This is why we are holding the dose at the 1.25. Good job! What hours will you be gone and about when will you be back. I’m glad it’s in the morning.The 252 surprised me a bit so I did immediately repeat and got 260. Going to feed him morning meal. @Suzanne & Darcy
Leaving house about 2:30 (about +6) and should be back before 4:30 PM. Hopefully he will still be grazing at 2:00-2:30 as a cushion.This is why we are holding the dose at the 1.25. Good job! What hours will you be gone and about when will you be back. I’m glad it’s in the morning.
Oh. I thought you were going out in the first part of the cycle. I got mixed up. Well, you know what to doLeaving house about 2:30 (about +6) and should be back before 4:30 PM. Hopefully he will still be grazing at 2:00-2:30 as a cushion.
I'm already nervous about leaving.
I coaxed him out to eat some of his Fancy Feast left from breakfast as usual. I will check him again around 2 PM which will be +6. Then if I have to get him to eat some higher carb canned food, I have time before we leave.Not really a huge drop between 252 and 189. I’m actually pleased to see blue, which means we will hd the dose for 10 days (unless he drops below 90). You have some hours left - about 2.5 hours before you have to leave. You could feed him a tsp of low carb canned food now if you like.
Good plan.I coaxed him out to eat some of his Fancy Feast left from breakfast as usual. I will check him again around 2 PM which will be +6. Then if I have to get him to eat some higher carb canned food, I have time before we leave.
Beautiful.Posted PMPS 430 shot 1.25 as planned.
Good morning, Linda. If he’s starting at 353, don’t you feel comfortable giving the 1.25?Good morning, @Suzanne & Darcy
Newman tested 242 AMPS. After yesterday, I have questions. Should I wait 20 minutes and retest? Depending on that test result, would it be a consideration to give a .25 reduction? He seems to drop rapidly on those low morning test results setting up bouncing? I know this is all based on my inexperience in treatment.
UPDATE: After 20 minute delay he tested at 353. Going to feed and still not sure of the dose.
It’s up to you. He’s pretty high and usually does okay when he starts out that high. Maybe you can get. +4 to see if he needs feeding. Or just give him a low carb snack at that time anyway. It’s a pretty good time for some LC.
Well, we are only committed to it if Newman is!Honestly, I'm leaning toward the 1.25, mostly because we were committed to staying with that dose for 10 days. I guess I should see where that goes. Good point, I can test him at +4 and act accordingly.
Good.Getting a +4 check, he is 235. Expect to be able to check again at +7 - +8.
I will be able to be up to check him. Here I though I did a good thing. Should I have waited or reduced the dose?Yikes, Linda. Are you nervous. He gave you a 267. Will you be up for a while to monitor him?
I did look at the spreadsheet for other PMPS yellow numbers and saw where I had stayed with the dose (at that time) and he did fine.Normally, I wouldn't think anything about a 267, but you never know with Newman. And ProZinc.
No. You are doing great. And you are learning Newman’s patterns. It’s just that I was worried about you getting concerned about him dropping this evening after this past weekend. You’ve done everything right.I did look at the spreadsheet for other PMPS yellow numbers and saw where I had stayed with the dose (at that time) and he did fine.
I'm afraid I'm not learning this stuff. What would have been a better thing for me to have done?
You did perfectly.I will be able to be up to check him. Here I though I did a good thing. Should I have waited or reduced the dose?
Well, you're right about me being concerned. I worry when he is high and I fear that he will go too low. I'm sure I'm not alone, that there are other folks that feel that way in treating their cats, especially when we are in the learning phase, not that I expect any true consistency! I will be happy if he holds in the blue.No. You are doing great. And you are learning Newman’s patterns. It’s just that I was worried about you getting concerned about him dropping this evening after this past weekend. You’ve done everything right.
I did not think of the meter switch, but there is one other example the first day on the ReliOn in 5/30. On that day, he was 271, very similar and the dose was 1.25. He went up to 324 at +2, after eating.Which days did you look at on his spreadsheet for an example of how he did with a yellow pre-shot? It’s a little tricky because some of those readings were on the Alpha Trak. It’s difficult to compare.
I should be able to test him again in 2 hours.Looks like he is doing well.
I think you are reading it right. The numbers I was looking at and referring to on 5/26 are PMPS and you are looking at the AMPS.On May 26, he was at 222. By a little after +7 he was at 82 then 90. Now, I do not think he was in any danger.
That probably explains it, I don't know how to read the bouncing. It seems to me like that is all he does is bounce!Yes. But I think in the PM cycle you were looking at, he was bouncing from the AM cycle - bouncing from the greens of the morning cycle. That’s why I think he went pink at +2
Just posted 251 @ 3.75. I don't think I will continue to test tonight. He has just eaten the remainder of his Fancy Feast and I used a couple of the higher carb treats for testing.He is bouncy - he does it quite a bit. Even from blues. I think today may have been a sort of slow clearing of a bounce from yesterday’s blue when you had to go out. Red last night, pink this morning, long string of yellows this afternoon and evening. So, I am wondering where he will be by morning? It doesn’t look like any dramatic drops tonight though.
Thanks for staying with us. Good night.Looks all flat to me. Good night, Linda, Newman, Ozzie and Minnie!