6/10 Walter AMPS 369 - more than ready to get back home

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Last condo

Not too happy about Walter's numbers - but considering that I am still out of town and that I don't want my pet-sitter to have to deal with low numbers, I guess there's not much that I can do. :(

I'll be back in the States on Wednesday and will increase his dose then.

To make matters worse, Lenny (my Akita-Chow mix) has decided that he doesn't always have to listen to Linda and has started growling at her when he's not in the mood to go outside. Or come back inside. Luckily, Linda isn't easily intimidated and knows Lenny well... but he's an 80+ pound dog. He's generally a big teddy bear (at least with me), but I can easily imagine that he would be scary if he shows teeth.

....needless to say, I can't wait to get back home to my babies! It's nice to see my parents (and I haven't seen them in a year), but I really miss my furry family at home. :arghh:
 
At least Walter is safe and you'll get him back on track pretty quickly. Ahh, Lenny misses his bean and good your friend is not intimidated. Hopefully he'll settle down. I bet it's super cute with a big pup and little kitties around the house. Hang in there Christina..it's hard to be away but enjoy your parents!
 
I bet it's super cute with a big pup and little kitties around the house.

He loves "his" cats - my civvie Sassy in particular. I think they always sleep cuddled up with each other. Sassy is terrible with other cats, but she does great with my big dogs... I'm pretty sure she thinks of herself as a dog. :)

Here are some pictures of the two of them... isn't it hard to imagine that he would ever growl at anyone???
IMG_6049.JPG IMG_6222.JPG IMG_0194.JPG
 
Super cute! I love big dogs with cats snuggling. He's a big mush and likely Sassy does think she's a dog but that's OK. How many cats and dogs do you have? I haven't heard of Sassy before or that I can remember.
 
Super cute! I love big dogs with cats snuggling. He's a big mush and likely Sassy does think she's a dog but that's OK. How many cats and dogs do you have? I haven't heard of Sassy before or that I can remember.

Since Sassy doesn't play nice with others, she has to be completely separate from my other cats... so she has the run of the house for half the day and the others get the rest of the time. I found her as a pregnant teenage kitten the week I moved to South Bend 8 years ago and I have never successfully introduced her to another cat. Despite the fact that I have fostered over 120 cats and kittens over the years. She's a little spitfire and has even managed to traumatize a few foster dogs (even though she is a lot nicer to dogs) and any cat that has ever had the misfortune to get too close.

In addition to her, I am currently fostering Walter and I still have my hissy little Blossom (who will hopefully be available for adoption at some point). Capone, Sparrow and Mandarin are my own cats.

...and I have four dogs who all started out as fosters: Jersey (black and white lab mix) started out as a feral pup with chronic UTIs. She's 9 now. Lenny (my Chow-Akita) is about 5-6 years old now and has been with me for 4 years. Einstein (my little freckle-faced mutt) came to me as a hairless pup, covered in mange. It took a year and half and countless medicated baths before his skin started to clear up... and at that point I was so attached that I couldn't let him go. Bear (Chow) was dumped at a high kill shelter at 10 years old last summer. He was covered in sores and had hardly any hair (which is hard to believe these days). I took him into foster, nursed him back to health and was set to adopt him out when he had a few bite incidents. But he fit in great with my guys and I ended up keeping him.

In addition to that, I have also fostered about 20 other dogs and puppies over the years - so I do manage to adopt some of them out. ;)

Here's a picture of my 4 pups: Jersey, Einstein, Bear and Lenny (from left)
 

Attachments

  • My pups.jpg
    My pups.jpg
    125.7 KB · Views: 49
In addition to that, I have also fostered about 20 other dogs and puppies over the years - so I do manage to adopt some of them out
OMG I love them...look at those faces! What a wonderful thing you do Christina. DH will not let me foster...afraid I'll keep them all or cry every time one gets adopted:p So all I can do is donate :( The baby birds left their nest a few days ago and I've been looking for them. I said "but their my birds!"...DH just rolls his eyes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top