at all what I thought might happen.
 
Part of the reason we encourage you to reduce the dose when switching from Lantus to Lev is that some cats have have a dramatic response to the switch. Fred is providing an excellent example of this phenomenon.And just to keep you on your toes, Fred is bouncing, but it looks like that was one of his favorite forms of exercise already.
 
Wow! Kathleen, it looks like you will have a busy and bouncy weekend. He really is used to those high numbers, isn't he? I hope he will stabilize over the weekend and you can get an idea of what you will need to do! All my best to Fred! :-)
 
Part of the reason we encourage you to reduce the dose when switching from Lantus to Lev is that some cats have had a dramatic response to the switch. Fred is providing an excellent example of this phenomenon
He seems to be, yes! I wonder if it's just the novelty of the new insulin. Either way, I'm so glad I reduced even further than the specialist recommended. She said just drop the Lantus dose by 1 or 2u. I did the 70% calculation and came up with 5.6, so 5.5 it was.

Fred is bouncing, but it looks like that was one of his favorite forms of exercise already.
Oh, yes. He's my little feline pogo-stick!

He really is used to those high numbers, isn't he? I hope he will stabilize over the weekend and you can get an idea of what you will need to do! All my best to Fred!
He loves them indeed, though not quite *this* high. He's a complete mopeyidy mope when he gets into the 100s. Doesn't even really want to eat. And I know that right now, he definitely knows something is new/off in his body. He's been under the bed.
Thank you for the wishes...I hope it's a smooth weekend for you and Mr. Darcy as well!
 
It can take a cat’s body a while to get used to the new hormone (insulin). Think weeks to a couple months to really see what Lev can really do. But you should also see gradual improvement as you go along. And hopefully Fred will like the change.
 
And hopefully Fred will like the change.
I hope he does, too! Bit concerned b/c I have to be away next weekend and the one after that. I hope I have enough data to know how things are basically going to go.

The Lev is certainly trying its darndest to keep him down. We've had another 280 point drop since AMPS. Skipped right over those pinks and yellows. ;-)
 
Whoa. Down another 59 points in 45 minutes. Gave about 1 Tsp MC dry. I'd like to slow this down a bit so that maybe he can stay down for at least a little while.
 
MC wet might have been a better option. Dry takes it's time getting out of their system. Surf time Fred! :cool:
 
Well, Sir Fred only eats his homemade raw for wet, so we only have dry for anything else. I do recall you @Wendy&Neko once telling me there was a brand of freeze-dried raw that may have been MC. I searched my posts, and couldn't find it. Do you remember what it was, by chance?

We're having a nice and somewhat shocking (for Fred) surf. He's on his way up now, and I've no doubt he'll pop. But maybe not as much as last night. If he doesn't, it makes me a little nervous to shoot 5.5 at night, to be honest! It's all so new. The Lev has yanked him down FAR further than I could have imagined...right through those bounces!
 
FWIW, Gabby was sensitive to the gluten in HC canned foods. It caused all sorts of not-so-lovely GI issues. I would use either corn syrup or honey to raise her numbers.
 
Back
Top