5/9 update Charlie PMPS 298 +2.5 327

Sarah & Charlie-cat

Member Since 2022
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...WDunDbVvf5f-iEjgHchCTpzfkQw/edit?usp=drivesdk

Charlie is again flying high. I am frustrated and upset that after having blues and greens in February there's so much yellow and pink and that he had good numbers apparently while I was gone at the end of April and now he's yellow and pink. Thoughts?

More details below.

When I got home from my second work trip in April, he had some good numbers and earned a reduction.

His sitter actually sent me numbers that time and there were some blues and he hasn't been in the blue since. The time before, when I came back his meter had numbers under 100 and in the 400s but she wasn't texting them to me and I don't know if they're am or pm.

Am I giving furshots all the time? I don't think so, I sniff for insulin and usually just run my hand over his fur. Dry and doesn't smell like bandaids.

Was she giving more insulin than I told her to? Possibly with the numbers in the meter, both low and very high (bounce?) from the first trip concern me.

Is this not holding reductions well? In February, I felt like we ran out of runway doing reductions under 90.

Has my six month old insulin given up the ghost finally? Maybe.

Is his IBD screwing with stuff still? Dunno. He's on 5mg of pred daily, since the end of March (and switched to a rotation of raw rabbit & turkey, freeze dried raw rabbit & duck, and canned lamb & duck, he occasionally busts into the other room and nibbles Dr. E's kibbles). He hasn't thrown up in two weeks (tho one of the raw foods I think was constipating him and he's gotten Miralax a couple times the last few days and I won't be getting that again). He hasn't had a hairball in a month or so. He has had the appetite stimulant once since 4/26 and is eating well (very well, he's screaming that he's starving all the time). He doesn't protest about being picked up and even let me touch his tummy, which is famously off limits. We have an appointment on the 24tj with the new vet whose colleague diagnosed the IBD in the end of March.

(He missed his dose this morning because after 6 months of me testing and giving insulin 2x day (and talking about it incessantly) my husband apparently needed to be told explicitly he should give Charlie insulin this morning after giving it last night...and there are holes where the cat sitter didn't give me numbers. For some reason she didn't want to just put them in the spreadsheet... Probably not using her again).
 
Back
Top