5/9 Jupiter PMPS/70 +.5/86 +1/88 +2/115 +4/147 +7/379

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to yesterdays condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=94929


I really wish he clears this bounce quickly but safely. I thought he would have cleared it by now. :sad:

If he doesnt clear it soon, and a dose increase is mentioned, I bet he clears it immediately. He doesnt like those increase threats!! lol

Jupiter is happy this morning and so desperately wants outside to eat grass. He is running around playing with his little sister. :-D I noticed he was really gassy yesterday - and he was also just sitting back in the litter box room a lot. I am going to try to keep an eye on him today when he goes back there to make sure he isnt constipated.

My 2 civies keep gorging themselves to the point that they are vomiting it all right back up. I dont know what to do about this!! Does anyone have any suggestions? Little Rosette was doing this constantly (like multiple times a day) when we first switched over to wet canned food. Shes not doing it that often anymore but she is atleast doing it every other day - usually in the morning when I put out fresh food at AM shot.


Todays numbers:
AMPS-292
+3.25-279
+5.75-225
+8-133
+9-101
+10-57
+10.5-59
+11-55
+11.5-49
+12-58
+12.25-71
PMPS(+12.5)-70
+.5 - 81
+1-88
+2-115
+4-147
+7-379

Recap of yesterday:
AMPS-353
+2-316
+4-264
+6-264
+8-288
+10.5-329
PMPS-347
+2-269
+3.25-226
+4-274
+9.5-282
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter AMPS/292 Question

Have you tried smearing the wet food onto a plate so they have to take a bit more time to lick it off the plate to eat the food. The idea is to smear it on the plate until it sticks to the plate. Slows them down.
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter AMPS/292 Question

Hi guys .. sorry for the bouncing .. as you seem to have noticed, once that dose threat is out there you usually start seeing some action! Sorry about the scarf n barf .. are there any meals left out for them through the night? have a great day!
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter AMPS/292 Question

Yeah. The 3 cats share the food.. I leave about 3 cans out overnight for them to all share. The only time food is not left out is the 2 hours prior to shot times. This is always done for the PM shot - but only sometimes done for the AM shot as I have been having a hard time waking up in the morning.

Deb - Little Rosette will sit there and eat and eat and eat. I have seen her sitting there for like 30 minutes eating when the food is kind of smeared onto the plate. We usually start with a little pile of food - then as they eat it gets flattened onto the plate so she will take a little longer to eat it, but still sits there eating it all. At first it was sooooo bad that she would sit there eating literally until the point she vomited.. right onto the plate. She is not that bad anymore. Ieleiana doesnt do this as often as Little Rosette, but if there is a certain kind of food she really likes, she will do the same thing.

I am sooooo soooo glad Jupiter doesnt do this at all - ever. I just wish I could prevent the other 2 from doing this.




and I have tried putting out less food - but then 2 civies just eat it all and none left for Jupiter. I am still only putting out small amounts of food at once.. and then once thats all gone.. i try to wait a little to put more food out
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter AMPS/292 Question

Alright Jupiter... there's an increase threat out there! Did you hear that... INCREASE! Let's get those numbers down and clear this bounce. As for the LB thing... I wonder what's up there. I think it's a good idea to keep an eye on him today. I know with 3 cats running around, it's probably really hard to monitor LB habits. Do you know when he went #2 last? I noticed a problem when Mego would go to the LB and nothing would happen but there would be a lot of gas each time he tried to go. I hope it will pass soon. Not like you need another thing to worry about.

As for the barfs... I don't know what to tell you there. If you're leaving food out overnight, which I know you do, I wouldn't think it's so much a scarf-n-barf. But then again, you probably don't know who's eating when either. Is there any way you can give them just a very small amount of food at first and then maybe an hour or two later give them a larger portion. I know they aren't scheduled feeders so would this make them tear up the house? Mego usually gets a small amount of food first thing in the morning and then he gets more about an hour later. He hasn't barfed since I started doing this.

Sending happy poopie and anti-gas vines your way. Maybe others will give you some good suggestions about the barfs and feeding info.
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter AMPS/292 Question

There are bowls out there now to slow down gulpers that might help. It won't stop the cat from lingering but it might slow things down enough that
the cat stops gorging itself. These are just a few examples, I see more and more of them out there all the time.
http://www.amazon.com/s/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

I had to get one for our sheltie and it does work. ( she was very competitive with her littermates for food)

It also sounds like you may have to experiment with feeding separately or sitting there with them while they eat to make sure Jupiter gets his at least.
Just another demand on your time but that seems to be the way with FD.
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter AMPS/292 Question

Ieleiana doesnt do this as often as Little Rosette, but if there is a certain kind of food she really likes, she will do the same thing.
It's almost a case of finding a food your civies don't like as much and putting that out. Don't know if that would slow them down though. Some cats are just 'hoovers' when it comes to food.

Maybe try a 1/4 tab of Pepcid a/c 10 mg (regular, not the complete) 30 minutes before you put the food dishes down? See if it is a tummy upset issue causing the barf.

Maybe try elevating the food dishes up to chin height so the cats don't have to bend their heads down to eat. That's another anti-nausea trick I use.

Any lip licking going on with the civies to indicate they are feeling nausea?
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter AMPS/292 Question

Hmm I really dont think so... and when they vomit... its a whole bunch... I cant afford to buy anything extra right now... hopefully within the next few weeks... for now I will just try to only put a little out at a time and just put more out maybe 30 mins after the plate is empty
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter AMPS/292 Question

Okay well Jupiter was just in the litter box. He seemed to really be struggling - but when he was done I looked and he did infact go - so hes not constipated. I am still a little worried about him though because he really seemed to struggle to go.
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter AMPS/292 Question

Are you adding any water to the food? I always do, but Buster once had crystals so I'm paranoid. Maybe he's just a bit dehydrated?
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter AMPS/292 Question

Glad he pooped Jamie. Hope feels/acts better for you soon. Just another worry ~ Feel better Jupe!!
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter AMPS/292 +8/133 Question

I sometimes add water to the food. Hes typically a good drinker. I never see the other cats at the water bowl but I do see him there. I will try adding a bit more water to the food.

I am so happy to see him finally clearing this bounce. Now he just needs to keep his numbers steady until shot time!
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter AMPS/292 +8/133 +9/101 +10/57

Hes dropping kind of fast for my liking. Hmm he ate LC an hour ago and now hes at 57 so I am starting to get a little worried!! when should i test next?

hes eating LC now.. normally I feed at +10 and let him eat til hes full
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter AMPS/292 +8/133 +9/101 +10/57 need help plz

+10.5 was 59... should i hold food since shot time is in 1 hr 30 min from now? I am worried that his numbers may drop if I dont feed... im not sure what to do...
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter AMPS/292 +8/133 +9/101 +10/57 need help plz

Hi Jamie,
If Jupiter is eating now (or has just eaten an LC +10 snack), you should leave a little time for the food to have an effect and then test him again, maybe at +10.5. The food should bring him up. In looking at Jupiter's SS, it seems that he often has a drop toward the end of a cycle, but then rises at PS time. Perhaps today is an example of that, and a more extreme example than you are used to? [Edited to delete a questionable suggestion!]

Ella & Rusty

p.s. our posts crossed 59 is the same as 57. I think you can wait until +11 and see where he is then. The food you fed at +10 should not be an influence at +11 (unless you fed a lot of food). How much food did you give at +10? In any event, I wouldn't give more food after +11. It will interfere with his PMPS number. Make sure that you get a +11.5 reading. If he continues to drop you have to consider your options: stall and do not feed until he gets two rising numbers in succession; shoot a reduced dose; skip the shot. If in this hour he drops below 50, you should feed ("feed the forties" is the motto) and give a reduced dose or skip.
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter AMPS/292 +8/133 +9/101 +10/57 need help plz

yeah I did test at 10.5 so now i am just not sure wether or not to feed
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter AMPS/292 +8/133 +9/101 +10/57 need help plz

okay I will do that and then post... if hes lower should i feed? and higher do not feed?
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter AMPS/292 +8/133 +9/101 +10/57 need help plz

+11 was taken 10 min late. hes at 55... should I feed or not?
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter AMPS/292 +8/133 +9/101 +10/57 need help plz

If he's in the 40s, I think that you should feed ("feed the forties") and either give a reduced dose or skip the shot. I hope this is good advice. Please try to get a confirmation!!

Ella

oops, crossed posts again. Hang on and see what he does. It looks like he is just coasting. If you don't feel comfortable shooting a low number, give a reduced dose or skip.
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter AMPS/292 +8/133 +9/101 +10/57 +11.5/49 +12/5

and just to let you know, Dane and I will be here and able to test tonight. plenty of test strips
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter AM/292 +9/101 +11.5/49 +12/58 shoot or stall

It looks like you got a +12.25 and Jupiter is heading up.The 49 gets Jupiter a reduction so go ahead and shoot at your new dose of 1.5u.
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter AM/292 +9/101 +11.5/49 +12/58 shoot or stall

Good job. I'm very glad that Sienne was here to guide you. Congrats on the reducie. 70 is now your PMPS, and the time for your AMPS will be 12 hours from your PMPS time. Try to get a PMPS +1 and +2. If +2 is about the same as PMPS or lower than PMPS, it is an indication that it will be an active cycle and you will want to keep testing until after nadir and Jupiter is on the rise again. It may be a long night. But you know what to do. You did great this evening.

Ella
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter AM/292 +9/101 +11.5/49 +12/58 shoot or stall

My 2 civies keep gorging themselves to the point that they are vomiting it all right back up. I dont know what to do about this!! Does anyone have any suggestions? Little Rosette was doing this constantly (like multiple times a day) when we first switched over to wet canned food. Shes not doing it that often anymore but she is atleast doing it every other day - usually in the morning when I put out fresh food at AM shot
.

I just learned this from a fantastic book called "The Cat Whisperer" by Mieshelle Nagelschneider (IMO a MUST READ for anyone with kitties).
You can try and see if this works....

Feed each cat in a separate location, preferably where they can't see each other. Apparently what you're seeing is fairly common when cats are switched to a scheduled feeding routine when they had been used to being free fed dry food. If there is food available around the clock, they tend to eat more often, but in much smaller quantities, because they are used to a "bottomless bowl" that is there whenever they feel like eating. By switching to controlled portions, AND feeding them all together, what they see now is a competition for a meal that when it's gone, there's no more till the next feeding. So you get "scarf and barf". If they are the only face in the bowl, perhaps they won't feel they need to eat fast and worry about the others getting their food? No scarfing, no barfing...

Makes sense to me.

And seriously, the book is fantastic!
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter PMPS/70 +.5/86

i do think that is great advice though if and when I decide to do like schedule feedings. and I really do appreciate your input!
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter PMPS/70 +.5/86 +1/88

I ran out of treats completely so for now... I bought a fancy feast appetizer (the one with the chunks of tuna) and I will give him one chunk after each test. This will just have to do for now... my local grocery store does not sell freeze dried treats. He loves the appetizers though so hopefully he wont be too upset with me
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter PMPS/70 +.5/86 +1/88 +2/115

Hmm I am suspecting this may be a bounce already.. *paws crossed* he doesnt bounce really high

Going to test again in maybe 2 hours unless anyone else suggests otherwise?
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter PMPS/70 +.5/86 +1/88 +2/115

See, the threat works! Great to see a reducie for Jupe! I hope this isn't a bounce already, but if it is.... SLEEP for you! :-D
 
Re: 5/9 Jupiter PMPS/70 +.5/86 +1/88 +2/115

Yep Katie, Thanks for throwing the threat out there earlier. It sure did work. I think its crazy - but it does seem to work!! Oh boy I am tired tonight. I am going to nap and test in a bit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top