6/1 Tommy+2 327,+3 227,+4 200,+9.5 184Thank You All!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lauren&Tommy (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

Good Morning LL ~O) ~O)

+8 388~.5R
AMPS ~414 1/2HR Early
+1.5~338
Today is Dental Day for Tommy :-D . Last night he decided to do a little jumping on me and i decided to give some R at +8. I also gave 5.5U of Lantus (half his dose) along with 3/4oz of food a 1/2 hour earlier than normal (5:30cst..... His Dental isn't until 10AM.
Please keep Tommy in your prayers today!
His momma is a bit nervous..

Could I please ask again just to make sure what meds to bring home. I know One is the Buprenix (that's what the vet office called it)
Should i get Clindamycin or Clavamox for the pain. I know that the former is a bit tougher on the tummy some times but works better for the mouth.
I also see on here some times that you feed your kitters baby food after a dental because their mouths are sore. Should I pick some up and if so what kinds are safe for FD babies?

My thoughts and prayers going out to Tobey who is also having a Dental today and for Donovan tomorrow!
I hope that all of you have a wonderful Hump Day.
I'll post his +2.5 right before we walk out the door.. Going to have some coffee with DH now.. Toodles ;-)
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +1.5 338 DENTAL DAY!

Hi Squirrel, good luck and my thoughts and prayers will be with Tommy and you for dental day. My Vet gave Maggie Buprenorphine for pain. It sounds similar. As an antibiotic Maggie had liquid Amoxicillin, but she's had this one before, and it agreed with her. ECID. Maggie loves the Gerber baby food Stage 2 chicken with Gravy, but it has some corn starch in it. She gets it on the tip of a spoon as a reward for the poke. Beechnut Stage 2 Chicken bb is one with no corn starch, maybe a better choice. Maybe pick up one of each or two so she will at least like one. Maggie had no problem eating the FF wet food after the dental. Keep us posted and hugs and stay calm, easier said than done.
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +1.5 338 DENTAL DAY!

Morning!! and good luck! I am sure Tommy will come through this with flying colors. We have used Clavamox as an AB, if they (vet) feel it is needed. Most times, if it is a routine cleaning, no extractions etc, we have not needed AB's. And yes, bupe for the pain. IMHO: no metcam or convenia. Baby food is good if there are eating issues when he gets home. The ones Ann listed are good. It all depends on how sore Tommy's mouth is when he gets home.

Good luck - and do let us know how he does.

Tommy!! It will be OK dude. Me and the KTSS will come and visit you when you get home. No worries - remember to let the vetty know how is boss, ok. that be you. See you soon - take are of them toothies! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +1.5 338 DENTAL DAY!

Good luck with the dental today.

Make sure you emphatically tell your vet, NO CONVENIA (it's an antibiotic that lasts for 2 weeks so if there's a reaction, it can be a problem) and NO METACAM (it's a pain med that now carries an FDA black box warning that it can cause renal failure). I literally told my vet's office 4 times and when I brought Gabby in, I made sure it was written in and across her chart.

The bupe (buprenex or buprenorphine) is the pain med. It is administered either as an oral liquid that you put in the cheek pouch or under the tongue or as a subcutaneous injection (like insulin). A pain med is generally needed only if there are extractions.

The antibiotic may or may not be necessary. From what I remember, Tommy's teeth are really needing the dental. The vet may opt for an antibiotic. Often, they will give an AB injection. My vet does this and rarely follows with at home ABs.

Remember to get a BG test as soon as you get Tommy home. This will give you a comparison so you will know if his PMPS is a dropping number. Baby food is always a good idea in case of extractions.

If the vet gives you ABs for Tommy, if you don't have FortiFlora in the house, you may ask the vet for some. A probiotic like FortiFlora will offset any poo problems that may arise as a result of the ABs.
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +1.5 338 DENTAL DAY!

Hi guys ... I know how you are feeling, I think all of us feel nervous when our babies go in for dentals! Mocha never needed baby food, she was able to eat that night when she got home .. we just made it soupy :-D Tommy will do just fine today!
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +1.5 338 DENTAL DAY!

We used clavamox for Moonie's 2 dentals & Copper's also--worked great and Buprenex for pain is great also, you just syringe it into the cheek & it works great--Prayers for an easy dental..
Just test when he gets home & feed in small quantities--you dont want a scarf & barf--
Also SOME cats experience a drop in bg's after a dental as the anesthesia can lower the bg's in Some cats, so keep your eye out--OK?
He'll be home before you know it!

Tommy, You is going to have beautiful clean toofies!! It feels real good--Cant wait to see your new smile--Hugs from Moonie!! :-D
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +1.5 338, +2.5 also 338 DENTAL DAY!

+2.5 was also 338.. We're headin out the door.. Tommy in hand, Coffee in hand, DH in hand..
Thank you all for the prayers and info this morning..
When we took Tommy in for his Vac last week I told the vet about the NO NO drugs and they were written on his folder and I have a lime green sticky with Bold Letters once again on it that says DO NOT GIVE METACAM
DO NOT GIVE CONVENIA.. :-D That i will be giving them..
BBL you guys.. Hugs :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +1.5 338, +2.5 also 338 DENTAL DAY!

Hey, where did you get the third hand, I need one of those!! :lol:

Good luck with the dental! Update us when you can.
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +1.5 338, +2.5 also 338 DENTAL DAY!

Lauren: Just sending you thoughts and prayers for Tommy's dental today!!!! Take care and please keep us posted.
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +1.5 338, +2.5 also 338 DENTAL DAY!

Lauren, You and Tommy will be in my thoughts and prayers today. Things will go well, I'm sure and Tommy will be on the road to recovery in no time. We all care about you guys, so keep us posted. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +1.5 338, +2.5 also 338 DENTAL DAY!

Sending good dental vines to Tommy today! He will be ok and he will look so much better with those pearly whites!
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +1.5 338, +2.5 also 338 DENTAL DAY!

morning lauren - i'm sure tommy will be fine today. you've gotten good advice from everyone else, so i'll just send my wishes for you to feel calm! punkin ate the baby food, but he preferred just watered down FF.
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +1.5 338, +2.5 also 338 DENTAL DAY!

Just want to pass on good wishes for a smooth dental today. Sending hugs for you and Tommy.
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +1.5 338, +2.5 also 338 DENTAL DAY!

Good Luck at the dentist Tommy,

Leo and I are sending your good dental vibes your way and hope everything works out OK.

Update us when you can
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +1.5 338, +2.5 also 338 DENTAL DAY!

Hey Tommy, I'll be thinking good thoughts for your dental day and the KTSS will be along later to help you with the vetty smell.

Your pal,
Rusty
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +1.5 338, +2.5 also 338 DENTAL DAY!

Hi Squirrel, Champ and I are sending you prayers and good thoughts for Tommy's dental today. I know everything will be fine!!!! Tommy's a trooper!! :-D
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +1.5 338, +2.5 also 338 DENTAL DAY!

Hello everyone!! Healing vines and prayers and good wishes accomplished!! Thank you all so much for dropping by this morning to wish him Well.. It worked! AAAAAAhhhhh!! The power of LL prayers :-D
I just spoke with the Vets office and Tommy is awake and doing just fine. They said we can pick him up at 3pm. Not soon enough for me :smile:
He needed the broken k-9 tooth pulled and 2 other extractions both which had lesions on them but they said she would explain when we get there.. His BG was 377 so not much change from this mornings +2.5.. Yeah!!
I will test as soon as i get him home.

I wanted to also let all of you know that the vet we saw today who will be Tommys vet and who did his dental today:
IS FREAKIN AWESOME!. We were able to meet with her before the dental this morning and she is amazing. She is currently treating about 5-7 other kitties with FD and has a few of those clients that are very familiar with FDMB if not members. I'm not sure! Everything about the pre dental meeting was just wonderful. Both my husband and I walked out of there after dropping Tommy off with an enormous amount of weight lifted from our shoulders. She is much younger than my last vet, willing to learn, was very knowledgeable about FD, easy to talk with, not pushy, and finally some one with whom I won't be afraid to call if I have a concern or question. However, no one can ever take the place of all of you. EVER!! :-D :-D. All of you have come to be like family to me and for that I will always be grateful.
I also feel that we now have a home for our 5 other furbabies and 2 droolers.
Well, I have to go for now but i wanted to update and tell you all that so far today has been wonderful all around. DH and I couldn't be happier!
Hugs to all of you wonderful, wonderful LL peeps :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +1.5 338, Update! He's awake and fin

awesome! all around great news - sounds like you've found a winner with your vet and so glad tommy did fine! bet you're breathing a sigh of relief now.
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +1.5 338, Update! He's awake and fin

Wonderful news about Tommy and finding an awesome Vet.

Guardian Angel Al did some guided meditation w/Tommy just before he went under. Sd. Tommy had some very calming dreams and is feeling a little high right now...but doing OK. Tommy told Al that the meds were much better than catnip. :lol:
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +1.5 338, Update! He's awake and fin

Great news about the dental (make sure they did post-procedure x-rays so you know there's not tooth fragments left from the extraction) and about finding a great vet!!

ETA: Don't forget about scarf-and-barf. Tommy will be hungry when he gets home. He hasn't eaten all day. DO NOT give him lots of food all at once. Anesthesia slows down the GI track. Only give him about a teaspoon of food at a time and spread it out every 30 min. or more. Otherwise, he'll eat then puke.
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +1.5 338, Update! He's awake and fin

Hi Squirrel, I'm so happy Tommy's dental went well and he came thru it okay. Wow, it does sound like you have an awesome Vet and experienced with FD. I know there are Vets experienced with FD but hard to find. I remember Maggie was done with her dental around 11 am, but I also could not pick her up until 3:00 pm. That's good as they will keep monitoring Tommy. I know you are relieved. Sienne above gave you some great info about what to do when you get Tommy home. Hugs.
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +1.5 338, Update! He's awake and fin

good news all around! :mrgreen:
just wanted to add to sienne's feeding instrux... grab a test when you get tommy home. you'll want to have some data before shooting tonight. a reduced dose may be suggested for tonight's shot because one of the after effects of anesthesia can be what we call the nom-nom effect... the anesthesia can have a blood glucose lowering effect. we don't see it happen with every cat, but we see it enough to often suggest shooting a reduced dose immediately following a dental.
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +1.5 338, Update! He's awake and fin

My Tommy is back home :-D :-D . 3 extractions, only the broken k9 tooth needed sutures.
The other 2 teeth had neck lesions on them and she said they came out very smoothly. Since they don't have the capabilities at this Vets to have post x-rays (they only have regular x-ray machines). I did ask and she said that she feels 95% sure that everything was removed. They have a digital x-ray machine at their other location 30miles away and said that if he runs into problems we can take him there to check.
He's acting real funky right now, he's very hungry, DUH!!! He's alert and i've just fed him a little food and offered some water. He seems to be just fine. They did give him an injection of Bupe after his dental. I was sent home with more Bupe and a supply of clavamox. He has a post dental check up next Wednesday.
His number at +10 is 482, I guess what i'm wondering is if I should just play it safe and only give 1/2 dose again tonight and go from there. his pm shot is at 6cst..

To all of you again, Thank you so very much for the warm wishes and prayers for Tommy and me today........ It worked wonderfully! I need to check on my boy here, so i'm going to go now, but i'll be back later to hopefully catch up on some condos.

Again, my thoughts and prayers go out to Tobey and his echo appt tomorrow that everything turns out just fine and that Donovan has a safe and successful Dental tomorrow.
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +10 482 Tommy's Home!!

Awwww great news Squirrel, i'm so happy that Tommy is home and doing fine.
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +10 482 Tommy's Home!!

sounds like good news! Sorry he had to have extractions, but I'm glad the icky toofies are outta there.

About dose, I would get a +12 and see where he is. I don't think I would shoot the full dose tonight just in case he drops from the anesthesia. It will be easier to decide how much to shoot when you see if he has already started dropping by +12.
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +10 482 Tommy's Home!!

Squirrel, so happy for you that your boy is home, safe and sound! AND, with bad toofers gone! By tomorrow, he'll be back to his old self.

I love good outcomes! :-D
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +10 482 Tommy's Home!!

what time is your +12? I need to test/shoot and eat but don't want to miss your test.
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy +10 482, PMPS 435 Tommy's Home!!

sorry got no input on dosing

bump

glad to know the dental went well....and you have a good vet!!!
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +10 482 Tommy's Home!!

ok, here's what I'm thinking. This seems crazy with numbers in the 400s, but some cats haven't started their big drop until after shot time. Tommy is already dropping some, so I would be reallllllly cautious with his insulin tonight. I would probably throw something in the shed, but not much and no R. How do you feel about half dose (5.5u)?

Tommy might be one of those cats who doesn't drop from the anesthesia at all, but it's not safe to assume that.
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy AMPS 414, +10 482 Tommy's Home!!

and my thoughts...

he's dropping a little already.
i was thinking a half dose (5.5u) and no R, but go with your gut. you know tommy better than i do.
if it's not enough insulin you can always shoot some R after +6 or +8.
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy +10 482, PMPS 435 Tommy's Home!!

Libby, My husband and i were just thinking about giving 8u, but we can certainly go with 5.5u and adjust tomorrow morning if need be.. I agree completely, I have no intention of giving R..
Thanks for hanging around. I'll go shoot now and keep you all updated.
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy +10 482, PMPS 435 Tommy's Home!!

That's a great idea both of you. I just gave 5.5U and we'll keep an eye on him and adjust dosing and Give R if needed tonight.. I sure appreciate the help with this.. I hope you enjoy your supper Libby.
I need to shower and get some supper myself. I hope to catch up on condos tonight!
Hugs to you all! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy +10 482, PMPS 435 Tommy's Home!!

Hi Squirrel, so glad you have Tommy home now and got advice on his dose. I know it's been a long day for you. Hugs and will catch up later to see how Tommy is doing.
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy +10 482, PMPS 435 Tommy's Home!!

I'm so glad everything went well and he is safely home. Also glad you only gave the half dose.....after what we've seen around LL lately with dentals, I really think it's such a good idea to be safe and wonderful that Jill and Libby checked in on the dose. I hope you all get a restful night and that you'll see some progress on his BG now that his teeth are out.

BIG HUGS!!!!! ;-)
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy +10 482, PMPS 435 Tommy's Home!!

I second everything everyone else has said!! So glad he's home and that those bad teeth are gone. Have a good evening with that fine Tommy Cat!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy PMPS 435,+2 327,+3 227Thank You All!!

I didn't think anything could make feel happy tonight, but hearing that Tommy is home and healthy, did the trick!! I am so relieved for you. I know it was a hard decision to make and now it's all done. Hooray!
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy PMPS 435,+2 327,+3 227Thank You All!!

I like the number, I just need him to slow down just a bit.. You hear me Tommy, just slow down a little ok!
I'm sorry I've not gotten to many condos today, Tommy is needing my attention and I must admit I'm keeping an eye on him for any little changes that look out of the ordinary. I haven't given him any Bupe since the injection they gave him. I'm wondering if i should give him some before bed tonight. He is being such a brave soldier. I'm proud of him and can't tell you how glad i am he is home and ok! He really seems to be doing well. He's eating fine and being a little skittish, but seems to be calming down even more now.
His eyes don't quite look like Curry's did, but they are a little bigger than normal. I'll try to get a photo of him before they go down.
Again to every one of you, I wish i could give all of you individual real hugs for saying prayers and wishing him well on his first dental. The support was overwhelming. I'm really very tired, so i think i'm going to try and lay down with Tommy and keep him close to me.
With his numbers dropping like they are i'm going to be testing at least every hour right now. Please know that I am thinking about all of you and your babies and wishing you well. I look forward to checking in on more condos soon.
Lauren & Tommy :-D :-D
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy PMPS 435,+2 327,+3 227Thank You All!!

So awesome that you have a great update and found a really awesome vet. They are a rare species, but they are out there. There are some documented first hand experiences here on FMDB and you are now added to that list. Hugs to Tommy and wishing him a fast glitch free recovery.
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy PMPS 435,+2 327,+3 227Thank You All!!

So glad to hear that tommy's dental went well .. I know you are feeling so relieved having it done and over and I'm sure Tommy is going to start feeling so much better ... What a brave little man you were Tommy!
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy PMPS 435,+2 327,+3 227Thank You All!!

What a great update! I am glad that all went well. :-D :-D and a great vet too! I too think the half dose for tonight was a wise move, especially considering the drops. It is good to read that you will be testing. Good luck - you guys have done great today. Awesome!
 
Re: 6/1 Tommy PMPS 435,+2 327,+3 227Thank You All!!

I think I missed all the excitement today. So happy to hear that Tommy is home and doing well especially now that the bad toothies are gone. Simon was given bupe at the vet and then we gave him a few doses of bupe over the next few days. We didn't give him anymore the night after his dental. We started it in the morning. It is also wonderful to hear you found a great vet. Congratulations!

Keeping you and Tommy in my prayers this evening.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top