6/1 Black | AMPS 134 | +4 34, +5 41 @ Vet | +7, 86

zerovector

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/black-5-30-pmps-556.263965


Today I had an appointment at the vet, which happens to coincide with his +4 test. He clocked in a 34, so I immediately tried to get him to eat his high carb food. He didn't want it, so I figured I'll just rush him to the vet (it's about 5 minutes away) I rubbed some sugar water on his mouth and took him. They tested him there at 41 and gave him some dextrose.

Doctor seems to agree that the current plan is working (I explained TR to him), and he at first suggested that I just skip tonight's shot, however I pointed out that last night he was 425 at PMPS.

I explained that I'd be dropping his dose to 1.25 and he thought that sounded good.
Should I be dropping any lower? Seems like every time I lower his dose it doesn't take long for him to get into the danger zone. Doctor says it almost seems like he's trying or getting to remission but I'm not sure we're there yet.
 
Last edited:
Just take the ,25 decrease. I’d start getting a+2 test. You might have been able to prevent the drop so low had you done that and fed some food. Waiting until +4 was too late.
 
Just take the ,25 decrease. I’d start getting a+2 test. You might have been able to prevent the drop so low had you done that and fed some food. Waiting until +4 was too late.

I usually do +3, because nothing usually nothing happens by +2. However, today I couldn't get back from work fast enough so it ended up being a +4 test.
 
Good luck with the 1.25 units. How was the vet visit otherwise?
Vet noted that he's gained weight, and that his fur looks better, signed off on TR, and said to continue with the diet. And got a nail trim.

I also ordered a fructosamine lab
 
Back
Top