6/10 Eddie AMPS 115, +6.5/97, PMPS 271

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Eddie's 6/7 Condo

YESTERDAY: AMPS/90, +2/174, +2.5/290, +7/344, PMPS/233, +2/275, +6/191, +7/231, +8/199, +9/166
TODAY: AMPS/115, +1/100 +2/136, +3/101, +5/103, +6.5/97, +7.5/133, +10.5/194, PMPS/271, +2.5/311

Hi LL :smile:

It's been a couple days since I posted an Eddie condo. Whoops! :oops: All five P's have been very good. He's been getting lots of deck time in, and has been a little bit more rambunctious and playful lately, which I love seeing!

We've been stuck in a pattern of a good cycle followed by some ugly bounce cycles. His SS is looking more yellow and pink lately due to the bounces. Eddie clears bounces relatively quickly, and gets decent nadirs on the 1u dose. That said I think maybe the depot just isn't big enough with the 1u to keep the bouncing at bay.

Per Marje's suggestion, and the suggestion of others over the last several works, I've been experimenting in earnest with food manipulation on those cycles where Eddie's not bouncing. I think he may be bouncing worse when he has fast drops - so I've been seeing what it takes food-wise to slow those drops down, and also to determine what kind of food helps him surf once a drop has been stopped. I think that I've figured out that the LC really doesn't do much to slow a drop. I've had good luck with some 12% FF Medley's. I suspect the greens and other junk in the food helps stop him and seems to actually prop him up for about an hour or so. Food in the 8-10% range seems to help slow down a more gradual drop. Once he's stopped dropping, the lower carb 3-7% seems to help him surf. It also seems like the "lower end" foods like FF actually do better stopping a drop - I'm guessing due to the grains, etc., in some of those foods, compared with some of the higher end grain-free stuff.

Last night Eddie cleared a bounce very late in the cycle again, and started the day with a great AMPS of 115. He had no food spike from his first breffis, so I fed some of the Medley's at +1, which brought him up a little at +2. He got 2nd breffis at +2, which didn't push his numbers. He came right back down at +3, so he got some more Medley's. Fortuitously, DH and I were able to get several spot checks in today, and he stayed nice and flat right around 100 for most of the day. At +5 and +6.5, Eddie got some 5% fuds to help him keep surfing. I'm not sure whether the food manipulation was just spot on this AM, or whether Eddie just wanted to have a gorgeious flat cycle - either way, I'll take it. Unfortunately, by +10.5 he was well on his way back up headed into a bounce this PM. I was hoping the nice flat cycle today wouldn't trigger a bounce.

Obviously, doing food manipulation is going to take some practice, but I think I've at least got some initial data to see what works. So, after that big long update, I have two questions: 1) do I have room to increase back up to 1.25 to try to help with the bouncing, and 2) if he's bounce clearing, and is coming down from high numbers, I'm not sure whether I should wait until he hits some better numbers before intervening with food, or to slow the entire cycle. For example, if he goes from 350 to 250 in an hour, that's a big drop. Should I intervene at that point or wait until he's actually hitting numbers somewhere in the blues?

Vines and hugs and purrs to the kitties and beans who need them today.
 
Very nice flat cycle today. Eddie does seem to be a lot springier on this dose. You could try just fattening the dose, not all the way back to 1.25U. From the protocol:
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction.

Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding a dose in-between the dose that dropped kitty too low and the reduced dose.
He did get a 68 the other night which is a pretty good nadir. Normally I'd suggest holding, but you do test quite a bit and with the higher carb food maybe you can flatten him out a bit.

I'd try to slow any big drops with food as they are going to cause bounces.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top