5/8 RK - AMPS 327 ketones 0.2 +2 247 +4 257 +5.25 201 +9.25 336/R PMPS 546 +4 333

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by JL and Chip, May 8, 2024.

  1. JL and Chip

    JL and Chip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Last post

    It’s been a busy few days but overall RK is doing well. We’ve gone 5 days with no syringe feedings, 3 days without ondansetron and Mirtaz, and I’m working on getting her to eat more low-carb options (good luck with that :rolleyes:). She’s holding her own much better hydration wise but I’m still giving subQ once a day for good measure. She’s still on antibiotics.

    As for the Whole Cat Report… peeing and pooping are fine, no playing or preening just yet, but she *is* purring. Like, whenever she sees me coming toward her. Either she’s insanely appreciative that I’m helping her feral little butt (maybe) or she knows I have her favorite treat in my hand (probably). :)

    Anyway, she’s not the same pitiful half-dead creature that she was a few weeks ago. We’re not there yet, but the path is clearer and the outlook brighter. Fingers crossed that she’s soon strong enough to tackle her dental issues.

    I’m thinking about bumping her to 1u Lantus if I don’t see lower numbers soon (and continuing the mid-cycle R if needed). The higher carb foods probably aren’t helping but I don’t want to push the issue just yet. What do you think? @Wendy&Neko @Bron and Sheba (GA)
     
    Staci & Ivy and Alicia & Kit cat like this.
  2. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    It has made me so happy to read your report on RK today. She has come such a long way with your wonderful care.
    Would love to see a photo of her.
    Yes I think you could increase the dose to 1 unit.
     
    JL and Chip likes this.
  3. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    When I was snooping her spreadsheet yesterday, I was thinking increase too. Depending what that +2 means for today of course. Unless she sees green, you are still good to go.

    Great WCR!
     
    JL and Chip likes this.
  4. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    So wonderful to read your report. You’re going such an incredible job with her. Continued prayers for RK and love that she’s purring at you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    JL and Chip likes this.
  5. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    I too have been snooping your spreadsheet. Hope you've been able to get some rest and peace of mind.
     
    JL and Chip likes this.
  6. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Thanks for such a good update on RK. If you do increase best of luck :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
     
    JL and Chip likes this.
  7. Jason - Kona's Dad

    Jason - Kona's Dad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2023
    I've been away for some time and soooo delighted to hear this update. I was sooo scared reading the earlier posts.

    :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    JL and Chip likes this.
  8. JL and Chip

    JL and Chip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Bandit's Mom and Wendy&Neko like this.
  9. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Oh, isn’t she precious! She looks a sweetheart. I love the food on her chin:joyful:
     

Share This Page