521 Guinness |+7 383(.25uR)|+9(+2R) 267|+10 (+3R)304|PM 307

Status
Not open for further replies.

linda and guinness

Member Since 2009
Good Morning LL! Why, oh why, am I up this early on a Saturday? Oh, for the love of a little animal, that's it!

Shot, what I think was .25u of R along with his 6u of Lantus this am. My eyes are starting to cross with those little doses of R. The difference between .1 and .25u is literally minuscule (as most of you know). I need to find the time to do the drop counting trick or the colored water trick.

Have a great day all! Good luck shootin'

Link to yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=43742
 
Re: 521 Guinness AMPS 383 (.25uR)

I know what you mean. I tried to give Jazzy 0.1u of R this morning, but I'm honestly not sure if she got anything at all.

If you can get some mid-cycle tests today, you might be able to go ahead and increase his Lantus dose again tonight. When they are high and flat we will sometimes increase after 4 cycles instead of 6. Another idea, which you can try if you're home, would be to add another R shot at +9 to see if that keeps him from rising into preshot. His R nadir seems to be about +3, then he goes right back up. I'm wondering if you give R at +6, then a bit more at +9, whether that might help hold him flat until +12. It shouldn't hurt anything, since he would normally be going up then. It might help lower the preshots so the Lantus will have something nicer to work on.
 
Re: 521 Guinness AMPS 383 (.25uR)

G'morning , Linda. Yes, we do loves our kitties. Good luck with the R today. Guinness , you give your bean a reward for getting up early today and show some good numbers!!
 
Re: 521 Guinness AMPS 383 (.25uR)

If I give at +6 and +9, what R dose are we talking? Would I use the same scale you gave me before...300+ .25R, 250+ .10R? Plus, would I do this in conjunction with a .5 increase in Lantus? Also, I won't be home tonight after PMPS to test until around +6 or +7. Does that make a huge difference?
 
Re: 521 Guinness AMPS 383 (.25uR) Libby ?

no, I would not change both things at the same time. Either experiment with R, or increase the Lantus dose, not both. If you're going to add a +9 shot of R, I would probably start with 0.1u the first time just to be safe (unless he's 400s, then he can handle more). See what 0.1 does and see if he can handle more.
 
Re: 521 Guinness AMPS 383 (.25uR) Libby ?

If I stick with the 6u Lantus and give him a +6 and +9 dose of R and he is still in the 300 range at +12, should I give him another dose of R at PMPS (+12)? Based on the original sliding scale you gave me a couple of days ago for dose amount?
 
Re: 521 Guinness AMPS 383 (.25uR) Libby another ?

feeling like a chemist or a nurse yet, linda? :lol: i'm sure you'll hit that sweet spot before long!

have a great saturday.
 
Re: 521 Guinness AMPS 383 (.25uR) Libby another ?

Just a few more hats to wear while caring for a FD babydoll!
 
Re: 521 Guinness AMPS 383 (.25uR) Libby another ?

Goodness with the R the 3 of us are using, shouldn't we take out stock or get some royalties or something..
Somebody coming over to your condo today that doesn't know a thing about R might think they are in the wrong place.. Isn't it amazing at how much we have learned about all of this in such a short time..
You're doing wonderful work with Guinness, even if he doesn't want you to sleep :lol: .
I hope he comes down for you today.. I might be giving my boy a little more here in a while if he doesn't behave for me too!
Have a great Day Linda :-D
 
Re: 521 Guinness AMPS 383 (.25uR) Libby another ?

Man, if I ever need to use R, I know some people I can talk to, huh? I'm glad there's a way for you to keep Guinness at an acceptable level. Gives you a little piece of mind. Have a great Saturday!!!


I'm editing this post because I just saw I said "piece of mind." HAHAHAHAHA That is SO funny. Should be "peace of mind" of course. I love it when my fingers spell however they want.
 
Re: 521 Guinness AM383(.25uR)|+2 390|+3 345|+4 292|+7 383(.2

AM 383(.25uR)
+2 390
+3 345
+4 292
+7 383(.25uR)

Ok, so I missed the +6 in order to give him a little more and then more at +9, per Libby's thoughts. Since I missed this, I will probably now raise his Lantus dose at PMPS. Two questions: Should I be raising by .5u AND if the number calls, should I give him more R? Again, I would not be adding that +9 shot of R. I will be shooting and running tonight and not home (my husband and I have a much deserved date night), so if it would be better to stick at the 6u tonight OR not shoot the R, I can do that too.
 
Re: 521 Guinness AM383(.25uR)|+2 390|+3 345|+4 292|+7 383(.2

AM 383(.25uR)
+2 390
+3 345
+4 292
+7 383(.25uR)

Ok, so I missed the +6 in order to give him a little more and then more at +9, per Libby's thoughts. Since I missed this, I will probably now raise his Lantus dose at PMPS. Two questions: Should I be raising by .5u AND if the number calls, should I give him more R? Again, I would not be adding that +9 shot of R. I will be shooting and running tonight and not home (my husband and I have a much deserved date night), so if it would be better to stick at the 6u tonight OR not shoot the R, I can do that too.
 
Re: 521 Guinness AM383(.25uR)|+2 390|+3 345|+4 292|+7 383(.2

hmm, I think any of your options would work, what do you want to try?
 
Re: 521 Guinness AM383(.25uR)|+2 390|+3 345|+4 292|+7 383(.2

I think I will wait and see what his PMPS number is and then decide.

My options will be hold the 6u Lantus, add .25u R
Increase to 6.5u Lantus, and possibly add .1uR
Increase to 6.5u Lantus and do nothing with the R tonight.
 
Re: 521 Guinness AM383(.25uR)|+2 390|+3 345|+4 292|+7 383(.2

AM 383(.25uR)
+2 390
+3 345
+4 292
+7 383(.25uR)
+9 (+2 R) 267

Just poking along on a happy, sunny Saturday!
 
Re: 521 Guinness |+7 383(.25uR)|+9(+2R) 267|+10 (+3R)304

AM 383(.25uR)
+2 390
+3 345
+4 292
+7 383(.25uR)
+9 (+2 R) 267
+10 (+3R) 304

Only PMPS left and then maybe a late night catch this PM. Mama's going out!
 
Re: 521 Guinness |+7 383(.25uR)|+9(+2R) 267|+10 (+3R)304

Looking good Linda!

Have a great night out in Cali! You deserve it mama!!
 
Re: 521 Guinness |+7 383(.25uR)|+9(+2R) 267|+10 (+3R)304|PM

AM 383(.25uR)
+2 390
+3 345
+4 292
+7 383(.25uR)
+9 (+2 R) 267
+10 (+3R) 304
PM 307

Went with the .5 Lantus dose increase and no R this evening. I will test and see where he's at around +7 and maybe consider giving him R then. Love how the R is helping to keep his numbers down (not way down, but at least out of those 400's)!
 
Re: 521 Guinness |+7 383(.25uR)|+9(+2R) 267|+10 (+3R)304|PM

good luck with the increase!

This is not a bad PMPS at all. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top