5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42!, +5 57, +6 65, +7 56

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie & Orange

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70536

Marjorie - sorry I didn't see your last post before I signed off last night!


Well, this morning didn't start off too well. Orange puked up his breakfast. This time the can looked fine, smelled fine, and was the last part of the can from his dinner from last night which he ate with no problems, so I don't think it was the food. Not sure what was bothering him. Anyway, I got him to eat a little bit after that (new can), but it was slow going. At +3 = 50 I decided to boil some chicken for him, put a little on top of his food and he scarfed it all down happily. I've never seen him refuse chicken!

So we're back on track now. Hopefully we won't have any issues with dinner.
 
Re: 5/9 Orange AMPS 77, +5 63

Sorry to hear Orange was sick earlier, but glad he's now feeling better. Nice greens there for Orange. Hope your day went well.
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 68 - What should I do?

DH just got a PMPS of 68 on Orange.

I have been shooting low numbers the past few days, but this is getting a little much for me.

Should I give his regular dose? Stall? Reduce dose to 0.1 units? or skip?
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 68 - What should I do?

are you home tonight to monitor? Do you have high carb wet food on hand? And do you think this morning's puke was just the usual scarf & barf, or because he isn't feeling well? You said he snacked later, right?
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 68 - What should I do?

I am home to monitor.

He won't eat any HC wet food - I have Karo and HC dry if really needed.

I don't think it was a scarf and barf he doesn't eat that much at once - something else was going on.

He did end up eating most of his breakfast later in the morning (but mostly because there was CHICKEN!)
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 68 - What should I do?

oh also - that PMPS is actually a +11.5 - i wanted to move up the shot by 15-20 min today to get back on schedule (he's 30 min behind right now). I need to get him back on schedule for tomorrow mornings shot.

I will get the true +12 in 5 min
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 68 - What should I do?

ah yes, Lucy is a chicken-holic too.

I have a couple of thoughts. Normally I would yell "SHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT." This is where your data comes in handy. Orange has good food spike from low carb food, you can monitor, and 60s are not much lower than you have been shooting.

If there is a question about whether he is feeling ok, then use your judgment. The choices are to shoot, feed, or stall. I don't want to encourage you to shoot if you think he might be feeling poorly and not eat. Dry food isn't the best tool to use to steer cycles, though really with Orange's carb response you might find that low carb is enough to do the job.

If you shoot, then definitely get a +1 so you can see where he is going. I'll try to check back in, but we're having a thunderstorm and my power just blinked off for a second. Hopefully it will stay on!
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 68 - What should I do?

We are in the middle of a big thunderstorm too!

now PMPS is 70 - not much difference, but I shot his full dose.

I put some chicken on his dinner just incase and he's eating it alright at the moment.
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70

I spoke too soon - now he doesn't want to eat more :sad:

I'm giving him a break for a few minutes then try to work on him some more.
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42! - a little help please

+3 = 42

I've gotten him to eat about 1/5 can of food tonight.

I'm trying to tempt him with boiled chicken pieces, but hes mostly just picking out the chicken now.

I just gave him a drop of Karo.

Should I just keep giving him chicken so that he gets something in him?
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42! - a little help please

Dont worry Julie. Did Orange eat his portion at the PS? Dont over stuff him with chicken because that can be quite filling & is a LC. The drop of Karo will boost him for a short time. He's not eating the FF canned?
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42! - a little help please

He ate some at PS, but not as much as normal - he usually paces his meals out from when I give the shot to around +4 or +5. He's never given me a problem eating though until the past few days.

The only wet food he likes to eat is his Merrick Turducken - I can't get him to eat any others no matter the gravy, carb %, etc.

I don't know whats going on with him! He's acting fine otherwise - running around the house and playing - just doesn't want to eat.
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42! - a little help please

We also have dry food - he loves that stuff and would probably eat it if I needed to give him some (I know thats not ideal either).
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42! - a little help please

So are you saying he won't eat his Turducken right now? I think it is about 12% carbs and if he's even a little carb sensitive, maybe a couple of tsps will bring him up.

If he won't eat anything other than chicken, I would put some karo on his gums because this is rather early for him to be so low. Please retest him 20 minutes after you feed or give him karo.

Remember the karo will wear off so you must stay on top of testing.
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42! - a little help please

We cross posted so please see my previous post.

The dry food takes a while to bring them up and then stays in their system for quite some time. An alternative to karo is ice cream (vanilla only). Or if you can put parmesan cheese or if you have any bonito flakes, etc on his Turducken to see if he'll eat it....maybe his chicken on the Turducken?
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42! - a little help please

The Turducken is 9% carbs - thats his normal everyday food and he will not eat it right now.

I did give him a drop of Karo on a piece of chicken. Next test coming up soon.
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42! - a little help please

Tried the chicken on the Turducken - thats what got the 1/5 of a can in him.

He doesn't like bonito flakes.

I'll go look for what else is in my fridge.
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42! - a little help please

+3.5 = 45

DH is trying the parmesean.

I don't have ice cream. I have some plain yogurt - does that help?
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42! - a little help please

OK - he's licking the parmesean off of the top of FF gravy lovers - he's got to be getting some gravy down with that, right?
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42! - a little help please

I'm not sure if plain yogurt has enough carbs. The vanilla ice cream has sugar.

He's surfing but I'd like to see him come up. He didn't get much rise from the karo. Are you able to smush up the turducken and syringe him...will he let you do that?
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42! - a little help please

I haven't tried syringing him since he was a baby. I have a syringe though and can try - but lets see if he comes up a little first from the bit he just ate.
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42! - a little help please

We cross posted so I just saw the info about licking the parmesan off the gravy lovers. Hopefully he'll also get some of the gravy.

I'll be waiting for your next test number at +4.
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42!, +3.5 45

Julie

Don't worry if it shows me not online. I will be checking back in on you in a few minutes....just trying to get some dinner on at the same time. BRB. I can stay with you tonight as long as you need.
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42!, +3.5 45

No problem... go get your dinner :smile:

+4 = 57.

That looks better! DH is back with the ice cream, but I'll hold off on that for now and try to see if he'll eat more cheese & gravy.
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42!, +3.5 45, +4 57

Great! Good job. How about a +5? I'll be back to check in. Yes..I'd hold off on the ice cream if the gravy and cheese works.

Be back in 20.
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42!, +3.5 45, +4 57

He had a few bites of Turducken and cheese.

So no +4.5 needed?
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42!, +3.5 45, +4 57

Yes...sorry...got off on which test you were doing. 4.5 is good. Brb.
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42!, +3.5 45, +4 57

He no longer wants any cheese. Should I just wait and see what number the next test gives? Or should I try something more drastic with the food (syringe, ice cream, etc)

He's busy attacking his toy mouse and could care less right now that I'm worried about him :roll:
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42!, +3.5 45, +4 57

Well...he's consistent! How do you feel about a +5 and if he's up a little, we can give him a break or will he eat now so he'll come up?
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42!, +3.5 45, +4 57

+5 = 57

Yep, same number - I think my meter is going to get stuck on it :smile:
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42!, +3.5 45, +4 57

He's eating a little more chicken and cheese topped Turducken now.

Should I do a +5.5 or wait until +6?
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42!, +3.5 45, +4 57

I want to look at his SS again. Will he eat? I'll be back in just a minute to discuss the next test but if you can get him to eat, that would be good.
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42!, +4 57, +5 57

Julie

Before I forget because I'm tired :smile: he has earned a Dosecrease. You should reduce him to .1u in the morning! :-D he has plans!
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42!, +4 57, +5 57

+6 = 65

Woohoo decrease! He's a cheater though because last one he earned (or I guess demanded) by puking and this one by not eating enough!

I do have a question for tomorrow. We need to leave for an apponitment right after we shoot in the morning. DH should be back for a +2 and can keep an eye on Orange for the morning. Orange should be fine by himself for the first 2 hrs, right?
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42!, +4 57, +5 57

Also, its been 2.5 hrs since the gravy and 3 hrs since the Karo - should I stay up to test more, or is it safe to go to bed? Normally with this number at this time I would call it a night, but this hasn't been a very normal night.
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42!, +4 57, +5 57

So getting a +1 is not possible? My concern is that he definitely is on a mission. I can't predict where he'll be in the morning or if he might start down early. Tonight, he was fine at +1 except he got barely any food spike since he was not eating. I bet a +2 tonight would have shown you that this was going to be a more active cycle from early on judging by his +1 and +3.

If he's not eating in the morning, that would throw another concern into the ring. Given his cycles of late, i might be a lit,e nervous about leaving him if he's not much higher. You can post a +11 in the morning and see if there is someone online to advise you.

Are you ok for the night? I do recommend you get a couple more rising numbers before you quit testing.
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42!, +4 57, +5 57, +6 65

Yes, I'm OK for the night - I can't say THANK YOU enough for being so wonderful!

I'll stay up and get another test or 2.

Also, I'll get that +11 or +11.5 in the morning and post for whoever is around. It could happen, but I really don't think that DH will be back home in time for the +1. He'll almost certainly be back for a +2. I'm planning on switching my routine to make sure he eats a decent amount before I shoot (if I shoot) tomorrow morning since he has suddenly become an unreliable eater.
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42!, +4 57, +5 57, +6 65

Or.... I can have DH shoot at about 2 hrs late when he gets home.
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42!, +4 57, +5 57, +6 65

Sleep well tonight!! I hope I didn't cut too far into your sleepy time!
 
Re: 5/9 Orange PMPS 70, +1 77, +3 42!, +4 57, +5 57, +6 65

Thanks Julie. It's ok...normally I'd be up later but Gracie had us up all night last night and early today...only got a few hours sleep.

The issues with shooting late include that it will be like a reduction on top of the reduction he's earned tonight and getting back on your regular shot time. It would take four days of shooting early to make it up. If he was eating better, you could leave his turducken out but since he's not, you can't rely on it.

I know it's a pain but if you can wait and see what he's doing tomorrow morning ,it might be better. He's not a diver although the not eating is a concern. He needs to be eating during that +1/+2 time.

It may just boil down that the safest thing is to shoot late so someone will be there to make sure he eats. Sometimes we have to make those concessions to keep them safe.

My pleasure to help tonight. I hope he comes up a bit and you get some rest, too. Ni Ni.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top