5/9 Mooch AMBG 93 +4.5 106 PMBG 120, +3.5 101

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Mary

Member Since 2012
Since Mooch has been green and his kibbles are down to 10 and his dose is so low I can't reduce it any more I'm going to try Mooch on no insulin this morning to see how his glucose levels go. If it becomes elevated I'll restart this evening and if if stays ok I'll start an OTJ trial

Mooch sends smoochies to everyone!
 
Re: 5/9 Mooch AMPS 93. Trying no insulin this morning

Good luck with the trial Mooch! You're such a good kitty, weaning off the dry knibbles is not easy! I've got a few junkies here still insisted the dry after 2 mths of working on the switch!
 
Re: 5/9 Mooch AMBG 93. +4.5 106 Question on OTJ trials

So far so good with Mooch at 106 and it'll be interesting to see how he goes this afternoon after any previous insulin doses completely wear off.

I had a question about OTJ trials that I couldn't find. What is considered a reasonable glucose range to stay in so the trial can be considered a success and a cat is considered in remision? If Mooch's levels go really high he'll obviously still need insulin and if they are all green/blue he doesn't but I wasn't sure about if it stabilises but at a higher than normal level like the 200's.
 
Re: 5/9 Mooch AMBG 93. +4.5 106 Question on OTJ trials

We want to see a cat stay below 120 (the upper end of the normal BG range).

To be honest, I'm going to keep my fingers crossed for you but Mooch's pre-shot numbers don't look like he's quite ready for OTJ. We like to see a very green SS. I think he'll get there but his pancreas may need a some support for a bit longer.
 
Re: 5/9 Mooch AMBG 93. +4.5 106 Question on OTJ trials

Yes I know but I literally have him on the tinyest dose I can possibly measure in the syringe and get a repeatable dose. I have the end of the plunger aligned at the needle side of the zero mark and am just injecting the tiny bit of surplus insulin beyond that. His glucose levels have been declining as I reduced the dry food.

I could go to a single daily shot if he is not ready. Is that something others have done in this situation?
 
Re: 5/9 Mooch AMBG 93. +4.5 106 Question on OTJ trials

There are very rare occasions where a single dose is appropriate. Again, I don't think Mooch fits that profile. I do think once the dry is eliminated, it will make a difference. Now, if you can just convince Mooch that life will be much better without the evil dry food. (Perhaps pointing out there could be a significant chance of no pokes and no shots will make the disappearance of the dry more palatable, so to speak!)
 
Re: 5/9 Mooch AMBG 93 +4.5 106 PMBG 120 Question on OTJ tria

He is off the dry food now. I have been reducing that steadily over the last week or so. I now just use about 10 EVO kibbles scattered on his Fancy Feast as that gets him started eating.

His blood glucose level is still pretty good so I'm skipping/delaying his PM shot for the moment and will test again before bed to see if he needs his shot.

Mooch sends smoochies to everyone! He is stretched out at my feet purring loudly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top