6/1 Simon AMPS 382

Status
Not open for further replies.

Simon'sMommy

Very Active Member
Was hoping to see yellow numbers again cause for a good week, that is pretty much where he was from 5/18 to 5/26 when he began his climb back into the pink numbers. Except for his foray into blue that one day and the one pink 300 which was on the cusp, every day was yellow. Ever since, he has been in the 300's. Today is a high one at 382 which I don't understand.

I did not do a reading before bed last night for the first time as hubby and I were not feeling well and went to bed early and Simon was in a great mood and playful so I knew he was fine. Every once in a while, you have to leave the poor baby be. I have been poking him an awful lot lately and he is pretty good natured about it so I cut him a break last night. He still got the treat though cause he looks forward to his pure bite.

We got him the doggie sized ones as they are cheaper and my husband is giving Simon TWO of those. I told him he needs to cut ONE of those in half. The reason Simon ballooned up in weight is hubby was feeding Simon like a bag of those Temptation treats a day prior to his diagnosis.

Ok, done venting. Hoping to get a few readings today. Which hours do you suggest I test based on what you would like to see? I have been doing a lot of +3 and +5 and +6 so let me know what you think I should get today so we can see if he needs a dose increase/decrease.
 
+4 was 204 - still dropping slowly which is good. When he drops really fast, he bounces back up big time. Hoping he still drops slowly and has his nadir at +6 instead of +5 and then slowly climbs until PMPS...we shall see. He is eating slowly today and keeps going back to his bowl for bites so his numbers are food influenced. He is a grazer and we can't get him eating "meals" so that is another issue but others do it this way so not going to stress about this part. :shock:
 
AMPS 382
+ 2 - 240
+ 4 - 204
+6 - 182

Nice gentle descent today :cool:

I expect to see his +8 in the 200's again if he stays steady today and doesn't bounce and then will hopefully see a +10 still in yellow land. Hope so anyway! Then we will be a happy mom and kitty. cat_pet_icon party_cat
 
Beautiful day he's having today. Since you are well on your way to a full curve you might as well get a +8 & +10 to see when he starts back up.
 
Thanks Robin. That is the plan today. He is cooperating well. He came running when I said "Simon, time for "Ears" which is what we call it. :lol:
 
AMPS 382
+ 2 - 240
+ 4 - 204
+6 - 182
+8 - 242

He is on the climb as expected. His + 8 is equal to his +2.
Expecting pink tonight but hoping his +10 is not pink but yellow.
 
AMPS 382
+ 2 - 240
+ 4 - 204
+6 - 182
+8 - 242
+10 - 332 :roll: :sad:

And, this afternoon, the only real food has been his PureBites chicken so this is not very food influenced. What now? Is it time for a dose increase? He has been on the 2.25 for two weeks and it is just not lasting long enough. I don't think his pinks are bounces. I think it is just not enough insulin to get him to the next dose. He has had a few greens, but not for a while and so not sure if that is relevant at this point.

Comments? Advice? What do you suggest? If I do go to 2.5, it would not be until tomorrow as I don't want to increase him on a PM shot.
 
Also, I have been testing long enough to know that Simon's nadir on this dose or on 2 units is between hour 4 and 5.
 
If you give a shot, the clock rejustarts, so your +18 is.really +6 (assuming you shot at pmpd)
 
You are going to want to stay on top of that +4 76, he has a few more hours to go to nadir.

You can feed him some regular low carb food to slow down the drop. Move to medium carb or high carb if he drops below 50.
 
Was not sure on that +18 vs +6. Common sense told me it was +6, but was unsure if people reading would understand it was his second +6 of the day but of course they would! :oops:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top