5/9 Cleo AMPS 376, +2.5 357, PMPS 271, +2.75 330

I received a notification @Sienne and Gabby (GA) at post #8 in https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...from-pz-to-lantus-with-better-results.262869/ , should I increase the dose?
I read and re-read the sticky for TR dosing and also a ton of other posts which suggest holding the dose if nadirs under 100 and also to not increase during a bounce. She's had a few cycles with nadir under 100 then bounced after. Perhaps I am interpreting the SS data/sticky for dosing/other postings incorrectly. Should I increase?
 
Part of the difficulty is the switch in insulin. Cleo is not a "new" diabetic (i.e., it's been 5 months) but she's new to Lantus. You're also new to TR.

The holding the dose is relevant is a cat is new to FD. The more that the cat is used to lower numbers the less the issue with whether you're seeing blue or green numbers and whether to increase. Since you're new to Lantus, it may make sense to hold the dose.

The issue isn't about increasing a dose during a bounce. The concern is if you increase and the bounce breaks that cycle, there can be a lot of momentum behind the dropping numbers. In other words, numbers are dropping because the bounce is breaking and with a dose increase, you may be giving more momentum to the drop in numbers.
 
Back
Top