6/1/14 Mom-mom AMPS hi, +6-268,+10-229

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mom-Mom

Member Since 2014
I am so happy to see this number. I had hardly no sleep at all last night because it seemed like her heartbeat was really fast, when in reality that was normal for felines. I have seen nothing but hi for the last few days. Every time anyone see's me I am reading one of the Clinical Review Arts by THE CLINICS. I have a few for feline diabetes. Anyway, I couldnt figure out why I was only seeing "hi" for the past few days. I read an article by Dr. Lisa and in it says:
If you change your diabetic cat's diet to one with lower carbohydrates, he will, in all probability, IMMEDIATELY (not days or weeks later) require a reduction in his insulin dosage. He may also immediately go into 'remission' and not need any insulin at all.

If this warning is ignored, you may very well end up with a cat in a hypoglycemic crisis (dangerously low blood sugar) which can result in death, or brain damage

If you take only one point away from this page, it needs to be the understanding that if you stop pouring carbs into your cat by switching to a low-carb canned food diet (or even a dry food diet with lower carbs than you have been feeding), you MUST be aware of the probable immediate and significant impact on your cat's insulin needs.

Now I adjusted her dose from 1.75 to 1.50 this morning. She was on "hi" when I gave it to her, but here we are now at +6 and I am getting a 268. I am soooo happy
 
Re: 6/1/14 Mom-mom AMPS hi, +6-268

Laura

It is likely you would have seen a drop at the higher dose too.

When the pre-shot is high, Keep The Dose The Same. Lantus doses are adjusted by the nadir, not the pre-shot

Now in your own words, what did you understand me to write? I want to be sure you get it.
 
Re: 6/1/14 Mom-mom AMPS hi, +6-268

The food that she WAS eating was higher in carbs. I have been trying several different kinds because she is so finiky. This "Newman's Own" is one of the lowest carbs I have ever given her. With that being said I thought I would give Dr. Lisa's advice a shot, as far as a food switch. To me (So far) it looks like its working. She has been STEADY on "hi" for the past few days. I even pointed out how Dr. Lisa recommended this site as far as advice. I think some people took it the wrong way that I even looked elsewhere for opinions. The only defense i have against this disease is KNOWLEDGE. So I read everything I can about it. It seems like everyone is beating me up for looking somewhere besides here for advice, and that is NOT the case. I have no clue where I would be today if it wasn't for this website.
 
Re: 6/1/14 Mom-mom AMPS hi, +6-268

Hi Laura!

I'm so glad to hear Mom-Mom is okay. When we worry too much we have all the crazy thoughts in our minds and then it turns out things are quite normal. I had the same worries after Juno was diagnosed with diabetes. He was having serious asthma attacks everyday and it seemed that his heart and respiratory rates were too fast, but they weren't. They were within the normal range.

It's also very nice to see the 268 today at Mom-Mom's SS. Just try to stick to the same dose for at least 3 days. As long as you keep testing Mom-Mom's BGs several times a day, she is safe.

Have a great day!
Cristina
 
Re: 6/1/14 Mom-mom AMPS hi, +6-268

Laura, No one would begrudge you looking for more information outside of this site. I would venture to guess that most people here have read Dr. Lisa's site as well. Knowledge is power. And the more we all learn about this disease, the better we can help our kitties fight it.

Our concern is for Mom-Mom. She has a bad tooth that could become infected, has been bouncing around on insulin dosage, and her food carbs have been jumping around. All the HI numbers she's been seeing put her at risk of DKA and we are trying to avoid that! That's why people have been urging you to up her dose, and not reduce when she hasn't earned the reduction.

A lot of questions are asked because people want to see the whole picture. Dr. Lisa's article doesn't take into account any specific information on any of our cats. It's very general. And by higher carb, she means HIGH carb food. Not the difference between a 5 and 8% carb food.

It's great to see the 268 today. If you are feeding her even lower carb food, that could have an effect. Your goal is green though. Hold this dose for at least 6 cycles and see where it takes her.

~Suzanne
 
Re: 6/1/14 Mom-mom AMPS hi, +6-268

Laura,

It’s great that you are reading all you can about feline diabetes. I read a lot outside of FDMB when I was going through this process with Jersey.

I have tried to refrain from commenting on your condo because I know you perceive you are being attacked by others. That is not my intent. I just want to make a suggestion.

You have tried a lot of different doses (e.g., reduced doses when pre-shots were in the 200s) without success. It’s great to see the 268 today, but this number still isn’t a healthy number.

When I first started posting on FDMB, I was really, really concerned about trusting the advice of strangers. Sometimes they would recommend something that I wasn’t entirely comfortable with. I realized, though, that these people know much more about feline diabetes than I ever will. They have helped many, many cats go into remission. I also realized that this wasn’t about my comfort level – it was about helping Jersey. I listened to the people here, and I did what they told me to do in terms of dosing. They never steered me wrong, and they are the reason Jersey is in remission now.

For quite a while, you’ve made decisions based on a combination of factors – your vet’s advice, the advice of individuals here, information from other sources, etc. I’m so sorry it hasn’t worked in getting Mom-Mom regulated. With that in mind, my suggestion would be to give the people here one week. Just follow their advice (no matter what) for one week. At the end of that one week, see what Mom-Mom’s numbers look like. If they’re improving, that’s great. If not, you can re-evaluate what to do at that point.

So….that’s my two cents’ worth. Take it for what it’s worth. Regardless of what you decide to do, I send out prayers for Mom-Mom.

Shelly
 
Re: 6/1/14 Mom-mom AMPS hi, +6-268

Thank you Shelly and everyone else for your input (Mom-mom says thanks too) :lol: Anyway, I am just so confused confused_cat about a few things that's all. I don't feel like people are "attacking" me, it's just that I don't wanna piss anyone off here. I really do'nt know what I would have done if I didn't find this group. I have the utmost respect for all of you but, this change (dropping her dose by 0.25) was something I felt strongly about.And I dont even know why. ohmygod_smile (I feel like I am moving out of my parents house) :lol: . I just wanted you all to know, I appreciate every time someone takes the time to send a comment to ME, it makes me feel important LOL :-D :-D ps..... I did get another good (well,better than hi) number of 229, just now. :-D :-D :-D :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top