5/9 Biscuits amps 414 increased to 14u +6 High pmps high+3 hihigh.

I’m so happy to see this!!! Yes, good that you shot the 14u. Once we see more than just a dab of pink or start R, we will slow down.

I know you are worried about him having a hypo on R. I haven’t seen this happen on this board except when the caregiver got the R mixed up with either the L insulin or another type of shot given from a vial and they ended up giving a massive dose of R for a cat on a fairly mid to low dose of the L insulin. Our goal is just to drop him about 100 mg/dL so we start with 0.25u of R, see how he does, make adjustments. I doubt you will even see much from 0.25u but you never know and that’s why we monitor.

You’ll be surprised at how fast you become accustomed to giving R and how you need to monitor.
 
I’m so happy to see this!!! Yes, good that you shot the 14u. Once we see more than just a dab of pink or start R, we will slow down.

I know you are worried about him having a hypo on R. I haven’t seen this happen on this board except when the caregiver got the R mixed up with either the L insulin or another type of shot given from a vial and they ended up giving a massive dose of R for a cat on a fairly mid to low dose of the L insulin. Our goal is just to drop him about 100 mg/dL so we start with 0.25u of R, see how he does, make adjustments. I doubt you will even see much from 0.25u but you never know and that’s why we monitor.

You’ll be surprised at how fast you become accustomed to giving R and how you need to monitor.
Thanks Marje,
Going to Walmart today to get the R.I have u40 and u100 syringes ,do I need anything different?
 
Just need your regular U-100 syringes. Make sure they have half unit markings as you’ll be shooting much smaller doses of R.
 
You haven’t needed to think about dosing with calipers up to now but it might really help you with R dosing. Although we might need to do increases in 0.25u for a bit, whenever we need to make smaller adjustments, it will help you to do it consistently.
 
I didn't know to get that when I went for the insulin. I do not have calipers. I have the u100 syringes.
Should I get the calipers, and when will I give the R?
You can get the calipers at Harbor Freight or any hardware store or order on line.

I am not back until after May 20 so I’m not the person to help you get started with R. We are up and out early and gone all day. I’m going to tag @Olive & Paula and @Bobbie And Bubba as they are both east coast R users who might be able to get you started.
 
Hi there. When were you looking to start using the R? I would be willing to help but can’t be consistent right now due to taking care of my 91 year old mom who is requiring a bit more care right now. I could assist someone but I won’t be around at all tomorrow or Sunday.
 
Molly,

I never used R.

Change your title or when you start tomorrow thread use the question mark and put something like "need help with R" or "R advisor needed"

Please please don't start on your own. The timing with lantus is extremely important. I think but not sure when NOT to use it is most important. A few more days is okay. Keep doing what your doing. Help will be along. The people across the pond aren't on yet.

Hang in, breathe, someone will be here soon.
 
You can get the calipers at Harbor Freight or any hardware store or order on line.

I am not back until after May 20 so I’m not the person to help you get started with R. We are up and out early and gone all day. I’m going to tag @Olive & Paula and @Bobbie And Bubba as they are both east coast R users who might be able to get you started.
I will not start R alone. I thought I was told to get it and start so I don't have to increase Lantus so fast. I'll wait until help is available. A day of highs today and Biscuits is feeling it. Looking shaggy and drinking a lot. I hope this helps some.
 
Molly,

I never used R.

Change your title or when you start tomorrow thread use the question mark and put something like "need help with R" or "R advisor needed"

Please please don't start on your own. The timing with lantus is extremely important. I think but not sure when NOT to use it is most important. A few more days is okay. Keep doing what your doing. Help will be along. The people across the pond aren't on yet.

Hang in, breathe, someone will be here soon.
Thanks, I'll wait until someone is available
 
When you start it will help. I did do the fast raising of doses like your doing now. Olive never had blacks or hi reading. She just never moved from reds.
 
I will not start R alone. I thought I was told to get it and start so I don't have to increase Lantus so fast. I'll wait until help is available. A day of highs today and Biscuits is feeling it. Looking shaggy and drinking a lot. I hope this helps some.
It’s good to have it. It lasts a long time in the frig. Make sure you mark it really well and keep it separate from the Lantus...on a different shelf or different side of the cheese drawer. We’ve had many members get them mixed up and shoot the L dose with the R. Since you are a nurse, this is probably not even needed for me to tell you that.
 
It’s good to have it. It lasts a long time in the frig. Make sure you mark it really well and keep it separate from the Lantus...on a different shelf or different side of the cheese drawer. We’ve had many members get them mixed up and shoot the L dose with the R. Since you are a nurse, this is probably not even needed for me to tell you that.
Thanks for the reminder. We all make mistakes!
 
Back
Top