6/10 HELP do i shoot? amps 56

I don’t think I’d shoot in this situation if you don’t have time to see if he will come up on his own.
 
Also! Better safe than sorry! This could be a good chance to get Rumpy on his way to a schedule that works for Lyresa

Honestly, so happy for you two! Good luck with everything today :D
 
I think if you have a travel day planned today I would just go ahead and skip the shot. I think it would be better so that you don’t have to worry about Rumps along the way. :)

When Mowgli was flying out to join me my vet advised skipping his dose that morning so there was 0 chance of hypo.
 
SS looks like you already decided to give a reduced dose of 2.5u but I'm now guessing that might be what you planned to shoot for the drive? How is Rumpy in the car? If he isn't a good traveller (like most of our kitties), his BG will likely go up some from stress. And if you've fed him now, the next reading will be food influenced. You could skip the shot or give him a half dose just to be on the safe side with his history of DKA to try to keep his BG under some control during the trip.
 
Skip. When Olive traveled to me no insulin was given. It was a 8+ hr drive for her.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Hugs for you Shelly, it must be so hard for you. Hope knowing he is in good hands brings you some comfort.
 
Back
Top