6/1 Pumbaa AMPS/268 +3/251 +6/327 +11/378 PMPS/363

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
I jinxed us this morning by typing into the SS how great Pumbaa was reacting to this dose increase, and how he didn't exhibit New Dose Wonkiness or major bounces.

No worries. So he's back in the pink. At least it's not red or black! And hopefully he won't take a dive tonight, since I really, really, really need some sleep! I actually tested him at midnight last night then again at 3 am because at midnight he was at 163 and dropping.

I swear, one of these days I am going to hire someone to come here and watch over my animals so I can get 8 hours of uninterrupted sleep. Yeah, right! *LOL* Thank god for cell phones with alarm clocks!

Suze
 
Pumbaa said:
I jinxed us this morning by typing into the SS how great Pumbaa was reacting to this dose increase, and how he didn't exhibit New Dose Wonkiness or major bounces.

No worries. So he's back in the pink. At least it's not red or black! And hopefully he won't take a dive tonight, since I really, really, really need some sleep! I actually tested him at midnight last night then again at 3 am because at midnight he was at 163 and dropping.

I swear, one of these days I am going to hire someone to come here and watch over my animals so I can get 8 hours of uninterrupted sleep. Yeah, right! *LOL* Thank god for cell phones with alarm clocks!

Suze

It's OK, you may not see the NDW immediately because you have shed that helps you out, and you are right to notice that it may be a step back to pink for a day or so, but it's not two steps back to red or black.

Bit by bit, you will see progress.... look to Pumbaa for the lead, and the numbers will follow.
If you ever worry about the chance of dropping low overnite, I am almost positive that Pumbaa will not yell at you in the morn if you leave a wee nice snack of MC.
 
That's looking pretty good.

I might need to take the inspiration and start slowly marching up the ladder. :smile:

(just wish we could keep the nadirs at the *nadir* so we know what they really are)
 
Check this out: http://fdlibrary.yuku.com/topic/51/t/Shot-Placement-Overlap.html#.T8pYj8XxGt8.

There is so much to know!!!! I asked my husband where he is giving the shot. He said the scruff. I always give it along the spine because somewhere I read that is better. Max flinches every time I do that, and my husband hates to hurt him. (I pull the needle back a little to make sure I'm not in the muscle or giving a fur shot before I administer the dose.)

This link above recommends that you give the shot in the flank -- along the cat's side between the ribs and the hip. A shot in the scruff is supposed to provide slower absorption and a later nadir. This may explain some of the up and down pre-shot numbers. I'm using a spot that provides better, faster absorption with an earlier nadir, and he's using a spot that will increase the possibility that the insulin will last longer than 12 hours. Oh, boy! It may be that we have to be consistent if we are ever going to stop this "bouncing" and find a nadir.

The link goes on to suggest that if you cat is found to have an early nadir, you could shot in the scruff to slow down the absorption. A little advanced for me right now, but at least it gives me hope there may be a solution if consistently shooting in the same general area doesn't help.
 
Gayle Shadoe & Oliver said:
If you ever worry about the chance of dropping low overnite, I am almost positive that Pumbaa will not yell at you in the morn if you leave a wee nice snack of MC.

That's good advice, Gayle.

Here's a question...since my cats are free-feeding, does encouraging Pumbaa to eat more high-protein food when he's dropping help better than giving carbed food in the long run? I know the carbed food will raise his blood sugar quicker (like if he drops below 50), but from my own personal experience, when my blood sugar is dropping and I have physical symptoms, the only thing that helps me is protein. But that's me, and I'm strange.

Suze
 
Dale 'n' Chip said:
(just wish we could keep the nadirs at the *nadir* so we know what they really are)

From your mouth to God's ear! Sometimes what is supposed to be Pumbaa's nadir is the highest reading of the day!

Good luck with Chip! Be patient, you'll get there. I really like the low and slow protocol for Pumbaa because it seems to take him longer to settle into his doses, and he wasn't reacting well with all of those black and red numbers. I'm amazed he's at the point he's at right now, not even two months after I started giving him the insulin.

BTW, I was just laughing over your names - I think I'll just call you and your cat "Chippendale's". :)

Suze
 
max&emmasmommie said:
There is so much to know!!!!

Dale, ain't that the truth!

I shoot Pumbaa in two areas...the right flank or the left shoulder area, well below the spine. I rotate the sites (shoulder in the morning and flank at night) and I keep those two areas buzzed (Wahl hair trimmers) so that I can see what I'm doing. Switching from shoulder to flank doesn't appear to change the insulin absorption rate, as sometimes Pumbaa has his lowest numbers in the AM cycle, and sometimes at night.

Here's another link about where to shoot: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=65933&p=717560&hilit=injection+site#p717560.

Good detective work on the differences you are seeing, and hopefully a more consistent injection site is going to help Max. If you do get consistent with flank-shooting, do left in the morning and right at night, or vice versa to prevent those insulin granules from forming. One link I said to think of the injection area like a clock and rotate around that area so the insulin isn't always going in exactly the same area.

Are we having fun yet? :)

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top