6/10 Shakes preshot 269

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
Good morning everyone in PZI land!
Hope all is well out there and everyone has a great day!

We started the day off pretty well with a PS of 269
I am happy with that and hopefully we will work our way back down again!

I do have a question though on the input last night (sorry I go to bed at 9pm)

If we have another low morning (hopefully we will and I want to be prepared)
like another 151, do I feed himright away and shoot a lower dose
or do I feed and wait until he goes up and shoot the regular dose

I am a little confused and since I get up at 4:30am to take care of him I want to make sure I dont have any questions when it happens again

Thanks and have a great day! :mrgreen:
Denise and Shakes
 
Check out Joanna's and Robin's advice from last night, Denise. It depends on whether you are comfortable getting a little more agressive (Joanna) now that you have data and Shakes seem to be responding. Or whether you won't be around and shooting the higher dose makes you nervous - then Robin's lower number may suit you better. You have lots of data and he seems to be finally responding. I would hate for you to lose momentum. But you have to be comfortable with the amount in your syringe.

I think you do need to set a lower no shoot number - under the 150/170 range. Then it is a matter of deciding what amount you are going to shoot at 150/170. Lower than that, you probably want to either wait the 20 minutes or shoot a reduced dose - always keeping in mind he has to be going up, not down.

This is the trickest part of the dance, but don't forget, this is a good problem to have.
 
The general idea is you start with a no-shoot of 200, gather some data, move that down to 180, then to 150 with more data. (And stop there). So if it is under 150 you definitely wait and retest. Over that, it's up to you what feels right to you. You can shoot on a lower PS than 200 and monitor. You can reduce the dose on a lower PS. You can wait and retest until you get to your no-shoot, and then shoot the full dose.

It's all just to gather data as you go so you know what is the right dose for those lower PSs - you can accomplish that either by shooting a reduced dose on the lower PSs, keeping your no-shoot a little higher (so waiting & retesting more) as you gather data, or keeping the dose the same on lower PSs and monitoring closely for lower numbers.

You always want to wait & retest though if it is under 150.
 
I agree with Sue that on the lower PS's I would not feed and test again in 15 minutes to check for a rising number.

Now I'm going to lean towards Joanna's more agressive side and say you want to stay on top of keeping his #'s down. You are seeing better #'s now and want to keep the momentum going.

When you started shooting 3.15u he started getting more yellow PS's which tells you that you are getting closer to the right dose. On 6/8 PMPS of 214 you shot the 3.15u and got the AMPS of 151 which tells you that on a low 200 bg maybe pull back to 3u so you get a more shootable next PS. So on a 150ish PS pull back a little more.

And all of this depends on if you will be home to test mid cycle or if you are going to be at work all day worried about it. I think you are getting really close.
 
ok everyone, thanks for the advice, but please let me repeat cause I am very
nervous now ( well always have been, but a little more so now)

Ok, so never shoot on anything below 150...
always check 150 and under to make sure he is going up

if he is at say 180 or 200maybe pull back a little to 3 units or 2.75, depending on if I will
be home to test...if not going to be home wait until he goes a little higher

I think I want to keep him as low as possible now that I think we might be getting somewhere, so, would it be
better if I shot a lower dose at 150 OR the same dose and waiting until he went up? nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

so with that said, at 214 I shot 3.15 and he was fine and actually gave me a very low number
so if that happens again then shoot the 150 at say 1.5 units....is that correct??

THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH!!
I will be having some wine tonight!! drinking24 drinking09
 
Sounds like a good day for Shakes.
You don't feed when you get a too low to shoot number, keep testing about every 20 minutes until the number is rising on its own and is above your no shoot number, then reduce dose as needed. You don't want to shoot until you get a number thats rising on its own without the assist of food, after its at a number high enough to shoot, feed then shoot.
 
OK, so Sue yes I will be around and even took Monday off!!

but now I am a little confused....so If I wake up and test and he is at 149 at +12 I should not feed him..??
but what if he doesnt go up by say +13 and I have to leave for work...
and he is very demanding and wants to eat when he wants to eat (spoiled, yes)

why would I not feed him? Is there a reason because I thought it was important to keep them
on a schedule... :dizcat
 
Well, you do have three days to get him and you used to shooting lower numbers.

The idea is that food can increase bg levels. So say he is 140. You feed him and test and he is up to 170. And you shoot based on that number. If the food made the number rise, you could be shooting into a number that is food induced, not a "true" number. That's why we encourage you to put off feeding until you are sure he is going up and in an area you feel safe shooting.

It does make it hard when it is breakfast and time to EAT! Stalling isn't much fun with a hungry cat, but you want to keep him safe.

Hope that makes sense.
 
Thanks Sue,
It sort of makes sense...
my only queston is that I know that food does make him go up.....
but I cant not feed for for a day because his numbers are not rising...

so what do I do if his numbers are not going up say after 2 hours and I have to leave?
 
Oh, if his numbers are staying the same after an hour or so, feed him. It would mean he is surfing along. This would be a good thing. At that point, you might consider a small token dose if you have to leave. But let's wait till we get to that point.
 
ok thanks, I just get nervous cause no one is around at 4:30am so I cant ask questions
until around 8am...

so I think I got it and thank you so much for all of your knowledge and guidance!
 
What time zone are you in? Maybe someone is in an earlier time zone that you can exchange phone #'s with for emergencies.

I know that we've done that when the board was going down for maintenance or when the board was crashing all the time. We don't want to leave anyone stranded.
 
Looks like things are going great for you and Shakes. They've always said the two nervous times are the first few weeks after dx and when you start getting good lower numbers. So, be happy you are nervous!!!

Have some wine-- and inhale deeply and exhale slowly! I'm going to have a glass of wine in celebration of the success you and Shakes are having!! I toast Denise and Shakes! Here,here!!!

I would give you my number to call-- but, I would be zero help at dosing. But, if you are looking moral support or a wine list-- call me!!!
 
dmartini4 said:
so with that said, at 214 I shot 3.15 and he was fine and actually gave me a very low number
so if that happens again then shoot the 150 at say 1.5 units....is that correct??

I wouldn't reduce as far as 1.5 though - that's over 1/2 a dose reduction, and will almost certainly have him in high #s.

You want to look at the data you have and use that to figure it out.

So on 6/8 at night you had a PS of 214 (is that right? your note in the SS throws me off, but I'm going to assume for now that 214 was your PS and it was a regular +12 shot rather than a delayed shot). You shot 3.15 and got 101 at +5. So that tells you that on a PS around 200, that dose is perfect. There is a little room for a lower nadir, so no fears that the dose is starting to edge on the high side. If anything it's a hair low, as the drop looks to be (speculating on what the actual nadir was that cycle) just over 50% and the nadir was likely well over 50.

So from that you can conclude it's probably safe to shoot that dose on anything over say 190. If you got something more like 180 or 170 you could pull back to 3u and try to get in some spot tests to see how that does. Or you could stay with the full 3.15 and also spot test to be sure the dose isn't too high. So then if the PS is more like 150, you could wait and retest til you get closer to maybe 180, or you could try the 3u and see how it goes. Or if you are not going to be home and are feeling worried, you could pull back to 2.8 or 2.9. I wouldn't go lower than that though, I don't see the need. You have data supporting that 3.15 is a pretty good dose at a 200 PS, so you know things are pretty close, it's just about fine tuning.
 
It is scary when you get up that early & you know no one is on to ask! Been there! And I hate that waiting 20 mins & retest....and the cats hate it! I always test then feed & shoot so when I test & have to wait all 4 of them get antsy. I feel bad for them cause I know they are hungry. I don't like this sugar dance much. :YMSIGH:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top