6/1 Mouzer AMPS 418

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cherryl & Mouzer

Member Since 2017
5/31 - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-31-mouzer-amps-335.178625/#post-1973063


AMPS / 418 / 1u
+2 / 300
+4 / 306
+9 / 400
PMPS / 318 / 1u


I have been moving Mouzer's time back because of Wednesday night church. Church is 6:30pm to 7:30pm and with the 15 minute window for Lantus, and it being not good to give the shot early, well this is just hard haha The vet had told me I have a two hour window, either way, and that was going to work with things I need to change that shot time for.

I would have to run out of the church house, to make it home by 8pm for a shot. If we have ice cream social, I wouldnt be able to stay for it, because I would have to rush home for a shot. And, if my vehicle broke down, after church, I wouldnt be able to get home in time for that shot. I do not have a trustworthy vehicle to be able to have to rush home to give a shot. That vehicle has broken down on me so many times, I cant count them. It is better to give it before leaving the house.

I had Mouzer's shots going 7am and 7pm, because it works out better for everything else I have to do. I need it where the shot is given at 5:45pm, so I can leave for church at 6pm. And this really stinks haha because that time does not go with everything else I have to do. However, it might work out better for the evening, so I can do a +2 and get on to bed, to be up at 4am. But it sure isnt workin with what I have to do in the morning hours. And my husband is going to cuss me out the first time this interferes with his selfish life :)

I have an appointment, so I wont get as many test in on Mouzer for today.
Ok - gotta go get this day done -


Edit to add: I just noticed AMPS in the subject lines coming out and I laughed -
AMPS -- amps - Mouzer is amped in the am :D
 
Last edited:
AMPS / 418 / 1u
+2 / 300
+4 / 306

Mouzer is having an up day, thinking more like the 29th.
I wont be able to get a +6 today, but I will get a read as soon as I get back home.
 
Hi Cherryl and Mouzer,
Haven't visited before, so welcome to the board:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Does look like an up day, I wouldn't worry about not being able to get a +6, looks like a bounce of the blues/fast drop yesterday (5/31).
Bounces when they occur can last up to 6 cycles, though sometimes they can clear them sooner. So you may have a few more up days, until he starts to clear this bounce.

Have a good day.
 
AMPS / 418 / 1u
+2 / 300
+4 / 306
+9 / 400



Hi Cherryl and Mouzer,
Haven't visited before, so welcome to the board:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Does look like an up day, I wouldn't worry about not being able to get a +6, looks like a bounce of the blues/fast drop yesterday (5/31).
Bounces when they occur can last up to 6 cycles, though sometimes they can clear them sooner. So you may have a few more up days, until he starts to clear this bounce.

Have a good day.

I am so accustomed to the up days. It is the blue day I found surprising haha
Yesterday, the ball came down, bounced on the floor, to go right back up. We are back in comfort zone now hahahaha :D
And I know this, where he is now, is what we are trying to change, but I am used to the up, much more than I am used to any blue day.
 
I was just searching to see if there is something you do for when a kitty's sugar does go up, other than the shots you give. I have seen here, we use food to help when sugar goes too low. So, I thought, there must be a natural way to do this, when it goes up. I havent found that answer yet but I did find this and so, 300 is ok for a kitty?

This is what I found on google....

What is normal blood sugar for a cat?
It helps to determine insulin effectiveness and the maximum and minimum levels of glycemia, which ideally should be between 120–300 mg/dL (5.6–16.7mmol/L) for cats for most of the day.
 
I was just searching to see if there is something you do for when a kitty's sugar does go up, other than the shots you give. I have seen here, we use food to help when sugar goes too low. So, I thought, there must be a natural way to do this, when it goes up. I havent found that answer yet but I did find this and so, 300 is ok for a kitty?

This is what I found on google....

What is normal blood sugar for a cat?
It helps to determine insulin effectiveness and the maximum and minimum levels of glycemia, which ideally should be between 120–300 mg/dL (5.6–16.7mmol/L) for cats for most of the day.
The key is the right dose of insulin along with feeding low carb food. Many owners find that getting their kitty to be more active/play more can help lower BG.
 
The key is the right dose of insulin along with feeding low carb food. Many owners find that getting their kitty to be more active/play more can help lower BG.


Oh -- Mouzer is not going to play hahaha
Mouzer is a mature kitty. Most of these in my care are around his age and up to 14. They really arent into playing. There are a few four year olds, who will play with the lazer light machine thing that turns with the lazer, I forget what it is called. But these older ones just watch the 'kids' play. Mouzer really never has been a playful kitty. He and his brother, Mahoney, just like to watch.

Mouzer's siblings were all like Mouzer. Big Russian Blue kitties. There was Mouzer, Mahoney, BooBoo and TC (TC is for Tin Can).

I have Mouzer and Mahoney. BooBoo and TC disappeared at the apartment complex where I found two cat colonies. I did get all four of these guys neutered. It is possible that BooBoo was taken in by somebody at the complex but I think TC might have gotten killed by a vehicle.

TC got his name, because TC was wilder than these others. He wouldnt let me touch him. This was before I got him trapped and neutered. He showed up one morning with a darn rusty tin can stuck on his head. The rim was around his neck and the can was busted open at the bottom so his head did stick out but he was walking around with his head stuck up in the air, due to the rim being around his neck.

It took me a week to get that thing off of him because he wouldnt let me near him. One day, he was at the dumpster. I had put food out over there. I pretended like I wasnt even paying attention and walked slowly all around. I had a long sturdy stick in my hand. Real fast like, while TC was eating, I somehow managed to get that stick stuck at the rim of that can and I slowly pulled and TC started backing away but between my not letting go and however he moved his head, that can slipped off of his head! I was so happy.

I had prayed, cried and agonized over that all week long, saying God - please help me help him get that can off of his head!!

But I do think TC got killed. Kitties were always gettin ran over on the roads that ran by the apartment complex. There were woods behind our complex building, where I found one cat colony, and woods across the street, behind another building, where I found the other cat colony. This was when I lived in the city limits and our traffic in town is bumper to bumper near 24/7.
 
AMPS / 418 / 1u
+2 / 300
+4 / 306
+9 / 400
PMPS / 318 / 1u

Today has turned out to be a mixture of all days, minus yesterday blues.
By tomorrow morning, Mouzer's shot time will be set at a most inconvenient time with how my morning schedule goes.
I cant keep up this way of doing for too much longer. 15 minutes is bull-dookey.
I have way too much on my plate to have to go around feeling like crap all day. I am tired, irritable, blurry and red eyed, weak, shaky, dizzy, anemic and everything I have to do has fallen behind. I cant afford to take care of my health and rest was all I had. I am now totally having to give up rest. This is not good for me or any animal I care for or anyone who ever deals with me.
 
The vet had told me I have a two hour window, either way, and that was going to work with things I need to change that shot time for.
Lantus craves consistency. A 30 minute either way is usually not a big deal if your life/schedule mandates it but I would definitely not go for a 2 hour window. When you give Lantus as much as an hour earlier, it can act like a dose increase and if you give it as much as an hour later it works like a decrease. A lot of us if we know if advance that we need to shoot earlier or later we will start adjusting the dose back or forward a few days before.
 
AMPS / 418 / 1u
+2 / 300
+4 / 306
+9 / 400
PMPS / 318 / 1u
+2 / 208

The ball is gettin close to the floor - I wonder if it hits, so it has that bounce force upward again.



Lantus craves consistency. A 30 minute either way is usually not a big deal if your life/schedule mandates it but I would definitely not go for a 2 hour window. When you give Lantus as much as an hour earlier, it can act like a dose increase and if you give it as much as an hour later it works like a decrease. A lot of us if we know if advance that we need to shoot earlier or later we will start adjusting the dose back or forward a few days before.

I dont always have days warning. It is often a jump up, got to do this, at any given time. Just to have his shot time work with a Wednesday evening is messed up to go with my every morning and now it is that he gets the shot and I can hope he will be ok if I cant get back to him within two hours. Mouzer may get messed up here and there because there needs to be a lot more window room, than any 15 to 30 minutes, to allow what takes place in life. It is all just a bad deal. There is nothing I can do about it, though, so whatever happens will just have to happen.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top