6/11/12 TIGGER AMPS 588 1U

Status
Not open for further replies.

syndyz

Member Since 2012
PER DISCUSSIONS LAST NIGHT (SEE THREAD BELOW):

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=72840


I am moving shot times from every 10 hours (per another board) to get to 9AM-9pm:

6/10/12 246BG shot at 11pm .75U

I couln't figure out how to input these weird dose times into SS so I put into notes section

6/11/2012 :

7AM +8 1/2 HOURS 99BG

11AM +12 588 BG GAVE 1U

Obviously, I don't like him going from 99BG to 588BG in 4 hours....my plan is to test every 3 hours and give next shot at 10:30PM.....moving forward 3o minutes to slowly transition to 9AM-9PM shots.

Thoughts?


Cindy & Tigger














7:30AM BG 99 +8.5
 
So I'm going to be the pain in your neck about housekeeping. You have the 99 at +8.5 noted on your SS for today. To me, that implies it's your AM +8.5 for Monday. Here's what I would suggest. Either put the information in yesterday's comment block (i.e., PM +8.5 = 99) or if you take a look at Gabby's SS, you'll see that I have multiple test results and time in one cell. The only glitchy thing is that you need to adjust the colors manually if you have more than just one number in the cell.

I wouldn't be concerned about your AMPS. Tigger bounced off of the greens. It's perfectly normal for this stage in the process.

Also, when you have a chance, could you complete a Profile on Tigger? It will give us some background info.
 
Hi Cindy

Welcome to Lantus Land! I briefly read your condo yesterday and need to go back and read it again to be sure I don't miss any nuances. Your link to it doesn't work. It has to be pasted right in between the URL brackets.

Here it is for you and anyone else who pops by: 6/10 condo

That's quite a pop up in numbers; did you retest to make sure it was right? I know his BG will be a little wonky until you get him changed to a 12/12 schedule but I probably would have retested that number.

Ill be right back....just want to reread that condo :-D
 
Hi guys .. don't think I've been in your condo yet, so welcome from us! No advice from me, but I sure hope tigger see's those lower numbers again! Have a great day!
 
Hi Sienna.....I am prob. confused....but it looks like I do have the 99BG in today's notes since it occured this morning at 7AM (+8.5)

here are my last three tests & shots:

6/10/12 :

246BG +11 shot at 11pm .75U

6/11/2012:


7AM +8.5 99BG

11AM +12 588 BG GAVE 1U

Does this make sense? I will go study your kitty's SS to see how you do it! :) Cindy
 
I see my pal Sienne and I posted at the same time and I know she and Libby were helping out yesterday. You decided to shoot 1u instead of the .75u Libby suggested? That's fine.....and you will stick with that dose for six cycles unless Tigger drops below 50.

If he's still sky high tonight at +11, I'd go ahead and shoot an hour early since you shot at 11 this morning. But...you will need to be sure you get a +2 and see where that is in relation to his PMPS. I'm usually on late at night and so I can check in and help you since the East Coast ladies will likely be asleep.

What time zone are you in so I can make sure I am looking in at your +11 and we can discuss in your condo whether you want to shoot early?
 
lol!! The +8.5 test may have technically been on Monday, but it's the PM +8.5 from your evening cycle on Sunday so, to my way of thinking, it's still from the data you were collecting on 6/10. Remember, since you have two, 12-hour cycles, at some point, you've crossed over into the next day. In Lantus Land, the new day doesn't start until your AMPS. Keep in mind, people here are from all over the world. We don't think in terms of time zones or days. We think of time in terms of hours from when we shoot.

As an example, I shoot at 6:00. If I test Gabby at 2:00 AM, that's my PM +8. I would still consider that as part of the PM cycle for whatever the day is when my AMPS started. (This is also why putting the value in the +8 cell is easier -- you avoid the whole issue of time.)
 
Tigger! Great on the 99 but let's keep those 500s to yourself, for your bean's sake! Okay? ;)

Seriously, Basil bounced all over the place at the beginning, too. I remember clearly seeing that 5xx number and thinking what! But it is part of the process and it will smooth. That said, it might not be a bad idea to test again on a number that is very high or very low. Meters do throw weird numbers now and again.

Best of luck with the transition.
 
Marjorie and Gracie said:
I see my pal Sienne and I posted at the same time and I know she and Libby were helping out yesterday. You decided to shoot 1u instead of the .75u Libby suggested? That's fine.....and you will stick with that dose for six cycles unless Tigger drops below 50.

If he's still sky high tonight at +11, I'd go ahead and shoot an hour early since you shot at 11 this morning. But...you will need to be sure you get a +2 and see where that is in relation to his PMPS. I'm usually on late at night and so I can check in and help you since the East Coast ladies will likely be asleep.

What time zone are you in so I can make sure I am looking in at your +11 and we can discuss in your condo whether you want to shoot early?
Hello again....I did shoot .75 last night, but this morning when he went to+500bg I pushed it up to 1U (I have been using the sliding scale from other board)....anyway, I will keep him at 1U for 6 cycles...I will also test every 2 -3 hours today....I am in Texas, so central time zone.

THX!! Cindy & Tigger
 
PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. don't think I've been in your condo yet, so welcome from us! No advice from me, but I sure hope tigger see's those lower numbers again! Have a great day!


Thanks so much!! :) Cindy
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
lol!! The +8.5 test may have technically been on Monday, but it's the PM +8.5 from your evening cycle on Sunday so, to my way of thinking, it's still from the data you were collecting on 6/10. Remember, since you have two, 12-hour cycles, at some point, you've crossed over into the next day. In Lantus Land, the new day doesn't start until your AMPS. Keep in mind, people here are from all over the world. We don't think in terms of time zones or days. We think of time in terms of hours from when we shoot.

As an example, I shoot at 6:00. If I test Gabby at 2:00 AM, that's my PM +8. I would still consider that as part of the PM cycle for whatever the day is when my AMPS started. (This is also why putting the value in the +8 cell is easier -- you avoid the whole issue of time.)


Thank you....makes sense now!! :) Cindy
 
Lydia and Basil said:
Tigger! Great on the 99 but let's keep those 500s to yourself, for your bean's sake! Okay? ;)

Seriously, Basil bounced all over the place at the beginning, too. I remember clearly seeing that 5xx number and thinking what! But it is part of the process and it will smooth. That said, it might not be a bad idea to test again on a number that is very high or very low. Meters do throw weird numbers now and again.

Best of luck with the transition.


Thanks for the advice....from now on if it is a number that makes my jaw drop, I will retest....BTW is a retest just a new strip (if I can still get a drop of blood from original poke)
..........or is it a new poke, new blood & new strip?

THX! Cindy
 
You know, I read once that you should not rely on the blood that is there if there is any sense it has dried up. So, just to be safe, I repoke to retest, but that is just based on being conservative about it. Basil says he prefers I retest on my own darn ear.
 
Cindy

Yes...I read that you used a sliding scale and I have visited that forum just to see what kinds of advice and protocol they used and how it compared to ours.

Dosing based on the preshot can get you into trouble. Once the insulin onsets (if the kitty is not in the midst of a bounce), the numbers come down to the nadir or peak of the insulin action. Sienne's Gabby has gone from 400 to 40 and back to 400 in one cycle. If she had been dosing on the 400, she could have potentially had a serious hypo event on her hands since Gabby dropped to 40 just at the dose she was on.
Here is a typical lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

I, personally, think every lantus user should know this by heart but also know how their cat fits into it. Once you get Tigger on a consistent dose and you can see his patterns, it's a good idea to be able to identify his onset, nadir, and duration. They can change but then you will know how they change if you've identified the pattern initially. I use Sienne's Gabby again as an example, but she onsets fast and early and all the excitement is usually over by +4 or so.

We appreciate you doing a profile for Tigger. It helps us when giving you dosing or other advice to know his background and any medical issues. However, the link isn't working. I think you are missing the ] on the first part of the link. It should go just before the last [/url].

Thanks Cindy. Good to know you are in TX....native Texan here :-D but also I will be looking to ignt for your +11 at 10:30 CDT, 8:30 PDT.
 
Lydia and Basil said:
You know, I read once that you should not rely on the blood that is there if there is any sense it has dried up. So, just to be safe, I repoke to retest, but that is just based on being conservative about it. Basil says he prefers I retest on my own darn ear.

Basil says....that made me LOL....need all of those I can get!! :)
 
Hi, Cindy! Just wanted to welcome you to LL and let you know that you and Tigger are now in great hands!

My cat, Jinx, was dx'd in April and if you look at my SS, you can see how much progress he's made since then. That is all attributed to the experience and advice from members on this board. Glad you found us!!
 
Cindy

When we cross post, you can miss posts so I recommend that each time you come on to post (even if it's only been a few minutes), that you scroll back a ways and read the posts to make sure you saw them all. I already put the link to yesterday's condo in this one for you quite a ways back ;-) ;-) :-D :-D :-D
 
Aren't you glad you found us? On that "other" board, you said there was no input/discussion. We've probably overwhelmed you. (We can be very chatty!!)
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Aren't you glad you found us? On that "other" board, you said there was no input/discussion. We've probably overwhelmed you. (We can be very chatty!!)


Nooo....I LOVE chatty...plus I need all the help & input I can get right now.....I work alone from home on the computer all day , so it is like having people "visit" with! :)
 
Joe and Jinx said:
Hi, Cindy! Just wanted to welcome you to LL and let you know that you and Tigger are now in great hands!

My cat, Jinx, was dx'd in April and if you look at my SS, you can see how much progress he's made since then. That is all attributed to the experience and advice from members on this board. Glad you found us!!
THX JOE!! It is those wonderfull SS charts that give me hope!
 
syndyz said:
Nooo....I LOVE chatty...plus I need all the help & input I can get right now.....I work alone from home on the computer all day , so it is like having people "visit" with! :)



Same here, I work from home too :-D

I don't think Cini Mini would have made it this long if I didn't.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top