5.9 D'Art PMPS either 77or 97,+1 100,+2 120

Status
Not open for further replies.

mococo

Member Since 2011
We held to see what he would do.

He dropped, so we are feeding and I think we'll shoot. advice?

We are using our backup meter (walgreens) it's given us the same #s as our normal one (freestyle lite) as we ran low and then out of freestyle lite strips.

thanks!
 
Re: 5.9 D'Art +12 52, +12.5 48

we are going to go ahead and shoot and monitor. I'm home sick today, so i'll be in his face all day. luck him.


Also if i'm looking at what happened before i think this is similar to a dip we saw previously when he came off a bounce, and he has another feeding coming up at +1.

still getting used to low #s.
 
Re: 5.9 D'Art +12 52, +12.5 48

Did you shoot the 48? If so, that's your AMPS.

I probably would have waited to see where this was going. Please get a +1 and a +2 if you shot. (In fact, a +0.5 may not be a bad idea.) Also, you missed a dose reduction on 5/8. Please look over the Tight Regulation sticky -- drops below 50 in a newly diagnosed kitty earns a dose reduction. You should be shooting 1.0u.

And, please take a look at this post on low pre-shot numbers.
 
Re: 5.9 D'Art AMPS 48, +1 44

Thanks Sienne. I will be the first to admit my judgment is less than fabulous today, I'm still in a fuzz of NyQuil... I need to review the protocol again. Does that mean tonight we should be shooting at 1 or stick with 1.25?
 
Re: 5.9 D'Art AMPS 48, +1 44

@ +1 he gets his second meal. which he is now stuffing his face in. I'll be able to grab a test soon.
 
Re: 5.9 D'Art AMPS 48, +1 44

The 40s earn a decrease. Lower the dose tonight for sure. Also, please bump up these numbers NOW. You are seeing a surf at +1. This number should reflect a food spike. Lantus onset could be at +2. I would add some HC now so you are not fighting to get numbers up in an hour.
 
Re: 5.9 D'Art AMPS 48, +1 44

i added 1.5 tbs of hc to his +1 meal when I saw he was decreasing. Looks like he's moving up.
 
Re: 5.9 D'Art AMPS 48, +1 44,+3 56

Hi
I have not posted very much in your condo but I have been following along.
I was looking for an update but did not see your condo bumped up so I did not realize you updated. Instead of just changing the numbers in the subject line of your first post of the day could you also post in your condo so it will bump you up so others will see the updates. :-D
 
Re: 5.9 D'Art AMPS 48, +1 44,+3 58,+3.5 52

Done and Done! I had to change the numbers, we were a little off in our communication about who was on first and what was on second...

We had to have a little conference about the spreadsheet, the bf has one way of noting it, I have another. Normally he sends me numbers during the day and i update them, but since we are both home today, duties got crossed over.

I'm not sure if I should give him a snack or not since he's dropped a little this half hour. I'll test again at +4 and see where he is at and then decide.
 
Re: 5.9 D'Art AMPS 48, +1 44,+3 58,+3.5 52,+4 54,+4.5 50

will keep testing. don't want to mess up the nadir by feeding too hastily.
 
Re: 5.9 D'Art AMPS 48, +1 44,+3 58,+3.5 52,+4 54,+4.5 50

4.75- 48

doing a small snack of a spoonful hc ff food to keep him up.
 
Re: 5.9 D'Art AMPS 48, +1 44,+3 58,+6 59

Ever stubborn at +6 59.

Perhaps it was serendipity that I got sick today if he was going to pull these kinds of numbers. Though based on what Sienne said, when I missed that reduction, it may also have had a hand in these lower numbers.

However we just got an email from our vet, she reviews his spreadsheet, and she was really excited about his numbers (when he was first dx he came in at 450ish), and also supported a reduction to 1un tonight. Always nice to get a cheering section from the vets office.
 
Re: 5.9 D'Art AMPS 48, +1 44,+3 58,+6 59,+8 62

hovering... he's a wee bit tired of the poking, see where he is in an hour.
 
Re: 5.9 D'Art AMPS 48, +1 44,+3 58,+6 59,+9 68,+10 69

surfing like a pro!!

peruvian-surfing-cat-surf.jpg
 
Re: 5.9 D'Art PMPS either 77or 97?

hrmm, we had to use our backup meter today, walgreens, it's given us the same number or nearly same (1-3 digits off) as our freestyle lite in the past and this morning.

our freestyle lite strips arrived mid-day and the past two tests we've done side by side with both just to double check, they've always been close. But this reading came in wacky. Did it twice just to make sure, same thing came up.

On walgreens 77
Freestyle lite 97

?

We went ahead and fed and shot since we are okay with either number, but it's weird weird weird to see a divergence like that. We'll do side by side testing the rest of the night.

I had a freestyle meter break down on me before, it just struggled to read strips, even the new ones. I know alto of people here use the wal-mart one, but there isn't a wal-mart in Chicago that is easy to get to. Other suggestions? Does target have a meter? Walgreens strips are .75c each, but walgreens 24/7 stores are all over Chicago, which is why i try to use them as a backup.

I just saw that photo. That is hilarious. I've seen surfing dogs, but not surfing cats. That is too much.
 
Re: 5.9 D'Art PMPS either 77or 97?

my advice is to pick a meter and stick with it. You'll drive yourself crazy otherwise (spoken by someone who did exactly that by switching meters too often!).

Does the Walgreens meter have True in the name? Most of the store brand meters are True Track or something related to that. Several people here have done comparisons with those meters and have found that they tend to run lower than most other meters. The difference is pretty insignificant when the numbers are green, but in higher numbers there can be a pretty big difference.
 
Re: 5.9 D'Art PMPS either 77or 97?

points to the smart lady!

yes it's true to go. or true 2 go. or something like that where they replaced words with numbers.

freestyle lite is what we have used consistently from the start, the walgreens true something something one is just our back up when i do things like i did yesterday and think i've counted 11 strips and actually have 5. (i was never a math person, but i'm sure there is a string theory hypothesis out there to support my initial count.)

thankfully amazon prime saved my butt and we have more of our freestyle lite strips, so i will gladly take your advice and stick to our normal freestyle meter for this evening.

thank you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top